We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“a bit of paradise”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa Varvara 1904

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
A wildlife heaven.
Birdwatcher's paradise.
Surreal sunset in Dobrogea!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Tulcea, Tulcea County, Southeast Romania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Connie W
Alyth, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“a bit of paradise”
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We were on a marvelous cycling tour of the Danube/Delta area in Romania. As a Big Treat after several challenging days of riding through villages and up and down hills (it was grand!) we got to stay at Casa Varvara. The rooms were lovely and comfortable and our little "cottage" also had a living room/kitchen. There was plenty of room for the 4 of us. We enjoyed swimming in the gorgeous pool with the Danube just at the edge of the property. The night we were there we had a 5 star dinner provided by our beautiful hosts. We had 2 kinds of fresh fish, perfect potatoes and then THE best ice cream (Betty's Ice Cream) I have ever had. We moaned as we took each bite of the 3 flavors - a ROSE, Tiramisu and a vanilla (I think it was vanilla - I was so enamored of the Rose that I could barely think). Later we walked into the village to stroll around and enjoy the atmosphere. In the morning, after a refreshing sleep, we had a wonderful breakfast outside under the trees. It was hard to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the friendly and beautiful host and hostess who were so obvioiusly in love
Liked least: I liked everything
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mircea_Cr...
Ploiesti, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Authentic experience while meeting the friendliest hosts”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I met for the second time Sanda and Roberto and stayed one night in their lovely summer house. During a one week bike trip in Northern Dobrogea this was by far the most beautiful and authentic place to stay. The interior design of the tiny houses is superb, respecting the old Romanian tradition and gives you the genuine feeling of arriving home.

I was impressed by our hosts kindness and willingness to make our stay memorable. I loved the view from their garden towards the beginning of Danube Delta, I enjoyed a lot strolling through Somova village and getting in touch with the locals. We even met Niculina, Varvara's daughter, who invited us without hesitation to pick some pears and plums from her garden :)

Varvara is more than just a place you wish to return, it is about friends.
Thank you, Sanda & Roberto!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Respecting the true Romanian traditions
Liked least: Heat & mosquitoes, but this has nothing to do with the house itself :)
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatalinaO...
Bucharest, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“perfect getaway”
Reviewed 20 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My husband and I were here by ourselves for our first visit to the Danube delta, and came back happy, relaxed, tanned and well-fed, with a ton of photos of wildlife and scenery and looking forward for the next visit. See below a review by chapters, but first a big thanks for Sanda and Roberto for the warm welcome and the small paradise they shared with us. In a nutshell: great location, delicious food, lots to do and great value-for-money.

Location: easy access by car along a scenic and smooth road, in a village around 10km from the city of Tulcea. The courtyard directly overlooks the beginning of the delta (small delta on the somova lake), and on the other side of the road there's a big, open hillside you can walk alongside of for a long view of the small delta. This location strikes a perfect balance between easy access by road and to attractions in the area, easy access to the delta and scenic view and neighborings in peace and quiet.

Lodging: originally conceived as a summer house, there are 5 cosy houses in the courtyard (out of which 4 are for rent and one for the hosts to live in), beautifully restored and charmingly decorated with unique, antique and traditional carefully-picked items and hand-painted details. Meals are served in a lovely foyer overlooking the courtyard. If you travel in groups, it's worth renting a house, all of which have their own kitchen. Far away from impersonal hotel rooms, these family-sized idyllic houses will make you feel like in your own dream-summer-home.

Activities: we wanted a mix of relaxation, discovery, and fun in the sun - we got all of that and more. There are boat trips in the mini-delta (a paradise for photographers - a lot of species of birds upclose and in flight), trips in the kayak, easy access by car to Tulcea, where you can take boat tours to the Danube delta (we loved the horse-cart tour of Letea forest), car access to the seaside (we loved Corbu beach), or just relaxing in the small pool and enjoying a book in the lounge chairs with a view on the delta. There are nice sites for discovery by car as well (Enisala castle, the Pricopanes, nice monasteries). We stayed for a week and found something rewarding to do every day.

Meals: Home-cooked local delicacies made from home-grown ingredients. We savoured everything we ate, from the sarmale to the plachie, goat cheese and real italian pasta and coffee. Breakfasts are varied, lunch and dinner include soup, main course, dessert and coffee/tea all for a very reasonable price.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cosy, charming place, friendly hosts, family atmosphere, lovely view, peace & quiet in the middle of nature
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jhool53
Ulverston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed 24 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Beautiful House. Wonderful location by the Delta. Marvellous food prepared by the owners upon request. Whoopoes, rollers, golden orioles in the garden. Roving shepherds with their flocks at the gate. Fabulous.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: indoor family seating area - though wonderful veranda
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poznan, Poland
Reviewed 17 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view
Liked least: not enough numer of bathrooms
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$107
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing