We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Nice stop

Small recreated village that represents rural Nebraska in early 1900's. Free of charge. Can spend... read more

Reviewed 21 September 2019
bc_pa
,
Mountain Top, Pennsylvania
Interesting and extensive collection

We enjoyed walking around looking in all the buildings and exploring. It felt a little odd with no... read more

Reviewed 31 July 2019
janendtx
,
Carthage, Texas
Read all 40 reviews
  
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveller rating
25
6
4
0
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
25
6
4
0
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews own pace jail church volunteers attractions history mortar nebraska purchase shop
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 40 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2019

We spent the night in Alliance on a road trip through Nebraska and decided to check this out. We ended up spending an hour and a half wandering through the old buildings and collections. The site is kept up by volunteers and during the warmer months is open for people to walk around. The original owner bought and bartered to pull together a town's worth of historic buildings -- all of which are full of antiques and collectibles. We were treated to a "tour" by one of the volunteers -- though most of the time this is a self-guided museum. There is no admission fee, though we recommend you stop by the church or general store and provide a donation to help with upkeep.

A must-see if you are in the area!

Date of experience: June 2019
1  Thank Marian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2019

Waited to go until April as per their website they are open April - October. Went there (should say tried to visit) on 4/19/19 during their posted hours to see that all of the buildings were locked. They had a sign stating they are open as of May 1 !!!
If you do go when they are actually open, be glad that they don't charge admission. This is the saddest and smallest frontier town I've ever seen.
Carhenge is pretty neat (free), and the Knight Museum also in Alliance is very nice and free as well.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank JoleneLad32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori W, Owner at Dobby's Frontier Town, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2019

So sorry we missed you! We are open weather permitting and run by volunteers and donations. Guessing you didn't walk around the East side of our facility... we have 27 buildings full of memorabilia and a phone number to call so that you can always get someone to come and open doors if you come off season. Hope you will try us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2018

Genuine old west mock-up of a western town. All the buildings are original buildings from the real american west; brought in from all different locations in Nebraska. All have been restored or are in the process of being restored. As much as is possible, everything is from an original building. It had a church, jail, post office, general store. Saloon, and mortuary to name a few. It holds many events per year to raise money for upkeep and restorations and has authentic buckboard rides, gunfights cookouts and many others. Come and enjoy an adventure back in time.

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018

A great place to bring the whole family. Very fun and exciting. Filled with good people to make your experience that much better.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2018 via mobile

We were greeted at Dobby’s by the president of the association that operates the property. She gave us a little history of the place, then turned us loose to explore. All of the buildings are unlocked, and visitors are welcome to enter and see the displays in each one. There are many antique items on display. We spent more time than we had planned because it’s so interesting. Recommended for all who enjoy history, as well as those who enjoy unusual attractions. There is no fee, but they do accept donations to help keep Dobby’s maintained.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank cincykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews