We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 08:00 - 20:00
Save
Review Highlights
Mágica experiencia Manu

Mágica Manu Experiencia! Pros +3 types of monkeys + 30 bird species + Amazing guide (knowledgeable... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
sarita_sol
,
Cusco, Peru
I made it , solo traveler in the rainforest on pandemia times !!

They have tailored a departure on short notice for me in April this year. I was doing some... read more

Reviewed 31 May 2021
C6501OLoliviah
,
San Francisco, California
Read all 60 reviews
  
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
55
4
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
55
4
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews manu park boat ride amazon rainforest tour company monkeys lodge expert guide peru sleeping cooks
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 60 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2015

Three of us went on the 6-day Manu Wildlife Tour on 2nd week of Sept 2015. Simeon was our guide, but a young bird-expert Jesus also came with us as a secondary guide (he was preparing for an excursion following ours). There's really not much to add to all the previous reviews - they really delivered all in the program. And anyone who's gone to this part of the would realise how easy it is to have something screws up, but amazingly, everything went smoothly. But special mention to Luisa our cook. Well prepared food for every one of our meals.

We didn't ask beforehand to look at anything in particular, but Luis Herbert did ask us about that during our meeting in Cusco. If you have something particular you want to see besides the obvious, you should let him know beforehand, and he seems keen to cater to his clients' needs.

We invested in new binoculars for our trip. We got a the compact Nikon Monarch7 8x30 and the Canon 10x30 IS. We found that while the bird expert Jesus uses a pair of 10x42, Simeon only uses 8.5x42. So, don't go all crazy with very high power binoculars.

For my camera, I took a Canon 7D2 with 70-200/2.8 and 1.4x extender. That gave a 35mm equivalent of 448mm. But trust me, it's still no long enough for birding, but that's what I have. If one has longer lenses, bring them. Or perhaps rent something like the Canon 100-400, Sigma 50-500 or 150-600, or 400mm prime, most of which are still hand holdable. But like others said, just able to see all the wildlife in person is great already, so make sure you bring or rent binoculars.

As for the itinerary, my wife did a lot of research before choosing Wild Watch Peru. Due to our Inca Trail start date and long traveling time from Hong Kong, 6 days was really all we could do; and that basically ruled out going into the park proper and the Manu River. But still, able to get back all the way from the Blanquillo Lodge to Cusco in one day via Boca Colorado does save time while visiting new places (as compared to many companies who backtrack). So, of the 6 days, really just Day 6 was travel-only, as we saw a lot on Day 1 already.

Date of experience: September 2015
1  Thank rkkwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wild Watch P, Manager at Wild Watch Peru, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2015

Dear Raymond.
Thank you for appreciating us on Tripadvisor and for your wonderful words and am glad that you had a pleasant time with us. The entire team looks forward to welcoming you back to Wild Watch Peru to create another memorable vacation for you.

All the best.
Luis Hebert Zuñiga
WWP Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2015

We went on the 4d3n Manu wild experience tour from Cusco. The whole trip was amazing - I couldn't believe the richness of the wildlife we encountered. Herbert was a great guide, pointing out and explaining everything for us with clear enthusiasm for the rain forest. Accommodation was pretty basic (no hot showers or electricity) but it is in the rainforest! We saw a huge number of exotic bird species including several species of parrot and parakeet at the clay lick, capybara and 3 species of monkey during our rainforest walks.

Date of experience: September 2015
1  Thank Clacie126
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 September 2015

Wild Watch Peru put together a great trip for the price. I looked at other tour companies and they were as much as three times more or did not go into the reserved zone. It appears that the expensive tours get slightly better accommodations but you're staying in the jungle so the difference is minimal. WWP put on a somewhat custom trip for the couple that I joined so maybe they can customize some portions for you and actually lists the differences in accommodation on their website.
Key points-
1) Javier is a great guide. He really knows is birds and can spot birds and animals quickly. He really enjoys seeing the wildlife too so he is always looking for stuff to see.
2) The park is hard to get to. Expect a long and scary drive from Cusco and a long boat ride to and from the park especially in the dry season. The small traditional towns along the way are a great look back into the old traditional Peru. This was really 4 1/2 days out of our 6 because of a bridge being out and very low water.
3) The boat ride is a good way to see a lot because the jungle canopy is thick making it hard to see the birds and animals. However, the river is wide so you need a telephoto lens and recommended image stabilization to get good pictures. I recommend 400 mm or more. You can rent lenses before getting to Peru if you do not already own. Just know that the boat ride is part of the park for seeing animals and not just a way to get to the park.
4) If you do not have a good zoom lens, bring or rent some binoculars. The jungle is not the best photo safari and binoculars helps you enjoy the trip.
5) Pay extra to get to visit the Reserved Zone. The travel to the park is difficult so pay to get to the pristine part of the park. This part of the jungle is so much better for wildlife.
6) Request an additional day in the Reserved Zone if possible (yes it costs more). Even if you walk the same trails, the animals move so you can get another great experience vs new trails outside the RZ.
7) Expect to see a lot more birds than animals. The jungle canopy is thick and animals can easily blend in. It is hard to take pictures in the dark canopy too.

I was on a 6 day tour and on our two walks in the Reserved Zone, we saw 6 different species of monkey more than once and the giant river otters for an extended time plus two snakes and many other creatures. Along the river banks of the Manu River we came across the caiman and pacu but not outside the reserved zone. Outside the reserved zone in two walks we saw one group of monkeys and a few other mammals. If you're into birds, request additional time in the cloud forest.

Date of experience: September 2015
1  Thank 809SteveB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 September 2015 via mobile

We are travelling in South America for 4 months and did a lot of research on where to visit the Amazon rainforest. We selected Manu for its pristine environment and huge biodiversity to maximise the chances of seeing wildlife. We did the 7 day nature and wildlife tour into Manu National Park and biosphere with Wild Watch Peru. The wildlife we saw made it all worth it - we were lucky enough to see a jaguar, black caimans, white caimans, nine types of monkey, capybaras, two types of snakes and over 150 types of bird. However make sure you take binoculars as we were really disappointed not to have them (after trying to organise them through Wild Watch Peru). Our guide Esau had a very good knowledge of the environment and animals, especially birds, and he has an unbelievable eye for spotting them.

Luis Herbert was responsive via email and was proactive in considering how a potential strike (the first ever and it was cancelled) and roadworks would affect our itinerary and put measures in place to overcome any issues.

Our boat team of Mario and Christian were extremely professional. Transportation by boat and van was also quite comfortable - however having read the website itinerary we didn't quite understand exactly how much time we would spend travelling: 3 full days traveling in and 3 days back out (we estimated around 54 hours). There were plenty of 5am and 6am starts, and long days travelling without many stops.

Accommodation at lodges was comfortable given the location and resources available. Food was filling but fairly basic. Consider taking extra snacks for early mornings / long days.

If you're into photography and go in without a zoom lens you will be disappointed as the wildlife is usually at a distance (as you would expect). Having said that we carried a standard lens (24-105mm) and got some decent shots.

In all we would recommend Wild Watch Peru. If possible it would make sense to spend more than a full day (plus two half days travelling the Manu River) in the National Park itself give how long the journey is. For us the best wildlife was on Manu river (and not Madre de Dios), again, in Manu National Park proper.

Date of experience: September 2015
2  Thank 800lesleyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 July 2015

We were allocated our own guide between the 2 of us meaning we could have the ultimate time seeing not only the birds but everything the jungle had to offer us. Herbert was fantastic and lived up to all the previous reviews on the trip. Our allocated guide "I" was one of a kind. Really fun, enthusiastic with fantastic English. Accommodation, especially on the first two nights, are unique and in an world of their own with a mixture of different environments. Food is delicious and freshly cooked. Overall cannot recommend a better experience than this in South America. 10/10 faultless.

Date of experience: July 2015
2  Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews