We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Traditional Salvadorean Hospitality”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of ALI"S Guest House

Beautiful House Near Downtown
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful House Near Downtown
Nice Neighborhood near Downtown San Salvador. FREE PICK UP FROM ANY BUS STATION TICA BUS AND KING QUALITY
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
Beautiful House Near Downtown
Nice Neighborhood near Downtown San Salvador.
FREE PICK UP FROM ANY BUS STATION TICA BUS AND KING QUALITY
BIG ROOM WITH FREE WIRELESS INTERNET
BIG ROOM WITH FREE WIRELESS INTERNET
BOOK 2 NIGHT AND WE GIVE YOU FREE CITY TOUR
You will feel like in your own place.
You will feel like in your own place.
Free Salvadorian Breakfast every morning
FREE RIDE FROM ANY BUS STATION
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
San Salvador, San Salvador Department

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Capo_in_B
earth, sol
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Traditional Salvadorean Hospitality”
Reviewed 16 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Ali's Guest House was a good choice for me for a five night stay. I had a large room in the traditional house overlooking the garden with an extra bed that allowed me to organize stuff. Edwin was very accessible and we were able to co-ordinate to meet on arrival at the PullmanTur bus terminal. Location was excellent for walking, 10 minutes to central cathedral, 5 minutes to Mercado Miguelito. Breakfast is traditional and delicious. With Edwin's help and encouragement I managed to visit Libertad Port and Tunco beach and to hike the volcano, several times dropping me off near the bus stop as he went about business. I walked all over the downtown, markets, parks. My room with an extra bed was large and allowed me to organize my stuff. It is an older house, but the garden is lovely. I recommend Ali's Guest House for its authentic Salvadorean hospitality.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kitchen and dining table for work.
Liked least: Even with fan, the room could get hot in afternoon.
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2016
Gracias Robert, you always welcome!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
latayna
Belize
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Edwin has done it again!”
Reviewed 22 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Ali's Guest House is ran by Edwin who is a really personal guy who speaks great English. We went to San Salvador for official business and found a friend for life. Although we stayed at an extension of Edwin's accommodations with Julio, next door, Edwin always checked on us to make sure are stay was going well. The homes are basic and not for the faint at heart. However, if you are on a budget and don't mind missing certain hotel luxuries, this is the place for you.
Edwin offers tours and transportation from buses and the airport. We were unable to do the tours but other guest enjoyed them. We had great El Salvadorian breakfast made by Julio's wife. Both the homes are multi generation family members and both are very nice.
When we were to move over to Edwin's home we opt to stay with the Rodas (Spanish speaking only) because we felt like we were with extended family.
Kudos to Edwin for making a stressful trip least stressed. We will stay in Edwin's house next time and take advantage of his tours.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Friendliness
Liked least: Needed to be more attentive to animals urination
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moises R
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place, great host!”
Reviewed 6 September 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Staying at Edwin's place felt like family! The house is located near downtown and near buses that can take you anywhere in the city. Very clean and comfortable bed and room. Edwin have an answer to every question about the country and he even take the time to give you directions/tips to places to go. He is fluent in Spanish and English, which is very helpful.This is the place to stay in San Salvador!

Travelling group: Solo
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hernan L
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The best place to stay in San Salvador.”
Reviewed 30 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Thanks to TripAdvisor I met Edwin and his guest house . I visited this guest house from 04 to 08 May this year . It is an excellent place to stay , clean, well presented and facilities for rest . The location is unbeatable, close to the main bus terminal and within 10 blocks of the historic center of this city , on an avenue leading to the main square.
Thanks Edwin prontyo and I hope to return to enjoy the hospitality of your guest house and convsersacion with your Mother and Aunt .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The best is the location, clean and the family athmosphere
Liked least: Noting
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sroth67
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“amazing”
Reviewed 9 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

edwins house is very nice. He is great as is the rest of his family/employees. Not only did i stay there, but I did the boqueron volcano tour which was a blast. Best part was he charges a very fair price. Highly recommend staying with him and taking his tours!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing