We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Montevideo, Montevideo Department

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Portuguese first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Journey64...
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect stay ”
Reviewed 9 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Roberto and Gabriela were more than accomodating as hosts. Our plane was delayed and we didn't arrive at the apartment until 2 am !! There was someone however waiting for us at this very unfortunate time of the night with a friendly smile and a run down of the apartment. A complimentary bottle of Uruguayan wine was well received after such a long flight and an opportunity to unwind. The location of the apartment was lovely - only a brief walk to the beach, beautiful parks, bus stop and two local corner shops. Air con in both bedroom and living room were appreciated during the hotter days. The kids slept on a generously sized sofa bed with trundle and ample sheets and blankets were provided. Roberto dropped off fresh towels and fresh linen during our almost two week stay. The apartment was spotless with a great balcony to sit and take in the beautiful views of the parks. The park also hosts markets on Saturday which were full of exiting finds!
The porters at the apartment's lobby were very friendly offering assistance with taxis, buses and giving Montevideo tips. We were extremely happy with our stay, we would highly recommend this apartment and specially this area as it is absolutely gorgeous and very safe. Loved it so much - muchas gracias Roberto y Graciela

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
evelynlar...
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“One of the best”
Reviewed 12 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015
6
people found this review helpful

We had not been to Uruguay before and really did not know anyone there so selecting a place to stay for about a month was a very important part of our trip. It was a decision that could make it or break it so to speak. I spent quite a bit of time on several websites looking at apartment rentals. There was gong to be only the two of us so that made it easier but speaking only English and some very rudimentary Spanish made it more difficult. I spent several weeks shopping. In the end we decided to go with this apartment. It was the right decision.

We knew we would not be renting a car so a central location was important. We knew that we would be walking a significant amount, as that is what we enjoy doing so the Rambala was important. We knew that we were relatively naïve and did not know enough to take any type of “risk” in choosing a location. We wanted to be able to get to a grocery store fairly easily, and an outside sitting area and Internet access was essential. This apartment met all of our requirements and then some. Location was fabulous! The apartment is across the street from a park that hosts a large farmers/craft/clothes market every Saturday and a smaller version on Tuesday. We gorged ourselves on fresh peaches, plums, tomatoes, potatoes, and peppers to name a few. Also purchased a necessary sun hat.

Other needed grocery items were purchased at one of two “mini markets” within a block of the apartment and if not available there we could walk the 5 blocks to a large grocery. It is all very handy. The apartment is located on a bus line—a number of routes to chose from. With the help of Antonio, the doorman, we took bus 121 to Ciudad Vieja (Old Town) and spent the day walking around there and then bussed back to the apartment. Perfect.

But with all that said, I have yet to mention the very best part of this apartment; our hosts, Roberto and Gabriella. Roberto met us at the apartment; he was prompt and very pleasant. There is a cell phone available for use but we communicated with him via email, which worked well. We needed to contact him because the bathroom light burned out—he was very prompt in coming over and fixing it although I had indicated to him that we were in no particular hurry. His response was that he wanted us to be happy. We also contacted him about getting a knife sharpened--he was over that evening to address the problem. He did say several times that they really like being in this business and want people to have a good experience and it clearly shows. They walk the talk. They provide a google map of places of interest that they put together as well as being available to ask questions or provide assistance. They researched golf course for us upon our request. They were also helpful in directly us to the bus station so we could take a coach to Colonia rather than go with a tour group. They were prompt in providing clean linens but also respected our privacy. Oh, and we locked ourselves out (don’t you have the key? No, I thought you did…) and Roberto quickly came to our rescue. We have rented a number of times and getting a good host is absolutely huge in creating a positive experience before, during and after your stay.

The only downside to this apartment was that we did not find the furniture to be particularly comfortable. The bed was good but the couch and chairs were not the best for us. Now this can be a problem but how much time do you want to spend in an apartment while on holiday? Also they weren’t so uncomfortable that we didn’t feel we could use them, just not as comfy as we would like. We have never stayed at a "perfect" place, it's reality and there will always be something that if it was yours you would do differently. All in all, this exceeded our expectations and that is why I rated it 5 stars.

The bottom line is that the positives greatly outweigh the one negative. We would totally trade off slightly uncomfortable furniture for a great location and suburb hosts.

I would absolutely stay here again….and again….and again.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Feb 2015
Thanks for the review, I hope you come back again and again and again... We say this not just for renting the apartment, it was wonderfull having you in Montevideo.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garypl
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable and a great location!”
Reviewed 1 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014
3
people found this review helpful

My son and I stayed here during a recent business trip to Montevideo. Roberto and Gabriela we're so nice to us - met us at the apartment and explained everything about the apartment and building. Overlooks a park that is always busy with people walking dogs, playing tennis, very nice area. It is a 5 minute walk to Punta Carretas shopping center and there are many good restaurants in the area. The bus stop is a couple of minutes walk from the apartment - very convenient.

I would definitely stay here again. Would have rated 5 stars except the fold down bed in the main room was not as comfortable as expected, although for children it should be fine.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borderhop...
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We loved it!”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The accommodation was in the perfect location for a family like ours.The surrounding neighborhood is very safe and family friendly. The apartment is most suited for a couple or 3 people, but Roberto & Gabriela kindly accommodated my wife & I with our 3 young children. With the extra bedding they provided us we were very content. The living area was spotless and the kitchen was fully stocked & perfectly suitable for our needs. The balcony provided us with a nice view of Parque de San Martin and the surrounding high rise buildings. The park below was very peaceful and clean...our children really enjoyed it. On Saturday morning the park hosts a large flea market with arts and crafts items for sale. We were a very short walk to the beach and the Rambla (beach front walkway in Montevideo)..it was literally around the corner! We found several good restaurants in the neighborhood & there are two small markets a short distance from the building. Even the neighbors on the 8th floor we met were very helpful and friendly. The location of the condo is about 5 minutes driving time to Parque Rodo. If your visit to Montevideo is short be sure to do the City Tour bus ride. The trip is good for 24 hours from the time you purchase your ticket. It stops at all of Montevideo's major sights. Don't miss lunch at Mercado del Puerto in the old port area. It's Parilla & wine Heaven (grilled meats cooked over a wood fire) ! Last but not least....our hosts Roberto and Gabriela were very kind and exceedingly helpful.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riotree
Poole
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very welcoming”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The place it's in a great location. Easy to walk to various restaurant, in the heart of posh Montevideo. We had a great time there. Everything at the apartment it's very functional, all the equipment and utilities works fine. Internet connections are good. We had a nice Bottle of red wine as a welcome gifts a pack of crispy and some other goods that we thought that was a very nice and kind gesture. We even had a pay a you go mobile phone to use. Overall we had a great experience and definitely we would stay there again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing