We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 049)
Filter reviews
1 049 results
Traveller rating
765
239
38
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
765
239
38
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lapad bay sphere restaurant sea view the bus old town pool area modern hotel pedestrian street rooftop bar each evening top floor superb hotel half board plenty of bars and restaurants sunset beach mini bar highly recommend this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 1 049 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2018 via mobile

We had the pleasure of staying at this hotel recently.

It is a modern 10 storey hotel with magnificent views of the bay with easy access to the beach, walkway and numerous restaurants.

The buffet style breakfast is fantastic. Plenty of variety.

The rooms are generous and well appointed. Ours had a balcony.

There is parking, guest relations to organise tours and advise.

It is about 2.5km to the Old Town. We used an Uber each time with absolutely no problem. Cost about 7 euro each way. Taxis are more expensive of course.

The hotel beach loungers and towels on the beach are free.

It was a pleasure to stay here.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Beavan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivana E, General Manager at Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2018

Dear Beavan G,
I would like to thank you for staying at our Hotel during your recent visit to Dubrovnik and also for writing a positive review of our hotel. I'm glad that you have enjoyed our facilities and that you had a pleasant stay. Thank you once again for staying with us, and we hope to be your hosts again in the future.
Kind regards,
Ivana Eres
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2018

We stayed here the 3rd week in August. The hotel and rooms are very clean. All staff are friendly from reception, bar staff and cleaners. Great variety at breakfast including soya milk and a small selection of gluten free, you can eat inside or out but be careful eating outside as there were quite a few wasps. I can't comment on dinner as we ate out most nights. No problems with getting sunbeds at the poolside or beach. Towels are provided for the beach and pool. Free wifi all around the hotel. Chocolates are delivered to your room every night, which was a great plus for the kids. Tea making facilities including tea, coffee and milk provided every day. The views from reception are beautiful. They have a gym within the hotel which is well equipped. My daughter used this a couple of times. We have been to a few places around Croatia but Dubrovnik is the most expensive. There is a great kebab shop and restaurant which is very well priced, you can get kebabs, burgers, tortilla's and sandwiches. There is a great Thai restaurant called Silk which I would highly recommend, we ate there a couple of times. There is a cave bar which is next door to Hotel Kompas, it is very pretty and different, worth a drink in there. A trip to the old town is a must. If you are a Game of Thrones fan you will love it. Fort Lovrijenac (Red Keep) is where quite a few scenes were filmed. There are a lot of steps and I mean a lot of steps so maybe not suitable for all. You will also need to walk the city wall, the views are amazing. If you go early evening you will be able to see the sunset which is beautiful, again there are a lot of steps. There is a beautiful hike you can go on (free) starting at Dubrovnik Palace Hotel (this is the sister hotel to Kompas) It only takes around half an hour, but remember to take your camera. If you ask at reception they will be able to tell you the route. Hotel Kompas in my opinion should be a five star hotel. If I were to stay in Dubrovnik again I would definitely without a doubt stay here again.

Date of stay: August 2018
1  Thank juliedavis7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivana E, General Manager at Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2018

Dear juliedavis7,

Thank you for such a lovely review.I am thrilled that you had such a wonderful experience of the hotel Kompas and that your expectations were exceeded.
Hotel Kompas wouldn't be what it is without the splendid team though also the charming guests we welcome here.
I hope that we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
With kind regards,
Ivana Eres
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2018

What a great hotel. We stayed on the 5th floor and had a great view across the bay. A beautiful room and bathroom with walk in shower. Plenty of space in the wardrobe too which is sometimes an issue in hotels. There was a maid service everyday and fresh towels provided.
Towels provided at the pool area and at the beach were a real bonus with always plenty of beds and umbrellas available at both.

We stayed on a half board basis and dinners were more than adequate with some nights better than others, although they do have the menu on display from breakfast time so you know what is on that night. The starter buffet with cold meats, salads etc was excellent and there was always a good choice of mains including fish and vegetarian options. We fully intended to eat out a few nights in Dubrovnik old town but having experienced the crowds during the day we ended up just staying around the hotel in the evening and ate out at lunchtime. There are plenty of restaurants around although none of them wowed me at lunchtime so I was glad I chose half board. We did swap dinner for lunch one day which allowed us to choose from the a la carte menu which was really good value.

Staff were great especially in the restaurant and bars and the hotel was immaculate throughout -top marks for keeping those cream carpets so clean.

GENERAL TIPS- I normally don't like people complaining about prices on holiday but it was an expensive area and prices varied widely in several bars. For example we paid anywhere between 200kuna and 550kuna for a beer. Wine is also expensive and there didn't seem to be many places offering cheaper carafes.
Local wines and beers are great value at the Tommy supermarket where there is also a great bakery area.
If you turn right outside the hotel there is a lovely coastal walk and you can stop at the Cave bar for a drink down by the sea.
Buses into the old town are very crowded around 10 -11am and queues are non existent so go prepared. The return journey was never as bad.
Believe what you hear about the crowds in the Old Town and avoid cruise ship days as much as possible.

Room tip: Pay extra for a sea view
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Scott6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivana E, General Manager at Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2018

Dear Scott6,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel Kompas. We do our best to provide the highest standard of service to our guests and we are more than happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
It is a great pleasure for the personnel to read that you found them as great which, along with the comfortable facilities you enjoyed, contributed to the pleasantness of your stay.
Regarding the beer prices I think that you maybe did a typing mistake. The usual prices in Dubrovnik for a beer are between 20 and 55 Kn for a beer:)
Thank you for choosing us for your stay in Dubrovnik and I am looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.
With kind regards,
Ivana Eres
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2018

One of the best hotels that we’ve ever stayed in. We arrived at dusk so did not realise the existence of the superb view from the reception area. A revelation on returning to the front desk!
A sea view room is ideal, some rooms face a wall or scrub area which detracts from the experience. Excellent room, soft white carpets, effortless AC (very necessary in early August 2018) and amazing sound-proof patio doors. Actually stopped ALL sounds from outside. Beds were 'extensive' and comfortable, the room size adequate but as it was one of the narrower rooms, passing between the beds and furniture was tight. Shower room and shower... brilliant.
Everywhere was spotlessly clean. Staff were friendly and courteous but never 'false' in their greetings, what a difference that makes. They made us feel we were welcome in their hotel and not a burden. Breakfast was included in our package and really good with something to suit everyone.
Excellent outdoor pool, virtually deserted indoor pool for when the heat of the sun became too much. Not too much of the early 'germanic towel spreading' either and in general people were good about removing their clobber as they left. Reserved area on the 'beach' for hotel guests and free towel provision was excellent. It meant there was always a sunbed available either at the hotel or on the beach.
With so many cafes, restaurants and shops close by, finding food, ice-cream and drinks was easy.
Sight-seeing? It is Croatia so great. Loved walking the path by the coast. Would we return? Without hesitation.
(This is a true and considered description of our visit)

Room tip: Book sea view. Some rooms have poor outlook
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivana E, General Manager at Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Dear Mr B,
Thank you for taking the time share your review on your recent stay at Hotel Kompas.
I was delighted to read that you found the staff is courteous but never 'false'.
Without my staff and team and their dedication towards the work we will not be able to provide the memorable experience to our guests and everything would be the different.
Thank you for your comments regarding our rooms, pools, breakfast and location.
I hope to welcome you back to Hotel Kompas in the near future!
With kind regards,

Ivana Eres
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2018

Had the pleasure of spending my 50th birthday in this amazing hotel - stayed for 4 nights. It's not cheap but you are paying for the hotel being in a great position, being very well appointed, with friendly attentive staff. We had a sea facing room with a small balcony that looked out on lapad bay. Our room was lovely, there was a bit of noise from other guests but not too bad. We stayed bed and breakfast and the selection at breakfast was great - plenty of choice and all really nice. We had drinks in the rooftop bar - great cocktail selection with fantastic views. We didn't visit the spa or the pool but we did take advantage of the exclusive section of the beach for Hotel Kompas guests, this is rigourously enforced so make sure you take your room key as proof. You can get drinks and food brought to your sunbeds which is great. The sea was nice and refreshing but not too cold, but bring wet shoes as its very pebbly on the beach. There is a good selection of bars and restuarants nearby - take advantage of the happy hour as it's not that cheap, probably the same as prices back in the UK. You can get a bus or cab to the Old Town which is about 15 mins away - go in the evening it's still really busy but not as hot. Would definitely recommend Hotel Kompas!

Date of stay: August 2018
Thank missplaything
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivana E, General Manager at Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Dear missplaything,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay in the Hotel Kompas. I am delighted you enjoyed your experience with us. We do our best to provide a perfect environment for our guest, especially when celebrating special occasions, like your 50th birthday. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!
Warm regards,
Ivana Eres
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews