We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place to stay while in Dubrovnik ; very...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
single beds room view from balcony
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
single beds room
view from balcony
swimming pool
BACK VIEW OF THE APARTMENTS
balcony view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County, Dalmatia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Brian P
S.Wales.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to stay while in Dubrovnik ; very clean, great value and location”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I organised accommodation for 12 from my dive club here. The studio apartments are ensuite with kitchenettes, fridges, crockery etc so we could make our own breakfasts, drinks and snacks during the day. There's a small supermarket five minutes down the road (up the steps and right), with cashpoints, more shops, and bus stops another 2-5 minutes walk away.
Djuro is a very good and helpful host, with good tips on where to find shops and buses into town.

Location-wise, we were about 15 minutes bus ride from the Old City, and could walk into the centre of Lapad...to the beach, food, drinks and ice cream. We visited the restaurant down the steps, on the corner, which has great food, and also spent a few nights at the Buono restaurant up the steps and down the road - which has a larger menu, and (for us) better value, with equally great meals.
Everyone commented on how clean the apartments were, and how great the views from their balconies were...a great place to chill after a day out. Djuro very kindly let us use his (very sturdy) washing lines to hang out our dive kit at the end of the holiday, and also let us keep a few of the unbooked rooms until the afternoon when we left for the airport.
Overall a very good place to stay if you're doing things in Dubrovnik, or just sightseeing. Djuro is a very friendly host, and speaks excellent English.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very clean apartments, in a great location
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Briggsy3
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent position, friendly owner”
Reviewed 9 June 2011 for a stay in May 2011
4
people found this review helpful

Recently stayed with friends in one of Djuro's apartments.We arrived at lunchtime on the bus from the airport which cost 35kkn each. We were able to occupy apartment straight away.Djuro gave us local info and was extremely helpful when my husband discovered he had left some personal belongings on the bus from the airport.Don't attempt to walk to apartment with luggage there are a lot of steps from the bottom get a taxi to take you to the top will cost approx 80kn. The view from the apartment is great worth climbing the steps for, you can see the cruise boats arriving so know how busy the town might be. Regular bus service takes you into the old town cost 12kn on the bus or 10kn from ticket office. The apartments have a swimming pool which is lovely when you arrive back from a day sightseeing and all the rooms have a balcony overlooking the sea. At the bottom of the steps on the seafront is a lovely restaurant with a rooftop terrace providing lovely food at reasonable prices called Blidinje. All in all we had a wonderful weeks stay and all the exercise climbing the steps kept us fit and we could eat all the wonderful bread and ice-cream without feeling too guilty. Would go back tomorrow if we could.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Tourists
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2011
just to put things right there is other way of getting to the villa were there is no steps and that is trough Dalmatinska str. were she mentioned the taxi ride as apartments are just of Dalmatinska str.
managment, Villa Valjalo.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bheath
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The perfect choice for a budget getaway”
Reviewed 6 June 2011 for a stay in May 2011
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed in the studio apartment at Villa Valjalo. It's simply furnished but perfectly clean, comfortable and well maintained. And the view from our balcony, across the water to the ferry harbour at Gruz, was outstanding.

The accommodation is very well located for exploring the old city of Dubrovnik, the delightful Lapad peninsular and is also close to the ferry terminal at Gruz. Which is great if you're planning to explore some of the islands on your visit. Everything we required (shops, restaurants and public transport) were within an easy walking distance of the apartment. Local bus No.6, stops nearby, and is a short but scenic 5-10 minute ride to the old city of Dubrovnik.

Djuro, our host, was a very friendly man. Extremely helpful and forthcoming with information, tips and advice on how to get the most from Dubrovnik and the local area.

So if you're looking for a simple, value for money base, from which to explore Dubrovnik and the surrounding areas, then Villa Valjalo is a great choice. However, for anyone with mobility problems, take note. The apartment is at the top of a hill. So if you're not good with steps or long slopes, then this place may not be the best choice for you. But for us, it was perfect, and we would gladly return.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2011
just to be specific about walking up hill, it is about 5 min. walk up the hill trough Dalmatinska str. so that people dont think it is a long walk because most of Dubrovnik streets are down or uphill as they say if you walk down hill there will be a time to go up hill as well or athere way around.
managment,Villa Valjalo.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eerando
Burlada, Spain
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing