We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally out there!”
Review of PeruRail

PeruRail
Ranked #2 of 28 Transportation in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: .
Useful Information: Stairs / lift, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

We caught the train from Machu Picchu and it was great. The service was excellent and the waiter spoke great English and had a sense of humor. We later found out why.

Part way through the journey, someone dressed up in some crazy costume and pranks around the carriage to music getting people up to dance. Then they had a fashion show! It was amazing and crazy all at once.

Oh and the views were amazing!!!!!!

Thank delb0inz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeruRail, Marketing at PeruRail, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Hello delb0inz,

It was a pleasure to have you on board. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the wonderful landscapes as well as a pleasant moment with our entertainment on board, we strive for each of our passengers to have a unique and unforgettable trip. We are glad you took a great memory back home with you!


Greetings,

The Vistadome Team


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (12 819)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"fashion show"
in 948 reviews
"train ride"
in 591 reviews
"hiram bingham"
in 383 reviews
"observation car"
in 261 reviews
"machu picchu"
in 1 733 reviews
"peru rail"
in 396 reviews
"bar car"
in 204 reviews
"andean explorer"
in 204 reviews
"aguas calientes"
in 635 reviews
"orient express"
in 161 reviews
"large windows"
in 95 reviews
"dining car"
in 72 reviews
"luxury train"
in 98 reviews
"vista dome"
in 156 reviews
"hour journey"
in 90 reviews
"poroy station"
in 100 reviews
"return journey"
in 105 reviews
Filter

353 - 357 of 12 819 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

If you need to travel between Cusco and Puno, or vice-versa, then you must, absolutely, take Perurail’s Titicaca train.

The luxury, old-fashioned train leaves Cusco at 7am and arrives in Puno around 5:30pm. The whole experience was outstanding from booking it from the USA via email, to the superbly efficient boarding process at Wanchaq Station to the train ride itself.

The scenery is extraordinary, life taken at a slow pace, as the train travels through highlands, farmlands, by mountains and rivers, and through a few small towns. You experience Peru from a different angle, especially when the train goes directly through the marketplace in Juliaca.

The service on board is excellent, the food is delicious and the entertainment is lots of fun — the talented musicians, the colorful folkloric dancer and the fashion show of alpaca clothing.

There are only four carriages and each one is designed dining car style with generous tables and comfortable armchair seats. The toilets are spacious and very clean, the observatory and bar car are lovely places to relax.

This whole experience was worth every penny we paid.

Thank ysheer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeruRail, Marketing at PeruRail, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Hello ysheer,

We are glad to know you have enjoyed the experience aboard the PeruRail Titicaca train. There is nothing like the magnificent landscapes through the heart of the andes. Our team on board strives to give the best experience to our passengers. It makes us happy to know that you had a great time with our entertainment on board. Thank you for choosing us to live this amazing experience.


Greetings,

The PeruRail Titicaca Team


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

We traveled by PeruRail from Augas Caliente to Cusco and from Cusco to Puno via PeruRail. Our experience on both of these trips was delightful. The seats are comfortable and the staff are excellent. Especially, enjoyed the surprise entertainment which I won’t spoil by detailing. If you have the chance to take advantage of this classic mode of transportation by all means do so!

Thank Irwin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeruRail, Marketing at PeruRail, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Hello Irwin S,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience with us. We are happy that our service has met your expectations. We strive for each of our passengers to have a unique and unforgettable trip. We are glad to know you enjoyed our entertainment on board. We hope to see you soon!


Greetings,

The PeruRail Team




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Nice train, free luggage storage at the ollantaytambo office, decent service, comfortable seats, amazing views but bring your own adult beverages

Thank Jose G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeruRail, Marketing at PeruRail, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Hello Jose G,

Thank you for sharing your experience with our TripAdvisor community. Nothing compares to the magnificent landscapes of Cusco! We are pleased to know that our service met your expectations. We are happy to have been part of your magical experience to Machu Picchu.


Greetings,

The PeruRail Team



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2018

Took them to get to Aguas Calientes-Nice service. On the way back there was a fashion show with knit goods for men and women of predictable and good quality and reasonable prices-better goods than in the markets.

Thank psdunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed PeruRail also viewed

 

Been to PeruRail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing