We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Treasure in the Desert”
Review of Desert Palm Dubai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Desert Palm Dubai
Ranked #208 of 558 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2013

If we could recommend one 'totally different yet exquisite boutique hotel in the UAE' this would be it. Having stayed in many hotels in Dubai, this is one hotel, that stands out in terms of tranquility, style, little touches & details and the personal touch to comfort. Even the toilets are well thought about with a lovely sun roof!
Cosily hidden a few minutes drive from the road it is a hidden treasure. Meals on the terrace overlooking an impeccable polo pitch with the sounds of numerous birds in the background is perfect specially as the meals are served with a special touch to each course.
Our room (as am sure all rooms) were fitted with out with the state of the art sound system and also had a Nespresso machine with a complimentary assortment of capsules.
Our stay was too short and we very much look forward to be backing some day soon!
As the Hotel is a short drive away from town it would be best to have a car at one's disposal.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aplonia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

190 - 194 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2013

This place is another alternative to vacation in Dubai.
I have been traveling to Emirates for the last 11 years and this time wanted something calm and different. Desert Palm is right outside Dubai heading to Hatta. The resort is amazing. So green, so beautiful, a joy for the eyes. The villa we were in was very lovely and with a beautiful private swimming pool and plants, a big palm, flowers.
The structure of the hotel is really classy.
There are 3 polo fields, horses, stables, birds of all kind, green and bougainvillea everywhere. You can also take riding classes.
The staff is very kind.
A total relax.

The hotel hosts a first class restaurant called Rare. The food is amazing, great service from customers to managers, great selection of meats and well prepared waiters. Top class. Rare has also outside tables on the terrace right in front of the polo field. Green surrounds you everywhere.

To reach Dubai from the resort does not take much. Highways are so good that in 20/25 minutes you reach Dubai Mall it would take you more from downtown Dubai. So don't think you are away from everything. Dubai has a good road system (exactly the opposite of Doha).

I have one negative comment to make for his hotel though and it's about the other restaurants, apart from Rare, which is a gem, the other one has poor service and there is only the terrace bar with a mediocre menu and not good service as well. They need to improve both of them for their own good.
This apart, everything else is a thumb up.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank basbusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We loved this hotel - it's small, tranquil (a bit of road noise but I imagine that's hard to escape anywhere in Dubai), and relaxing. We stayed for 1 night when we first arrived in Dubai, then returned for 2 more nights later the same week after a trip to Abu Dhabi and before returning home. The first night we were upgraded to a 3 bed villa with private pool (we were travelling as a family of 5) which was very nice, but we preferred the 2 rooms we had in the main hotel building when we returned for the second stay. The hotel rooms were very large and well equipped - great bathrooms, and every possible amenity. The public spaces and pool are lovely - very relaxing. We couldn't fault the service either, it was excellent, especially at the pool side restaurant and also at reception.

It is a bit out of town but we liked that - it's only 15 minutes by taxi to downtown (Dubai Mall etc), and 10/15 minutes to the airport. For us we much preferred this smaller, more low-key but luxurious and intimate hotel than the bright lights and glitz of the big hotels in town.

The spa was also excellent and watching the polo with a G&T whilst the sun goes down rounded the day off nicely.

Room Tip: We preferred the hotel rooms to the villas, but both were very nice. Room 10 was good with a better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

My partner and I have just returned home from a 6 night stay in a pool villa at The Desert Palm Resort.
We have likened our holiday to a 'honeymoon', and would recommend a stay here on many levels. They are a few points to mention which might frustrate the more particular traveller who is looking for a faultless 5* experience, however this place does get very close to that, and if you are happy to 'go with the flow', you won’t be disappointed.

15 minutes from Dubai airport, the resort is a beautiful oasis of green amidst the dusty hot desert surround. The attention to small detail and the styling of the hotel are both worthy of mention. Understated style, clean lines, soft marble and dark woods create warm ambiance. The communal eating, drinking and pool areas look out onto pristine polo pitches and beyond that the backdrop of the impressive city skyline. Burj Kalifa in clear view. There is a little bit of traffic noise on the Epicure side of the hotel - request a room on the other side.

The hotel is situated away from the main attractions that Dubai has on offer. This means between a 20-30 minute cab journey (45-100 Diram) to reach Downtown and The Palm respectively. Although many have pointed this out as a negative point, we actually enjoyed the ride into Dubai as the Skyline never fails to impress. And, given that Dubai itself is so incredibly manic, it was a relief to drive back to the calm of the resort.

Without exception, the staff at the hotel are courteous, helpful and friendly. Not all have perfect English, however, this did not impede service.

If you want to exercise, you can run around the grounds, take swim in the 30 meter pool, work out in the exceptionally equipped gym (or take one of the classes on offer), or even go riding!!

Food: Restaurants - Epicure & Rare. Both are outstanding. Both a la carte. Both have inside & outside seating. (Don’t miss out on the incredible juices).

If we go back to Dubai, we will stay here again. It is a great romantic get-away.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheSwedishRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013 via mobile

The Desert Palm is a cool location close to a POLO Area. The rooms in the main building are great! I can't imagine how the villas looks like...
The restaurants are not cheap but very good. A lot of locals there in the evening. I think the are living in the villas.
The hotel is about 30 minutes taxi drive from down town. Furthermore the hotel offers a shuttle service to Dubai Mall.
The only negative point is that the hotel is close at the highway....

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NiHaoTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
29.9 km away
Anantara The Palm Dubai Resort
30.9 km away
FIVE Palm Jumeirah Dubai
FIVE Palm Jumeirah Dubai
#100 of 558 in Dubai
741 reviews
14.2 km away
Park Hyatt Dubai
Park Hyatt Dubai
#9 of 558 in Dubai
2 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 km away
La Ville Hotel & Suites CITY WALK, Dubai, Autograph Collection
32.5 km away
One&Only The Palm Dubai
14.9 km away
The Meydan Hotel
The Meydan Hotel
#92 of 558 in Dubai
1 014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Palm Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Palm Dubai

Address: Al Awir Al Awir Rd, Dubai 119171, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#107 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#174 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range: R2 693 - R16 891 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Desert Palm Dubai 5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Desert Palm Dubai is a boutique retreat with 38 rooms, suites and private pool villas. Set on a private polo estate the property offers two award winning restaurants - RARE and Epicure, an internationally acclaimed LIME Spa and an inviting bar which overlooks one of the four championship sized polo fields and Dubai skyline beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Desert Palm Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Palm Hotel Dubai
Desert Palm Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing