We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique place in the Old Town”
Review of Sin Pretensiones

Sin Pretensiones
Ranked #2 of 46 Coffee & Tea in Montevideo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Cuisines: International
Description: Sin Pretensiones it's a friedly,nice and cozy restaurant to be with friends or family, in a calm atmosphere.
Restaurant details
Description: Sin Pretensiones it's a friedly,nice and cozy restaurant to be with friends or family, in a calm atmosphere.
Reviewed 24 August 2018

Not only the food is great, but also the place itself is amazing. You will be able to find antiques that are displayed as part of the decoration but also for sale if you are interested.
They also feature very unique and Uruguayan eating options, as well as beautiful and affordable gift boxes.

Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pato130761, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sin Pretensiones, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2018

Thank you very much Andrea for your nice comments, we await you again when ever you want, have a great week

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (359)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 359 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2018 via mobile

This place is a rare find and the interior decor is filled with rare findings. The vintage relics give you a sense of history and preservation for a quaint tea time. The menu offers items that only grandma could prepare. They custom combined the Napolitana sandwich and Veggie sandwich for me. The cappuccino with dulce de leche is over the top...I had to order an Americano along with it to dilute the richness. They also offer artisanal culinary products for purchase. I bought the Chimichurri spice mix.

Thank mitraship
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2018

A lovely place in the old town, very nice decoration, with many details that gives the place a charming ambiance. Staff is pleasant and attentive, although too busy when the place is full. It has some tables outside, also very nice. The menu focuses on being natural and original.....but sometimes the results fail. Cold shrimp pie is quite bad, pasta is below average. Apparently pizza and meat are good. Very narrow selection of beverages and desserts. A picturesque place, but food selection is a bit risky.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Silvia Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pato130761, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sin Pretensiones, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Thank you Silvia, have a nice week

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2018 via mobile

We were two couples looking for lunch, and we walked into "Sin Pretensiones", which turned out to be an apt name. Service was offhand, mainly because the place was humming and there were too few wait staff to give proper service. Seating was cramped and I could not escape the feeling that we were accommodating ourselves to the need of the staff and not vice-versa. The food on the limited menu was OK but nothing to write home about. Finally, the bill took so long to come that I finally went up to the till to pay. We won't go back here.

1  Thank Oparaxenos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pato130761, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sin Pretensiones, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

hi oparaxenos, you are such a delight person...be happy...if you can...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2018

Called here for lunch whilst on a tour of Montevideo. What a great find. The restaurant really original in style and worth just going in to look around. The lunch we had was delicious and if only we had left some room for home made deserts, which looked great! Our waitress was really pleasant and attentive and although her English was limited we had no problems being understood. What a little gem of a find!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Geoffrey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pato130761, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sin Pretensiones, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Good morning Geoffrey N, thank you very much to choose us, and for your nice comments...have a great week

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sin Pretensiones also viewed

Montevideo, Montevideo Department
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
 
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
 
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
 

Been to Sin Pretensiones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing