We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Drive from Valparaiso to Santiago with Waldo!!”

Terraventura Outdoor
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Sports Adventures personalised expeditions We are a group of guides of different outdoors activities and we would like to share our sports adventure passion in natural surroundings, our care about the ecosystem in the diverse and beautiful places that our country offers from the mountain range to the sea and from the desert to the Patagonia. We know the places where we will take you, first from our own curiosity, exploration, love and passion for nature and sports, this is the reason why we want to transmit to you and show you the pleasure of enjoying the view from a summit of a mountain covered on a snow on your skies or enjoying the downhill on a bike or simply enjoying camping on the mountains, on the bank of a river and beaches surroundings of dunes around a bonfire enjoying a barbecue with a nice glass of Chilean wine. We are willing to give our customers a personalised service, that is why our choice of working with small groups, providing the best of ourselves and the surroundi
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed 19 February 2018

We had left our cruise ship in Valparaiso and stayed for a week at "Boutique 17", in Cerro Concepción (brilliant small hotel overlooking the port area!), then we moved on to Santiago for another week.

We needed transport to take us and our (very) many cases and the hotel booked Waldo and "Terraventura Outdoor" for the trip.

Waldo was superb, spoke very good English, and gave us a guided tour en route pointing out all the places of interest, together with a potted history of each area.
We also asked to visit a Vineyard on the way, and he took us to the Central Valley, where we called in at Estancia El Cuadro. We enjoyed a brief tour and a bottle of their wine whilst Waldo looked after us.

Delivered us to our hotel in Santiago (The Sommelier - another great find!) after a most pleasant and enjoyable journey.

We would definitely us Waldo and Terraventura again!

Thank Taveller49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waldo Y, Director General at Terraventura Outdoor, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Hi Robin:

I was a plesure to meet and your wife too. The trip from Valparaiso to Stgo and visit Casablanca Valley vineyard had excelent
Thank you so much

Waldo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"rental shop"
in 2 reviews
"el colorado"
in 2 reviews
"en route"
in 2 reviews
"private tour"
in 2 reviews
"chilli"
in 3 reviews
"waldo"
in 10 reviews
"skiing"
in 5 reviews
"transfer"
in 2 reviews
"interests"
in 2 reviews
"company"
in 2 reviews
"tours"
in 2 reviews
"valparaiso"
in 2 reviews
Filter

1 - 5 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2017

Waldo was a very patient and knowledgeable ski instructor! As this was my first time skiing he had to start from the basics and even though I struggled and fell over many times he always remained patient and let me go at my own pace. Waldo is very passionate about what he does and I thoroughly enjoyed the day. Couldn't recommend a day skiing or one of the many other activities he offers more!

Thank joanne9385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 September 2017

Hello Joanne, it was for me really a pleasure to can made a begginer basic lesson and however we to had a excelent ski day . I think that for a new oportunity you to day just now the know how necesary for continue practicer sking

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

After deciding I wanted to go skiing in Chile, I originally considered going on a group tour near Santiago. However, after finding Terraventura online, I decided to go with their private tour including lessons which was great value. Our guide Waldo picked us up from our hotel and drove us to the El Colorado resort. Waldo really was a perfect guide! He had prepared a bag of snacks and drink for the day and his lessons were terrific. My girlfriend had never skied before and she learned a lot under his guidance. We had booked 4 hours of lessons but he stayed with us the whole day which was great. The equipment provided was good and we were taken to a rental shop en route to pick up jacket, trousers and helmet. I really couldn't recommend this company more for a personal, tailor-made experience. Thanks Waldo!

Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 September 2017

Hello Jack, thank you so much for you evluation, it was great day with you and your girlfriend, i hope again visit Chile very soon, in here we stay for other new experience

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017

We were so lucky to organise a Santiago hotel pick up through hotel boutique 17 (Valparaiso ) to take us to their hotel & eventually return to Santiago airport. On our travel we found that Waldo not only did transfers but his passion was for out door adventure.

That was not our need but he also has several tours & is very happy to tailor tours to suit your requirements.

Our return journey to the airport changed to 6pm, not an issue for Waldo.

We ended up picking two of his suggested tours during our 3 day stay. He quickly accessed our interests & suggested changes & additions, it was just fantastic, Yes we expected a higher cost as we spent more hours with Waldo, but no. We were so surprised we still paid what we felt was a great price. A very well educated engineer who changed his career to follow his passion.

Nothing was an issue, no rush. Even on our transfer, Waldo went the longer way for better views .

Highly recommended.

The two tours we took was a day south of Valparaiso & a day north.

Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 June 2017

David & wife, thank you so much for your visit in my country
I had a pleasure to meet you and go out to trip and fun by diferent places.
I hope your come back in another oportunity and i can enjoy with you and wife in another adventure

Regards
Terraventura Outdoor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2017

We are 2 couples traveling together through South America from the US. We booked two different tours through Terraventura - one to Casablanca Valley for a winery tour, and another for a full day private tour of Santiago. Waldo, the owner of Terraventura, took us to El Cuadro Winery in Casablanca. He was awesome!! Very personable and accomodating. His good English helped as he shared lots of interesting facts about the area. The winery was wonderful, too! Lunch included the best tenderloin of beef we've had yet! The all day tour to Santiago was wonderful, also. Claudia, our guide, was warm, friendly and knowledgeable. She was also very accommodating and professional. I am sorry to admit I forget our drivers name, but he was wonderful and kept us safe in some pretty intense driving! We have traveled throughout the world, and recommend Terraventura without hesitation. A very professional, friendly, and accomodating experience! Thanks to all!

Thank dvberes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 February 2017

Hi Dorie:

Thank you so much was plesure to meet you and your friend to, and we are for that lives the better experienciie when you want.
We hope see you in other opportunity by this places again.

E.mail Joe it is not correct.

Regards
Waldo
Terraventura Outdoor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Terraventura Outdoor also viewed

Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
Vina del Mar, Valparaiso Region
 
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
 

Been to Terraventura Outdoor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing