We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (710)
Filter reviews
710 results
Traveller rating
58
255
214
92
91
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
58
255
214
92
91
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lapad bay sea view the bus old town park view cleaning staff three star bit dated hotel beach breakfast and dinner reception area beautiful country restaurant staff yogurt babin kuk few steps amazing views
Filter
Updating list...
104 - 109 of 710 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

Having had a lovely holiday last year near Bodrum , Turkey thought would try an early holiday for 7 days in croatia. Everyone told us it was lovely and cheap.
The location of the hotel is fabulous beautiful bay great view and backs onto beach. Stony but tranquil.
Breakfast was fine typical wide range to suit most European tastes. We stayed HB so lunch extra cost, reasonable price and enjoyed it on days stayed local for day. Beer c £4 a pint. The sun beds and parasols were free. Lovely bay to swim in far better than 5 star hotels opposite and further up. Service was excellent, had quite a laugh speculating on euro 2016 games being played.
Evening meal was awful. Amazing as same source as lunch, but buffet style . Service in hotel generally is excellent from boss down.
Never met anyone who enjoyed evening meal. We ate out every night after looking at what was offered.
Loads of restaurants within 5-10 min walk. Most in long strip running away from bay. Mixed bunch really. Croatian food definitely not on par with UK, Italy Spain or France. Typically everything served with boiled potatoes and chard, tastes like spinach. Sauces are stodgy, Germanic not Italian.
We were amazed how expensive it was. House wine is terrible, red much more expensive than white and this is Croatian wine.
If you want to eat seafood it is more expensive than brighton, UK. I think game of thrones has raised prices.
Best two restaurants tried was little restaurant on opposite side of bay on way to hotel more. Beautiful food and fabulous if expensive red wine. Service superb. Last night in hotel more, started in cocktail bar down steps to the sea, lovely views and sunset. Food was great but wine was crap left half a bottle, and I'm not a wine snob. Respective meals came to £90 and £100 for two, not including cocktail drinks.
We visited dubrovnik and prices are similar. Interesting place being rebuilt as medieval fortress after war.
The scenery is beautiful, spectacular walks through woods and along coast. Would I go back, no, for that money I could do Italy and it is classier. Having paid for HB we spent £1,500 between two of us in seven days. We came back day before referendum and worked on fraction under 9 to £
Friends went week later to North opposite Venice and found it much cheaper.
Brochure from prestige holidays was impressive as was service, met at airport very professional.
If go five star hotel further up bay is fantastic for few drinks and view. Service like the savoy, London. Lovely sunsets but I get them in brighton for less. Enjoy.
Room was fine, bathroom bit tired but wasn't buying it. Hotel spotless.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank julian l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Hotel Vis, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2016

Dear Madam / Sir,
Thank you for your time to write your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were satisfied with hotel location.
We would be pleased if you choose to visit us again.

Greetings from the entire hotel staff and me.
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2016

O.k here we go.
Aircon didnt work told cleaner she reported it. About 1 hour later 2 men came to repair it,they had to get another guy to come after another hour it was fixed. Every time aircon was switched on there was a horrible smell for about 10mins then it was ok.
Couple of days after the light didnt work in bathroom, that was repaired same day whilst we was out. One day we came back in the power had gone in our room nothing worked told reception once again, repaired within 1/2 hr. Then light at side of bed didnt work was fed up of going to reception as some staff rude so left that. My partner & i didnt sleep very well because the springs in the mattress was digging in us. Yes we too found holes in bed sheets. The towels was smelly & was supposed to be clean and i wouldnt call them a bath towel very small. We had silver fish running round the bathroom floor at night i put the bin over the holes in the floor (grate)thought that might be where they was coming from & didnt see anymore. It is the first hotel i have been in where the floor is carpeted but it was that dirty i was almost scared to walk on it bare footed & if we was sat on balcony when cleaner came it didnt get hoovered. She was in & out very quickly. Our balcony & toilet was never mopped either. I spilt a small amount of coffee on balcony floor it was there for about 4 days then i managed to wipe it with water & toilet paper. But the view was lovely we had a seaview room which we paid extra for &for the person who says if you want 5 star quality for a 2 star hotel (which we thought was 3 star) well we paid almost £2,000 for a 2wks holiday which i thought was very expensive for what we got in Vis hotel. I read that they put tables &chairs on the beach in the evening there was none of that, when we asked about this we was told they dont do it anymore. We even had to pay for sunbeds on the beach so laid on our towels very uncomfortable on the pebbles. You shouldnt have to pay when staying in the Vis. Went to Splendid Hotel to use the pool found out you have to pay to use it so didnt bother as
Vis dont have one which they should,not everyone can get in the sea like me i have bad knees & found it difficult because of the big pebbles & rocks. The breakfast is appalling evening meal not so bad but could be hotter. Lots of wasps torment you when sitting outside. I Do Wish You Would STOP People Smoking at the food tables this is horrible when other people are eating, and there is the bar area to move to to smoke. Yes there are no lifts & to many steps to climb. Wifi does not work properly, very boring if you stay at the hotel in the evening no entertainment.We only stayed there once because weather was bad had a storm. Prefered to go to the other bars drinks was a lot cheaper too. To the manager dont just put a cmment stating thank you for using Vis, DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT PLEASE. Wont be coming back though Dubovnik is far to expensive for us spoke to other people who also think it is expensive too. A big thank you to all the waitresses & waiter in the restaurant who work hard. Saying all this we did have a fantastic holiday Vis Hotel was the biggest let down. Been in better hotels & a lot cheaper. We was in 163 no tea/coffee making facilities no fridge.

Room Tip: Room 163 has good views. Not much else.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank loubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Hotel Vis, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2016

Dear Madam / Sir,
Thank you for your time to share your experience with us and your comments; we will take them into the consideration.

Best regards,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

I was very apprehensive about staying here after reading all the reviews. In a nutshell, you need to choose your room carefully.

We stayed in a superior room with a balcony and sea views. The room was very spacious and the views fantastic. On the downside, it overlooked the restaurant so if you're a light sleeper you could be disturbed by the breakfast sounds.

Plus points:
- It's a short walk into Lapad to the promenade with bars and restaurants (5-10 mins)
- The bus stop to Dubrovnik old city is directly opposite - it can take anything from 10 mins or longer depending on the number of people getting on/off at each stop
- The sea views from the superior rooms are fantastic
- There is a nice big terrace by the bar, overlooking the sea
- There is a small shingle beach with a lot of sun loungers (we didn't use this because it was cloudy when we stayed here)
- The room and bathroom was clean
- The bed is huge (although a bit too hard for me)
- There is a fridge but no tea or coffee making facilities
- The air conditioning is very good
- There is free WiFi but this can be erratic. There is a computer you can use in the lobby
- There are lots of plug points in the room (seems like an odd point to make but if you have a phone, camera, Kindle etc you need the sockets, especially if there are two of you in the room!)

Negative points.
- There is no lift, no ramps and a lot of steps/stairs and seemingly no-one to help
- Our safe had been closed by whoever used the room before us, and despite asking at least 3 times to have it opened so we could use it, this never happened
- The hotel is dated but the room was clean
- The air conditioning unit was broken and held together with plastic clips, and the dial to change the temperature had broken off
- Can't comment much about breakfast apart from the selection of fresh fruit left a lot to be desired
- No English-speaking TV channel even though reception told us there was
- 1,300 kuna seems and lot to pay per night for a superior room, but this may reflect Dubrovnik prices

So it's not a bad hotel to stay at, opt for a superior room for the views and the space.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank akd94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Hotel Vis, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2016

Dear Madam / Sir,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Vis. We would be pleased if you choose to visit us again.

Best regards!
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

Hotel was horribly outdated. The staff was very unfriendly and not helpful at all.
The rooms were dirty as were the beds and the towels. The sheets had holes in them. The air conditioning diffused a sewer like smell making it impossible to use.
Never again, regret booking this hotel.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank W3lk0m W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Hotel Vis, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2016

Dear Madam / Sir,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us.
Your suggestions will be taken into consideration as we highly value guests opinion.

Best regards,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2016

We had a wonderful ten days at the Vis; an authentic and well meaning hotel, comfortable and staffed with warm, hard-working people. Right on the pebbly beach with decent size bedrooms, we were made to feel welcome and valued. I can only assume the nit pickers who criticise the good people here expect five star treatment for two star prices. The food was plentiful, good and varied. The service was obliging. The wines were lovely. Our rooms were clean and well cared-for. The décor wasn't sumptuous but the beds and furnishings were pretty good quality. Remember...all you have to do is smile; you're on holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank MrDiscerning882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Hotel Vis, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2016

Dear Madam / Sir,
We thank you for taking the time to share a review. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Greetings from the entire hotel staff and me,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews