We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“People who run the place make it worthwhile”
Review of Hostel Posillipo

Hostel Posillipo
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Posillipo
Ranked #44 of 69 Hotels in Sarajevo
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The father and son who mostly run this place - with a few other helpers - are genuinely warm and gracious hosts. Their tours are well-organized and actually interesting. These people clearly enjoy what they do. They're reliable, flexible, and eager to please.

Room Tip: No matter the room, you're going to share a bathroom with everyone else on your floor....could b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UptownGrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2013 via mobile

My visit to Sarajevo last year (June 2012) was made all the more pleasant by Saleem and his son Skender, who gave me an insight into Bosnia I couldn't have had otherwise.

As concerns the accommodation, I have to be honest and say it was very basic. Everything worked etc but the beds were budget, the bathroom equally so. But then again it was serviceable and I was staying in the centre of Sarajevo for 23 Euros a night, shared with my mate, so what do you expect, right?

A word of warning, try and get a metered cab. The tram line near our hostel was being relaid during our time there, giving the cabbie the obvious chance to take the long way around. Our return journey to the train station was half the price. Perhaps the tram line is rebuilt now, suggest you take that if so.

Saleem (an ex-servicemen in the Bosnian army) took us to Srebrenica to visit the site of the 1995 atrocities and during the drive told us of the history of the conflict and his own personal story, which I found amazing in his ability to remain so positive, and his friends restaurant about 15m from the hostel is a definite recommended for delicious Bosnian food.

Sometimes when you stay somewhere,its the staff that make it, more than the accomodation itself, definitely one of those places.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimboJonesMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

you can enjoy in very good -but noisy- beds, but parking is not a parking! you will remain blocked a whole day for the car blocking your one. Last thing: if you want to make a shower. between 0.00 and 5.00 am... forget it. However if you don't have special pretencies this is the right place for you: cheap and in the very central sarajevo.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fra123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

On our 1 night stay in Sarajevo we felt safe and the room was large and mostly clean. Unfortunately, the cleaning service had forgotten to wipe the table which was full of crumbs. The rest of the room was very clean though. The bedsheets and sofa in the room seemed worn-out, but still ok. For a very large room with 5 beads and two sofas and enough space to host a large family, the price was very low. The hostel is very central in Sarajevo (which is not very large to begin with). A drawback are the matresses, whose springs are now imprinted in our backs.

In brief:
Good:
+Location
+Friendly staff
+Room size
+Value for money

Not so good:
-Not everything was cleaned thoroughly
-Smelled like smokers had used the room before us
-Matresses

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WearyGermanTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

(Travelled August 2010)
Don't stay here, unless you want to sleep in someones living room...

My friend and I had made a reservation but when we arrived, the man at reception said that the hostel was full, and took us into a house where a lady gave us a key to her living room. As we went up the stairs there was a girl asleep on a bed in the landing. The living room had a lock on the door, and she folded out her sofas for us to sleep on. My friend who is Croatian was trying to explain to the lady that this is not what we had booked, but she was insistent that it was fine and that we should pay at reception in the morning. The 'ensuite' in the living room was a bucket with a shower curtain. After about an hour of giggles and thinking that we were being punk'd (!!) we decided to stay as it was getting late and we didn't know where else to go - after all we had a lock on the door.

First thing in the morning we left (the girl on the landing had already gone!) and booked into somewhere else!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lorrifloss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarajevo hotels
2.1 km away
Garni Hotel Konak
Garni Hotel Konak
#10 of 69 in Sarajevo
223 reviews
1.8 km away
Samm Seher Hotel
Samm Seher Hotel
#24 of 69 in Sarajevo
83 reviews
5.1 km away
Novotel Sarajevo Bristol
Novotel Sarajevo Bristol
#4 of 69 in Sarajevo
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
TSC Pansion
TSC Pansion
#52 of 125 in Sarajevo
15 reviews
12.1 km away
Hollywood Hotel Sarajevo
Hollywood Hotel Sarajevo
#22 of 69 in Sarajevo
462 reviews
7.4 km away
Hostel Gonzo
Hostel Gonzo
#58 of 193 in Sarajevo
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Posillipo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Posillipo

Address: Besarina Cikma No.5, Sarajevo 387, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Region: Bosnia and Herzegovina > Sarajevo Canton > Sarajevo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 69 Hotels in Sarajevo
Price Range: R183 - R323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing