We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of Casa Hirscher

Casa Hirscher
Ranked #24 of 313 Restaurants in Brasov
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Reservations rezervari@casahirscher.ro
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Fancy looking with more waiters than customers. Food average,tuna salad was tinned tuna, lettuce, a slice of tomato and slice of red pepper, nice but nothing I would make at home, main 5 chips with slice of pan fried pork which was lovely. The issue with this restaurant was the staff not the food, haughty look and dismissive, we paid bill, waiter came took money and never spoke 1 word! That’s just Rude. So average food with rude staff.

Thank paula a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik K, General Manager at Casa Hirscher, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear paula a,

Thank you very much for visiting our restaurant. We are thankful for your constructive review, however I would like to point out the fact that, the dishes that you mention in your comment, are pretty standard let's say, therefore is not much one can do about them, and also please mind that you had the "Business Lunch" which is presented as a sampling of our a la carte menu which is much more hefty.

Regarding our staff members, we are working on improving the empathy that they are showing towards our guests.

Should you wish to return, I would be very happy to have the chance of meeting you and offering another meal in the hope of changing your perspective about the quality of our service and food.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (491)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 491 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After a great tour of the Old City, we decided to end the day with a special dinner. Casa Hirscher is an old and famous restaurant, located in an historical building, near to the main old city square. The place is beautiful and gives a feeling of a very good restaurant. The service is good and the dishes are served at a "chef restaurant" level. The soups were pretty tasty, but the main courses were mediocre. The duck chest was dry and the steak was like rubber. The waiter immediately changed the dish, but the new steak was also bad. I realized they were using defrozen meat, so it's no wonder that this is the result. The price of the meal is high and does not justify the level of the food. We left with the feeling that the restaurant is a "tourist trap"

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 675ariem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik K, General Manager at Casa Hirscher, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear 675ariem,

Thank you for visiting us and for leaving this review.

After having a few more complains about the food lately, after a careful investigation we noticed that the duck we have received is actually a male duck which has a drier meat and now we have changed it back to our regular female duck breast. Our imported steaks are of course frozen, since we have them imported from USA (black angus), and the Netherlands (Nodino and Fiorentine) but since we prepare them in sous vide this was not a problem until now, when we noticed that our grill had a technical problem which we have solved.

Therefore, in spite of your bad experience, please consider this as an invitation for another meal, courtesy of our Executive Chef, hoping that we can make it up for your disappointment. Should you wish to return, please confirm the invitation via email: rezervari@casahirscher.ro

We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The service is impecable, the food is good but did not excelled, i would say...
Pizza was oily and the tomato soup was similar to one that you can buy from the store

Thank Diana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Casa Hirscher is a bit on the fancier side, and some of the photos of their food looked a bit too much like those tiny mouthfuls of something on a huge plate, but we were in the mood for pasta, and what a good choice this restaurant was. We took a salad to share (bacon, cheese, leaves and a delicious dressing) and then the bucatini amatriciana and the farfalle al salmone. Both were excellent. The bucatini had a wonderful depth of flavour and the salmone had super-fresh pieces of salmon that were not overcooked, despite being in the sauce. Our waiter, Julian, was efficient and friendly, without being obtrusive. Highly recommended.

Thank ItchyfeetCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik K, General Manager at Casa Hirscher, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear ItchfeetCapeTown,

We are hapyp to read your positive review about the quality of the food and service that we provide.

We look forward hosting you again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018 via mobile

Locally purhaps the most expensive,also one of the worst,have orderd duck breast with something,got a piece of very expensive and small 'rubber' could not eat it,thought it was a cook's mistake,so we have tried a second time, we definately agreed it is just among the worst there is in town.

Thank Petrut M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik K, General Manager at Casa Hirscher, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Petrut M,

Being the "worst and most expensive in town" is a title of its own, even thou a bad one, we are thankful that you awarded it to us. Hopefully we'll have the chance of hosting you again and changing your opinion.

In the meantime I would like to clarify that the problem with the duck was a general one, not just particularly in your case; we received by mistake male duck which is a lot more drier , in the meantime this has been amended.

In terms of pricing, we would like to emphasize on the fact that our prices are below what other restaurants ask for the same dishes.


We look forward hosting you again.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa Hirscher also viewed

Brasov, Brasov County
 
Brasov, Brasov County
Brasov, Brasov County
 

Been to Casa Hirscher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing