We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Proport with a great View”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel & Resort
Ranked #26 of 68 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2017

Saba Dee..They greet you with at the reception. A huge property located on the banks of mighty Mekong river provides a excellent experience. The property itself has a UNESCO site within its premises. Do opt for Alms giving ceremony and Bacci ceremony to experience Laos as the locals do.
Rooms are pretty spacious and spread out in the vast lawns of Heritage Palace.
Food was good but limited options for pure vegetarian person like me :)
Mr.Sebi (have attached his pic) needs a special mention here as he takes care of every thing you need for the stay at Luang Prabang.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on higher floor for river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Hitesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Hitesh S,

Sabaidee from the stunning Grand Luang Prabang!

The team and I feel proud to have such refined guests staying with us. We believe you have found the perfect spot in Luang Prabang to experience an authentic cultural and spiritual stay, aside from the greatness of our location right in front of the Mekong River and the attentive service of each associate that contributed to the overall success of your stay.

We look forward to your wonderful visits each year. Until next time, all the very best.

Cordially,

Jose Luis Barrera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

Early check in and late check out. The hotel did everything to make our stay special. It's out the way a little but so quiet and relaxing and only a ten minute ride to the centre.
The hotel provides a free shuttle to the centre and back and to the airport. We will make a return trip here on future travels.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank kiley14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear kiley14;

Firstly, thank you so much for spending your recent holidays with us at The Grand Luang Prabang. It was a pleasure to provide the best service we can, and we appreciate you took your valuable time to review some of the aspects of your Fantastic stay with us.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback and we hope to see you at our Hotel and its heritage surroundings again in the future.

Best regards,

Jose Luis Barrera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

Stayed 2 nights in July. The hotel was charming and beautifully located on the Mekong River. The grounds were well kept with well maintained gardens. The grounds are not sprawling that you would need a electric cart to get from reception to your room. The room was spacious, clean and well equipped - it is luxurious. I had a room on the ground floor, thus, getting in and out of the room to the garden was easy. There is a patio but unfortunately one can't sit there comfortably as there are mosquitoes and other insects buzzing around. Mosquito repellent coils are provided though.

The grounds of the hotel are very pretty - I made my camera work overtime. I also dined at its restaurant - Xiengkeo Restaurant. The food was good. I strongly recommend the Khong Wang Ruam Mith Laos Style Mix Appetizer. Although this platter was for 2 persons, being a solo traveller I requested for a platter for a single person. The hotel's F&B Manager, Mr Sebastian, very kindly arranged with the kitchen to prepare a platter for one. It was a feast for the palate.

The hotel may be located a distance from the old section of Luang Prabang. Fret not as the hotel has a shuttle to the old town of Luang Prabang. Check with the reception for the shuttle hotel departure and town pick-up times.

The staff were friendly and I really appreciated the few conversations with Mr Sebastian, albeit short. The General Manager, Mr Barrera, also stopped by one morning to say hello and did not hesitate to offer assistance if I needed any.

I had a quiet, peaceful and restful stay at The Grand Luang Prabang. Being located a distance away from town has its merits. I just stayed in after a few hectic days in town a few days earlier sightseeing and day excursions. From check-in to check-out, the service was excellent. Oh, and did I mention the beautiful views of the Mekong River with mountains for a backdrop?

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Wei N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Wei N;

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our Charming Grand Luang Prabang Hotel. It was an honor to host your holiday. We are delighted that you enjoyed the natural beauty of our surroundings, facilities, dining offers and the outstanding attention and hospitality of our associates well led and inspired by Sebastin and other enthusiastic managers.

Thanks again, and we hope you'll choose The Grand Luang Prabang the next time you are visiting the heart of Laos.

Cordially,

Jose Luis Barrera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017

Hotel is located few km away from town and it is quiet with its own merits. You can enjoy the Mekong river and enjoy the facilities inside the hotel. Its meeting room is great for business function and private discussion. The staff are friendly and room is clean. Strongly recommended for private meeting and business discussion.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

Dear GeorgeLoker,

It was our pleasure to host you for your meeting business. And I am thrilled that you took the time to enjoy our relaxing and ideally located facilities right in front of the Mekong River. In a short sentence, the selection of The Grand Luang Prabang was the right choice.

Thank you for your excellent comments on your stay with us, and also for your strong recommendations for future guests looking for the perfect setting and facilities for all meeting needs. It would be our honor to relive with you all memorable moments that made this visit a successful one. The Grand Luang Prabang family wish you the very best.

Sincerely,

Jose Luis Barrera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017 via mobile

We were there on our honeymoon. The place indeed is beautiful, and I really love it. The staffs are polite and excellent. The general manager was always around and it makes us feel more welcome. The swimming pool is overlooking a nice view, and having breakfast by the beautiful river, is just a cherry on top. Overall,my husband and I were happy that we chose this hotel. Excellent. Good job, hope they keep this up.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mira C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

Dear Mira C,

First, allow me to congratulate you and your husband on your loving bond. You are now living the first weeks of the rest of your life in love and matrimony, and we all at The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel are extremely honored to have been the romantic setting for your honeymoon.

All of us are proud of the work we do at The Grand Liang Prabang. Interacting, providing service, culinary options, cleaning, and of course, there is no limit to the many friendly smiles we express from our hearts. With your kind presence, you both have generated warm smiles in all and have made our job even more gratifying.

I thank you for being with us and sharing your insights with other potential couples. And please know that it is our hope that you return sometime soon, and allow us to continue providing the memorable pampering that you have come to know of us.

Congratulations once more, and may your entire time together be a loving one.

With our best regards,

Jose Luis & The Grand Luang Prabang family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
2.6 km away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#20 of 68 in Luang Prabang
304 reviews
3.3 km away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#8 of 68 in Luang Prabang
808 reviews
3.8 km away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#13 of 68 in Luang Prabang
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Satri House
Satri House
#9 of 68 in Luang Prabang
576 reviews
4.9 km away
Victoria Xiengthong Palace
Victoria Xiengthong Palace
#16 of 68 in Luang Prabang
414 reviews
3.0 km away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 68 in Luang Prabang
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel & Resort

Address: Ban Xiengkeo, Khet Sangkalok P.O. Box 1191, Luang Prabang, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Luang Prabang
#14 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
#23 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range: R1 311 - R2 568 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Miracle of Luangprabang city, the Grand luangprabang hotel is where the music offered by the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel Luang Prabang
The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel And Resort
Grand Hotel Luang Prabang
Grand Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing