We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Cottage”
Cottage Bedroom with cathedral ceilings
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage Bedroom with cathedral ceilings
Welcome to 'Lesser Light'! Reading Nook -- futon opens to a double bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Cottage Bedroom with cathedral ceilings
Welcome to 'Lesser Light'!
Reading Nook -- futon opens to a double bed
Futon opens up to a double bed for two more guests
Cottage Kitchen
Cottage Cabinetry
Cottage Detail
Another view of the cottage bedroom
'Lesser Light' Cottage ~ Bedroom Detail
Clean, spacious bathroom
Tile shower/tub
Cottage Environs
Cottage Deck with hammock, grill, dining table, chaise lounges
Cottage Deck with hammock, grill, dining table, chaise lounges
Cottage Deck with hammock, grill, dining table, chaise lounges
Deck detail
Cottage Deck detail
Cottage Exterior
Front cottage garden
Flower garden out on the lawn
Lawn furniture and a visiting rabbit!
Butterfly bushes greet you as you approach the deck
View of garden from the very private cottage deck
Guestbook Comment
Guestbook Comment
Guestbook Comment
Guestbook Comment
Guestbook Comment
Guestbook Comment
Guestbook Comment
Guestbook Comment
Guestbook Comment
Guestbook Comment
Guestbook Comment
Guest Review
Guest Review
Guest Review
Guest Review
Guest Review
Guest Review
Guest Review
Guest Review
Guest Review
Guest Review
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Nantucket, Massachusetts

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
dbowers01
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Great Cottage”
Reviewed 10 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Lesser Light is a wonderful cottage tucked away from the crowds.
We spent a long holiday weekend there recently with our 16 month old toddler.
I highly recommend this cottage! It may be slightly more ideal for a couple or two couples looking to get away vs a family with young children.
10 minute drive to town and only a 5 minute drive or 20 minute walk to Sconset. Wonderful owners who are very attentive, highly recommend!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2016
Thanks for your great review. Most people share your delight that the cottage is so private and peaceful (in an island that can get a bit hectic in high season) but that you can still get into the heart of things -- beaches, markets, shops, museums and restaurants - by a quick drive, shuttle bus ride or by bike. Hope that we'll see you back again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan P
1 review
“Charming cottage close to all that's best about Nantucket, yet private and off the beaten trail.”
Reviewed 17 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We loved our visit to this delightful cottage. It is comfortable and well equipped, close to the Moors, 'Sconset and Tom Nevers Beach, yet private and quiet. We loved feeding and watching a variety of songbirds that visit the feeders, star gazing, relaxing on the deck, and hiking in the nearby moors with our dogs. This vacation place is a treasure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: This cottage was built with love-It is a beautiful home in a lovely, private setting. However, it is close to all that is best about Nantucket-hiking trails, mid island food store, 'Sconset and Tom Nevers beaches. We brought our dogs!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2016
We're happy to provide a place where dogs, too, can enjoy good Island living. Nantucket is such a dog friendly place it would be a shame to leave them behind. And a long tramp in the nearby 'Serengeti' moors at sunset with a four legged friend - what a treat for all involved! Hope we'll see ALL of you back again next Fall.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 17 July 2015 for a stay in May 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Absolutely Everything. Coffee on the deck in the morning was a highlight.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 Jul 2015
Thanks so much for your great review. Over the years we've had Newlyweds, Honeymooners, wedding parties, BabyMooners and even a couple celebrating their dog's first birthday! We are always amazed that whenever someone mentions the best part of their holiday, it's always some unique and unexpected part of the Island that spoke most to them and made their vacation unforgettable. The Island is only 13 miles across but it seems to have enough delights that we rarely hear about the same one twice! Congratulations again on your marriage, and we hope when you visit in the Fall that you'll find even more to enjoy and want to return to.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 19 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it...the perfect location, kind and generous hosts and relaxing atmosphere
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 Jul 2015
We have had many guests stay in 'Lesser Light' over the years and, we are pleased to say, so many of them have been happy there. But, without question, you are the very first guests to ever express your pleasure to us in a Nantucket Limerick. (Sadly, it doesn't seem appropriate to post here.) We thank you for your kind words, for your weird rhymes - but mostly we are just pleased that you were able to have such a relaxing and delightful week. There's a reason why so many Islanders say September is their favorite month of the year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing