We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic ”
Review of Turismo Selknam

Turismo Selknam
Ranked #2 of 38 Tours in Punta Arenas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We offer full day and hald days tours to Tierra del Fuego, Torres del Paine, Park strait of Magellan, Keu ken, city tour, Pali Aike and others. Includes:Transportation and bilingual Guide. Not included: food or Entrances. We will make your trip came be a special and Unique, We have a special team, where everyone can give of their best, and you will enjoy each place on each tour.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 14 December 2017 via mobile

This company is one of the five or six companies that organise day tours to Tierra del Feugo and Torres Del Paine National Park.

I followed them for the day tour to Tierra del Feugo and had no regrets at all. The tour guide Erick was excellent beyond words. He is so passionate about relating the history of the places that we went. We took the 1 1/2 hour ferry to Porvenir and visited the local museum, had lunch and visited the King Penguin colony. It was great. Erick was kind enough to get the bus driver to stop for us to take photographs of guanacos. I really enjoyed this tour that I went.

1  Thank JamesKMTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turismo S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Turismo Selknam, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2017

Dear James,

We really appreciate your comments as these allow us to provide you and all our customers to give the best possible service. We will give your comments to our Guide Erick :)

Hope you can come again in a future!


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"beautiful tour"
in 2 reviews
"local museum"
in 2 reviews
"king penguin colony"
in 2 reviews
"day tour"
in 4 reviews
"tierra del fuego"
in 7 reviews
"driver"
in 4 reviews
"van"
in 3 reviews
"sights"
in 2 reviews
"office"
in 2 reviews
Filter

7 - 11 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2017

I had a great day tour trip. Very knowledgable guide, good driver and beautiful tour. No problem with late booking and fortunately we had the best weather possible. Would recommend to anyone in the area.

Thank Eriksen24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turismo S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Turismo Selknam, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Dear,

We appreciate your comments as these allow us to provide you and all our customers to give the best possible service. Hope you can come again in a future!

Best Regards,
Carolina Comicheo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2017

I walked into the Selknam office in Punta Arenas because I wanted to do two tours: Isla Magdalena and Pali Aike. The girls were very helpful, reserved my tickets for the ferry to Isla Magdalena and checked with another operator (Laguna Azul) about Pali Aike. That was great because that national park is less frequently visited and Selknam works with the guys from Laguna Azul if they don't have a tour on their own, and booked me in. It was all good and worked out great.

1  Thank Claudia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017

We booked a day trip to visit the King Penguin colony in Tierra del Fuego. The van picks you up in the early morning around 7:30am; we take the 9am ferry (2 hrs), then a several hour van ride (with some small stops along the way) to arrive at the colony; the total time to arrive there is about 5 hours, and you return by a different route. When we returned to Punta Arenas, it was around 9:30pm, however sometimes due to weather affecting the ferry schedule, this can be potentially much later. Our guide told us that her latest record was returning at 3am, although this was very unusual. It might be a good idea not to have any tight schedule that night or early the next morning.

On the way to the penguin colony, we stopped for lunch at a small restaurant, which is at your own expense. You can also buy groceries from a store next to the restaurant.

We had a English-speaking guide who was cheerful, attentive, and knowledgeable. The penguin colony has a max of 200 penguins, and around half are at sea at any given time. When we went (late December '16), there were around 60 penguins total. There are 2 lookout points, where you stand behind a barrier and look out at the colony. When we went, the penguins were around 100m away. I would recommend bringing binoculars and plenty of warm clothing. It can get very windy during the 1 hour you have to view the penguins.

Our visit was in late December 2016. We saw penguins sitting on their eggs, but no babies. There were some penguins walking to or from the ocean. For the most part, the penguins were not active and stayed in the same place and position. They are very majestic but you will not be able to get up close to them, as this is a protected colony. This colony is very recently formed within the last few years. I saw one fox nearby.

This trip may be worthwhile if you're an animal lover or photographer. However, my family enjoyed Isla Magdalenas more because there were baby penguins at this time of year and the penguins were much more active.

3  Thank Grace C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2017

We had reserved both the King Penguin tour (Pinguino Rey) & Isla Magdalena penguin tour with Turismo Selknam. Turismo Selknam was prompt and accurate in responding to our requests and made appropriate reservations in a professional manner. Carolina and Marisol made stupendous efforts in ensuring that the arrangements were the best and the tours were to our satisfaction.

The King Penguin tour is an all-day affair. Leaving around 8am from the hotel for a 9am ferry crossing, we reached the actual penguin reserve around 2 in the afternoon. Once you reach the reserve, you are captivated by the King penguins in their natural habitat. The sight of the bright yellow necks makes the long travel completely worthwhile.

The Isla Magdalena tour is another priceless experience. Our tour was one in the afternoon, ferry leaving at 4pm from Punta Arenas. Once you reach the isle, you get the opportunity to be with the Magellanic penguins. Having visited in December, we were lucky to view a lot of chicks, either still in the burrows or trying to move around. The adults were all about, and given that time of the day, quite a lot of the penguins were by the water, jumping in and out of the strait. Worth every bit!

2  Thank raokaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Turismo Selknam also viewed

Punta Arenas, Magallanes Region
Punta Arenas, Magallanes Region
 
Punta Arenas, Magallanes Region
Punta Arenas, Magallanes Region
 

Been to Turismo Selknam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing