We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel (not central)”
Review of Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Park Hotel
Ranked #53 of 69 Hotels in Sarajevo
Reviewed 31 August 2017

Park hotel does the job, I liked the breakfast and the dinner and the rooms were OK but none of the above were great nor had any wow factor. The hotel is about 15-20 minutes from downtown so that could deter a lot of travellers.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Eric K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (12)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 12 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2017

I stayed a week at the Hotel Park in June 2017. The entire hotel reeks heavily of cigarette smoke 24/7. Many people in Bosnia smoke, and since this is NOT a nonsmoking hotel despite any claims made to the contrary, many people smoke in their rooms, hallways, and gathering spaces. There are often smokers hanging outside the entrances, so there is no escaping the smoke. Fortunately, at least there is a nonsmoking dining area. I was in a second floor room and even opening the window gave no relief since smokers in rooms around me and outside of the building frequently wafted strongly into my room. There was also some kind of industry nearby that created a creosote smell into the air, so it was rare that I could actually open the window to get fresh air.

That aside, the customer service was mediocre at best. Most of the staff were good, hard-working people who did their best to provide good service, but the hotel was vastly understaffed for the tour groups attending from various places. The hotel knew my group of about 70 people were coming months in advance and yet only had one bartender and one or two waiters during busy dinner hours. This no doubt stems from the poverty of Bosnia as a whole; it appears there are not enough resources to employ staff for the season demand fluctuations, and hospitality standards in Bosnia as a whole are generally low.

The female front desk clerk upon check in was very rude and sneered at me and other guests, and as I heard from others, this was not an isolated incident. Others who worked the front desk were friendly and helpful, so this apparently was a problem employee who unfortunately worked most of the time I was there. As an American, I go out of my way to not be the typical stupid demanding American expecting other cultures to accommodate my culture, so I was not being rude or demanding. Fortunately, most other staff were pleasant, though obviously stressed from overwork.

For vegetarians, vegans, or anyone interested in eating fresh food, the choices are limited. In Bosnia as a whole the concept of vegetarianism means lots of bread, cheese, grains, and oily overcooked vegetables. On the up side, GMO food is virtually nonexistent, so you can easily avoid GMOs. The hotel restaurant did have decent food, although only 2 or 3 vegan offerings. There is a Konzum grocery store very close so one can pick up fresh produce, water, etc. there. There is also ample free parking. There is free wi-fi, but it does not require a password, so it is unsecure and cannot be used for logging into any sensitive web sites. On the second floor wi-fi works well, but on the 3rd floor, at least in the more remote rooms, it’s useless.

You are much better off staying at an AirBnB room than this hotel. I stayed at a flat in Sarajevo for several nights that was clean, comfortable, convenient, and inexpensive, with wonderful hosts and no smoke around.

Room Tip: Avoid entirely, get an AirBnB room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kenneth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2016

The hotel is situated far from the city center which is pretty inconvenient. The rooms smelled musty and were small. I found one used towel where my new clean ones should have been. The hotel staff took ages to bring us soap and new towels (i had to ask about 3 times). The food and breakfast was ok, but the personel quite rude. Last but not least, the hotel had a pool, that was reserved by some other guests, so my friends could not go use it.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Danai P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2016

Recently renovated rooms (upgraded from 3* to 4*) with thick mattress, LED TV with 40-50 channels, good free WiFi, spacious shower, balconee, good view, large elevator, helpful staff, free parking, good breakfast.
Note - it is still allowed to smoke in lobby, so be prepared if you are a non-smoker to open some doors/windows for fresh air.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kirillevterov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2015 via mobile

It is a very good hotel! You have 10 minutes to the Sarajevo city centrum by the car! It has a beautiful swimming pool! The food is excellent. The pearson are also very nice. It is clean and on a very good position! I can give all the best from my side to this hotel! 4+ star

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Dino_Passenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarajevo hotels
8.4 km away
Hollywood Hotel Sarajevo
Hollywood Hotel Sarajevo
#22 of 69 in Sarajevo
461 reviews
8.1 km away
Hotel Octagon
Hotel Octagon
#26 of 69 in Sarajevo
55 reviews
8.3 km away
Hotel Hecco
Hotel Hecco
#47 of 69 in Sarajevo
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 km away
Hotel Saraj
Hotel Saraj
#48 of 69 in Sarajevo
89 reviews
6.4 km away
Radon Plaza Hotel
Radon Plaza Hotel
#18 of 69 in Sarajevo
246 reviews
8.4 km away
Samm Seher Hotel
Samm Seher Hotel
#28 of 69 in Sarajevo
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel

Address: G. Josanica II /1 | Vogosca, Sarajevo 71320, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Region: Bosnia and Herzegovina > Sarajevo Canton > Sarajevo
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 69 Hotels in Sarajevo
Price Range: R718 - R1 366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3,5 star — Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing