We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel & Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$242
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Apsara(Luang Prabang)
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$160
US$102
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$228
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Santi Hotel(Luang Prabang)
US$96
US$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Santi Resort & Spa(Luang Prabang)
US$75
US$73
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$245
US$180
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$460
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
US$122
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (377)
Filter reviews
377 results
Traveller rating
138
168
45
17
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
138
168
45
17
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmekong rivertuk tukin townwater buffaloesshuttle serviceswimming poolmanicured gardensbreakfast terraceold palaceserene settingminute drivefree shuttleworld heritagefrench colonialthe general managergarden viewpost office
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 377 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2017

We actually had an excellent experience here, but only due to their New Years celebration. If coming here any other time of year, this hotel has some work to do. The service was average (comical at times) as was the food- they did have a manager in from another property that was working on addressing this. The New Years celebration was a great experience and I would recommend you stay here to experience the traditional monk welcoming of the new year and the party the property throws. Short of that, the city itself is worth a visit no matter where you stay!

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed to have beautiful views, the property is pretty and remote.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Renata N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017

I love this place! Everything about it is 5 Star. The beds are the best in Asia. So soft we hardly wanted to get out of bed. The hotel is well maintained. The grounds are beautiful. We had the river view rooms. Which we loved but even the garden view rooms were spectacular. This is a great retreat and only 4 kilometers from town. Awesome find. The breakfast was wonderful. Large variety and cooked to order. The restuarant I will admit was overpriced. Special mention goes to Champion who made our visit extra special. If you go to Luang Prabang you must stay at the Grand.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lynnesani57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017

Pros: Breakfast by the Mekong River is a treat. The spacious hotel ground with gardens is suitable for a nice stroll. A dip in the swimming pool at night is refreshing. Five shuttles a day to the post office with attentive drivers. It's a 10-15 minute ride by car.

Cons: Breakfast spread is somewhat limited and the taste is mediocre. The upkeep is a let down. The rooms are worn out and swimming pool and hotel ground are lack of maintenance.

Overall, it's a decent break from the hustle and bustle in the old town if one doesn't mind the room a bit worn out.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Venus F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017 via mobile

I rate 5 stars for the grand hotel!!! Amazing. Special mention to Champion, Sebi and Mek who all delivered the most impeccable service you can imagine. The grounds are so lovely, quiet, peaceful and well maintained. Views of the Mekong are amazing and make sure to walk down through the gardens to stand along the riverbank at sunset. The distance from town is not an issue as regular shuttle buses are available or a fun tuk tuk ride will suffice. Once again, I must comment on how lovely all the staff members are. Thankyou all once again for making our stay so warm, welcoming and relaxing.
John and Matthew.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank joko2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

What a fab place to stay. Firstly the staff were amazing, Carlos the hotel manager and Sebi the restaurant manager could not do enough for us. The room was spacious and comfortable and always clean and the decor was of the highest quality. The views were beautiful looking out on the gardens with the Mekong as a back drop. The pool area was relaxing and the standard in the restaurant was all that you would expect from a 5 star hotel. Whilst a little out of town the shuttle was more than adequate and there was plenty of taxis available. The staff throughout the hotel complex were fantastic all most attentive but not intrusive. All in all this was one of the highlights of our 1 month stay in Laos and Thailand. Impeccable service right down to our shuttle to the bus station. Apologies for the delay in posting. Calszer and Yvonne.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Eoin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews