We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$572
US$547
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$623
US$525
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$486
US$412
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$232
US$218
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Lero(Dubrovnik)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$298
US$223
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ariston Hotel(Dubrovnik)
US$287
US$278
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$196
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$196/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel More(Dubrovnik)
US$368
US$336
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Lapad(Dubrovnik)
US$279
US$255
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Villa Dubrovnik(Dubrovnik)
US$801
US$760
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (378)
Filter reviews
378 results
Traveller rating
84
169
90
25
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
84
169
90
25
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno liftlapad baythe busadded greatlytap water is safe to drinktakes approx minutesold citypositioned hotelno safe in the roomsea viewa ground floor roomstar hoteltraditional hotelhalf boardmini barthree starprivate beach
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 378 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights as part of city break to Dubrovnik.

Location of the hotel is Lapad bay and in prime site. The number 4 bus stop is at top of hotel steps and operates every 20 minutes with a journey time of 15 minutes to main gates to Old City (15 k each way). The location is great as allows for some peace and quiet away from City along with a good variety of good restaurants.

The hotel itself offers good comfortable accommodation. Allocated room 301 on top floor with fantastic views across Lapad bay. Room was spacious, clean, comfortable and nice open air balcony.

Breakfast was usual European continental with good variety of food. There is two bars and terrace leading to a safe area for swimming. Very safe and clean.

The hotel wouldn’t cater for disabled access and no lift in building.

To sum up enjoyed a good stay in great location and do recommend.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Cammie00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duro P, General Manager at Hotel Splendid, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Dear Madam / Sir,
Thank You for Your kind review. We are glad we have met Your expectations. If you choose to visit Dubrovnik again, we are looking forward to be your host during your next visit.
Kind regards,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018 via mobile

This hotel has seen better days and remind you of a different era. That said it is well functioning, with easy access with 15 min bus ride to the old town. Rooms are spacious with balcony towards the sea. Free wi-fi but it does not work in the far end rooms. The so-called beach is concrete slabs but nice possibilities to swim. The breakfast is decent And the receptionist is helpful.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank Kharro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duro P, General Manager at Hotel Splendid, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018

Dear Madam ,
Thank You for choosing Hotel Splendid and Dubrovnik for your vacation. We hope we will have an opportunity to host You again.
Kind regards,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018

I pondered when booking this hotel, mainly because of the mixed reviews, im so glad i booked this one. The area is stunning yes there are some building works going on in laplad but nothing that wont disrupt you. It far exceeded my expectations of what Croatia would be like. Yes there are bits and pieces in the hotel that need doing but do your research and you wont pay more than you have too, I booked through love holidays and got 5 nights B&B for £340.The room was quite spacious, the bed is probaley a bit low but i had no problem sleeping like some have mentioned. The room was cleaned every day, my only real complaint was no safe in the room, but they have them in reception. The room does not have many plug points but they are behind the unit the tv is on. The breakfast is varied and theres plenty of choice so you would find something you like. The hotel has its own rocky beach or if you prefer walk down to the promenade where the main beach is.Theres plenty of bars and places to eat a short walk away, The main supermarket(tommy) is located behind the hotel Zagreb which you can pick up wraps,cakes,and has a deli type counter where you can pick pots of pasta, cooked food and salad for around 50 Kuna. theres also walking footpaths with stunning views around the area which will be shown on the map that the hotel gives you when you arrive. You can walk to port gruz to see the marina and where the cruise ships dock takes about half hour. The bus service is excellent stops right outside hotel and takes you to pile gate where everyone gets off ,to catch it back to the hotel just cross back over the road where you got off and it will say no 4 on the bus shelter. You can buy a Dubrovnik card from reception if you want one, The Wi-Fi worked in my room no problem. all in all i thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this hotel for me it was definately the right location and i wouldnt hesitate to book this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julie i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duro P, General Manager at Hotel Splendid, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018

Dear Madam,
Thank You for Your kind review. We are glad we have met Your expectations. If you choose to visit Dubrovnik again, we are looking forward to be your host during your next visit.
Kind regards,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018 via mobile

Booked this hotel as a late deal with TUI. Had a nice patio overlooking the garden and the sea. Was nice sitting on the patio chilling out. Bed comfortable and the room quite large.Food was ok, nothing special. One day the buffet was barely warm but the other nights were better. The only complaint I could have was that at breakfast the staff emptied the left over food into a washing up bowl, right in front of guests. Not good but can be easily rectified.

It’s in a good position and the bus stop to main city is right outside the hotel and they run every 15 mins.

Hotel is very clean and the staff are friendly.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank katscumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maestral D, Manager at Hotel Splendid, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Dear Madam/Sir,
Thank You for taking your time to write a review about your stay. It is a pleasure to know that the effort of our staff members has been recognized. Your insight will be taken into the consideration.
Kind regards,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2018

This was my second visit to Hotel Splendid and I recommended it to my brother and his wife and we all really enjoyed our few days there. As before the staff were excellent and could not do enough to make our stay the best. Beginning with Romana, the front office manager, who is so friendly and made us so welcome that it started off our holiday on the best note. We had really nice rooms and our cases were carried to our rooms by Mario (who turned out to be one of 3 other Marios at the hotel!). There is one more at reception. We had lovely views of the sea from both the room and balcony.

This hotel and the staff pride themselves on quality and service and it’s a very traditional hotel. Since my last visit in October they have put in large flat screen TVs and it makes a big difference.

The restaurant was light and spacious and the food varied. Breakfast is very good and as we were all 3 half board we enjoyed the dinner each evening - preceding it with a good house wine at the bar before and during the meal! The restaurant manager (another Mario) spoke better English than most of us, as did the other staff (who no doubt spoke several other languages as well) and, along with Ivka, the chief waitress, looked after us in the restaurant extremely capably. It is so nice to be always greeted with a welcoming smile. Nothing was too much for them.

Sleep quality was not bad. The bed was comfortable and had a mattress pad on top to make it a bit softer. Tap water is safe to drink. The weather was very pleasant in April and I will again return to this hotel sometime.
Visitors to the Splendid know that the # 4 Libertas bus stops outside the hotel and takes approx 15 minutes to Pile Gate outside the city walls. It costs 15 kuna on the bus or 12 kuna if purchased in advanced.

There is no lift in the hotel and there are shallow stairs up and down to the restaurant, the beach, the road etc. In fact Lapad area is hilly, though the beauty makes up for any inconvenience. If you have bad hips or knees, it could be a challenge. But the absolutely outstanding point of the hotel is it’s location. It is idyllic - with the view over the bay and the garden leading down to the sea. And it is situated in a quiet peaceful area. I have to say again, the staff at the Splendid are and added greatly to the pleasure of our holiday. All in all, we really enjoyed the hotel and I for one will be back. I’m sure the Manager realises he has a great staff.

Room Tip: Facing the sea are beautiful for the views
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank zigzag2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maestral D, Manager at Hotel Splendid, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Dear Madam / Sir,
Thank You for writing this beautiful review about your stay. We are very pleased you had a great holidays with us and we are glad to be a part of your nice memories.Thank you for recognizing the effort of our staff members. Your opinion is very important to us.
Looking forward to be your host again.
Kind regards,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews