We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For young children.”

SEA LIFE Michigan Aquarium
Book In Advance
More Info
US$19,99*
and up
SEA LIFE Michigan Aquarium
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: SEA LIFE Michigan Aquarium sends guests through a highly themed aquarium that brings you nose to nose with sharks, stingrays, jellyfish, seahorses and over 5,000 underwater creatures. To get any closer, you'd have to get wet!
Useful Information: Stairs / lift, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Geared for young families with children (which we weren't). Small windows to view fish. The entire interior is Dark with cave like coral walls with colorful paint. Colored lighting, distracting music adding to the chaos within the narrow walkways and small rooms and crowded spaces made even more narrow and crowded with all the children's strollers. (we like kids, just not the tight space allotted for guests) One could NOT leisurely walk through...definately not for the claustrophobic or those not tolerating sensory overload well. We went on the behind the scenes tour. Not much to see in the single hallway we toured, basically and the guide seemed to only know what was on the script, but the white walls and freedom from the canned music was a nice break. We will go to the local (Preuss Pets in Lansing, MI) pet store in the future for a more relaxing and informative time. Disappointed. Glad we went before taking grandkids or suggesting it to friends.

Thank KOUPERCAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley A, General Manager at SEA LIFE Michigan Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Hi Koupercat,

We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with your visit because we always aim to WOW our guests with amazing discoveries, no matter the age. While we do have portholes and pop up bubbles throughout the aquarium that allow kids (and the young at heart!) to get closer to the creatures, many people of all ages appreciate the underwater species we have including sharks, rays, green sea turtles and more! We hope you're willing to come back and give us another chance with your grandchildren -- our fishy friends would love to meet them!

Best,

Hayley A.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (494)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"fish"
in 82 reviews
"touch pool"
in 26 reviews
"sea life"
in 106 reviews
"behind the scenes"
in 15 reviews
"octopus"
in 13 reviews
"gift shop"
in 23 reviews
"crab"
in 7 reviews
"staff was very friendly"
in 5 reviews
"scavenger hunt"
in 5 reviews
"feeding times"
in 5 reviews
"purchase tickets"
in 8 reviews
"on line"
in 10 reviews
"a bit pricey"
in 7 reviews
"great for kids"
in 6 reviews
"annual pass"
in 7 reviews
"great lakes crossing mall"
in 8 reviews
"rainy day"
in 5 reviews
Filter

55 - 59 of 494 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018

largest aquarium in Michigan. We enjoyed the various displays of sea life & we watch the feeding of the sting rays. Very family friendly, their were areas where kids can climb safely under tanks & they appear as if they are in the tanks. Kids were having a blast.

Thank 3simon8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley A, General Manager at SEA LIFE Michigan Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to review SEA LIFE Michigan on Trip Advisor. I am glad to hear that you had such a good time when visiting and were even able to catch our stingray feed! I hope that we see you visit us again soon.

Best Hayley A.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

We recently visited Sea Life on March 18th, 2018. We had a great time! This aquarium had quite a few exhibits, my 4-year-old loved it. It held it's own in comparison to larger aquariums that we have visited (such as Ripleys aquarium in Toronto, ON).
We purchased the combo ticket with LegoLand-great savings. We would definitely visit again if we were in the area. I would not make another 5 hour trip from Ontario to do so tho. My son especially loved that they stamped our hand for admission with "invisible ink" that could only be seen with a UV light. He told everyone when we got home that he had an "invisible tattoo". Too cute! Staff was friendly.

Thank Danica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley A, General Manager at SEA LIFE Michigan Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Hello Danica,

I'm so glad to hear that you and your family had a great time when you visited us! With over 5,000 creatures swimming around there is always something amazing to discover. I hope you visit us again the next time you are in town.

Best,
Hayley A.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

There was a lot to see in different areas. Had a touching pool and was able to watch the sting ray get feed.

Thank dcouncilor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley A, General Manager at SEA LIFE Michigan Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for SEA LIFE Michigan on Trip Advisor. Our stingray feed is always a lot of fun to watch and a great way to learn about some of the creatures swimming around in our tanks. I hope that you will visit us again soon!

Best,
Hayley A.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2018

Even after ordering tickets in advance, and showing up at our assigned time, we were corralled in to the exhibit with like 10 other groups, and having small children with me, and a stroller, were rushed through while there were WAY too many people in each space at the same time.

Thank Rubie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley A, General Manager at SEA LIFE Michigan Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Hello Rubie,

Thank you for visiting SEA LIFE and taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor! We do our best to control the number of people in the aquarium with timed ticketing, but some areas can become crowded if families are having a good time and stay longer than normal! One of the best perks of our tickets is that you're welcome to stay as long as you like! Also, many people also choose to circle back around and see everything again which can also contribute to feeling overcrowded.

If you're looking to avoid the crowds during your next visit, please consider coming during a non-holiday weekday. Afternoons and early evenings are especially good times to come "sea" us!

Regards,

Hayley A.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed SEA LIFE Michigan Aquarium also viewed

 

Been to SEA LIFE Michigan Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing