We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveller rating
73
50
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
50
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main market ring the bell double room main door private bathroom stay there again great place to stay lockable terrace guatemala valuables closet
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 128 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Very clean, nice size room with a lockable metal closet ...bring a padlock. We bought a padlock and put our valuables in the closet. Nice to have free water and coffee. Wonderful little garden to relax with a cup of tea or brew. There is a kitchen available for you to use. The staff are friendly and efficient. Right across the street from the market. Many restaurants 2 minutes away.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank anncelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018 via mobile

Great place to stay! It was clean and the staff was extremely friendly. It is located across the street from the market and easy walking distance to the center of town. Loved the little courtyard and access to a little kitchen.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Marny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2018 via mobile

I stayed for a week so got to try two rooms. First off I was next to the kitchen. This room was very small and a little dark, but not as noisy as I'd feared. Perfectly adequate for a few days as it opened onto a flower-filled courtyard. The second (Rm 4) was much more spacious and comfortable - and the same price (probably due to the lenght of my stay). All the staff were helpful and patient with my laboured spanish. Having a kitchen was a real treat as few people used it and it was kept spotless. Despite being across the street from the main market, there was surprisingly little noise - particularly after the main door was closed at 8:00pm. A hidden gem. During winter I would recommend booking a room on the upper level to take advantage of the sun.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Bodhimind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2018 via mobile

Nothing special, but clean and a good price. The window in our room opened right to the courtyard, so we felt like we could always be heard. The bed is very hard, but for one night it’s a safe place to crash.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2018

We arrived early in the morning and several days later we departed earlier in the morning. And every time, the night staff at the reception was accessible, friendly and attentive. Every time we returned from a day's outing or whatever to Posada Juma Ocag, we felt we returned home. The rooms are very clean and well appointed with lots of outlets, comfy beds and ample blankets, and each room (that we stayed in) had a cabinet that could be locked. Having a 24-hour reception desk, and who had to open the door (after we ring the bell), meant that sitting in the half-courtyard and terrace was relaxing. The wifi worked great. As far as location, given that it is off the main street of the market and great local restaurants, eateries and general life of Antigua, we really enjoyed the lively area. Once inside Posada, it was quiet.
Would stay there again - a clean, accessible, comfortable and personal family-run posada.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews