We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expecting more”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Holiday Sarajevo
Ranked #49 of 69 Hotels in Sarajevo
Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

When I was booking the room I was expecting a modern hotel. The reality was different. Old looking decor and the approach to the client was poor.
15min walk to the city center and I recommend looking for a restaurant there as the one in the hotel was disappointing. The staff didn't speak English and the food was regular. Breakfast was also mediocre. Gym was old and the swimming pool was smaller than in the photos. It is better to find a different hotel in this price.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lukasz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2017

Great service, great facilities, very comfortable with nice food. The staff could speak English. The hotel is about 15 minutes walk to the the main centre and a few minutes walk to some of the main museums. The food was good. The only downside is the smoke that lingers in the corridor because smoking is allowed in rooms and restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tshepo m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile

The hotel looks tired but our room was spacious enough.

Breakfast was good with decent spread. Cafe was a bit busy during breakfast peak hours
.
Within walking distance to Sarajevo city center.

You won't be wowed, but it will be a pleasant stay

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Damien_Sagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017 via mobile

This amazing, infamous Hotel is placed in a now, good area of the city. It is only around 15 minutes walk in to the centre although there are many huge shopping malls local.

The bright yellow hotel was infamous for the world press and the then,President's accommodation during the Balkans war.
The reception and check-in was very friendly and warm. You are are made to feel welcome immediately.

The rooms are a little older now but they are very clean and well maintained. Comfortable beds and every facility is available.

The lounge and bar areas are spacious and relaxing although, cigarette smoking is still permitted indoors and this can cause a bit of a stench. We chose to go outside to the patio cafes. The air is fresh and clean and the cafes and bar staff are friendly and helpful.

Breakfast, although plentiful was mayhem. There were many people staying during our visit and the breakfast turned in to a free for all rummage. Coffee machines did not function, drink dispensers ran dry and tables were not being cleared to accommodate other guests. There was serious disfunction of the restaurant administration and guests were left to fend for themselves any which way they could. Saying all of that, the food was nice and I'm sure that it would look great....just before opening and before the "attack"

On a separate note, we chose to dine one evening at "Bistro Boss" which we were not sure whether it was a part of the hotel but it appeared to be in the complex of the hotel. I doubt that we've ever had such terrible, bad food....and that's ever... underlined. We should have guessed really as the people who arrived only had drinks and cigarettes...not food. We could not eat the food but still paid the bill and left.

We would stay at the holiday hotel again as it has character and the staff are lovely.

Thank you.


Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank 2xhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017

This Olympic hotel that managed to survive the war intrigues the visitors with both its exterior and interior. The service is satisfying, the rooms clean and the beds comfortable. Wi-Fi that doesn't seem to reach all the rooms is the only weak spot I witnessed. Furthermore, it is located right next to a shopping centre and the tram tracks that lead right to the centre. It's possible even to take a 15 to 20-minute stroll to reach the centre. All in all, a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank leahmacun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarajevo hotels
1.0 km away
Courtyard Sarajevo
Courtyard Sarajevo
#3 of 69 in Sarajevo
169 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Colors Inn
Hotel Colors Inn
#2 of 69 in Sarajevo
223 reviews
1.1 km away
Novotel Sarajevo Bristol
Novotel Sarajevo Bristol
#4 of 69 in Sarajevo
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Hotel VIP
Hotel VIP
#1 of 69 in Sarajevo
134 reviews
2.0 km away
Hotel Europe Sarajevo
Hotel Europe Sarajevo
#13 of 69 in Sarajevo
540 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Bosnia
Hotel Bosnia
#27 of 69 in Sarajevo
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Holiday Sarajevo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Holiday Sarajevo

Address: Zmaja od Bosne 4, Sarajevo 71000, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Region: Bosnia and Herzegovina > Sarajevo Canton > Sarajevo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Sarajevo
Price Range: R1 063 - R1 778 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Holiday Sarajevo 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Holiday Sarajevo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sarajevo Hotel Sarajevo
Sarajevo Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing