We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A contemporary museum with a strong anti-war message and a tidy hostel at the same time”
Review of War Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
War Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2016

Before you continue with reading, please note that I was born and raised in Sarajevo. I had to flee the city at the age of 9 with my mother and young sister, while my father stayed, working for the UNHCR all 44 months of the siege. Most of my friends and relatives were trapped under mortar and sniper fire, and I always wondered how did they manage to function in the city without water, electricity, heating, adequate healthcare, prescription drugs, food supplies...
Well, you'll get an idea if you visit this hostel. It makes you thankful for the luxury of the running water while you are washing your hands, while you read and see how people collected rain-water and kept it in canisters and bottles in their bathrooms. It has educative and thought-provoking newspaper clippings and reports on the walls, doors and mirrors, war photos, war exhibits, examples of improvised everyday solutions that people actually used during the siege. Everything is very well arranged and thoughtfully envisioned, and carrying an incredibly strong anti-war message.
At the same time, it is a very clean hostel, with very friendly and helpful hosts, on an incredible location and with an amazing view. The only (small) problem we had finding it (the street numbers have no logical order, but it did not take us long to find our way).

Room Tip: Get the downstairs room. They cost 5 EUR extra, but are definitely worth the unique experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 26 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2016 via mobile

You will neither regret your stay nor forget your stay at this hostel. Its a fascinating tour de force with an excellent host and beautiful facilities. Its close to the centre and they have custom maps with the best restaurants, food and sights. Best place i visited in the balkans!!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Alan Ó
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2016 via mobile

...because I'm quite confident that anybody staying here will give the hostel five stars and a sterling write up. The theme of the hostel is unique and fascinating, and the owner friendly and informative. He took us out for free in the evening for a meal and to show the main sights in Sarajevo centre, with other like-minded travellers. More tours are available but my stay sadly needed to be brief. The hostel is very difficult to find, but we'll worth it when found.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
Thank willswitchengage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2016 via mobile

The hostel is super clean. The location is just amazing. It is quite a unique experience to stay here. Maybe the most interesting place to stay in Bosnia if you are interested in the history of the siege. Other wise you can stay just for the location.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
Thank Iara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2016

Pros:
Siege 'tour' and war sites tour offer a lot of insight on the 90s war and siege of Sarajevo from the perspective of the people there. I learned a lot. The tour of the 84 bobsled site and other war fortifications in the hills is interesting and picturesque. Hosts are very friendly and helpful.

Downside: Finding the hostel in a residential area up a steep hill is a little tricky, location is probably not as convenient as somewhere closer to downtown. But the walk is manageable. Note there are some steep steps to carry your stuff up.

Overall I would definitely recommend it to any young first time visitor interested in history of the city and the 90s war specifically.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarajevo hotels
0.4 km away
Isa Begov Hamam Hotel
Isa Begov Hamam Hotel
#5 of 68 in Sarajevo
108 reviews
0.8 km away
Hostel Vagabond Sarajevo
Hostel Vagabond Sarajevo
#3 of 186 in Sarajevo
268 reviews
1.3 km away
The Doctor's House
The Doctor's House
#1 of 186 in Sarajevo
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hostel Franz Ferdinand
Hostel Franz Ferdinand
#2 of 186 in Sarajevo
427 reviews
0.7 km away
Residence Rooms
Residence Rooms
#11 of 186 in Sarajevo
96 reviews
0.1 km away
Guest House Rose
Guest House Rose
#12 of 126 in Sarajevo
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to War Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about War Hostel

Address: Hrvatin 21, Sarajevo 71000, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Region: Bosnia and Herzegovina > Sarajevo Canton > Sarajevo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 186 Speciality Lodging in Sarajevo
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the war conditions of Sarajevo and meet a family which survived the war in Sarajevo! The War Hostel is a historically accurate simulation of war torn Sarajevo, full with authentic war decorations and run by a family which survived the war in Sarajevo. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing