We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (404)
Filter reviews
404 results
Traveller rating
138
176
55
17
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
138
176
55
17
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews firm mattress coca tea room was clean machu picchu above sea level the main square third floor eggs aguas calientes lobby servicio peru elevation teas oxygen soles
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 404 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2016

I stayed at the San Francisco Plaza Hotel as part of my trip to explore Machu Picchu. To be completely honest, I had extremely low expectations given the cost of my stay. I was not expecting the great service or clean, large room. I went with two other friends, so we got a triple occupancy room. I expected two beds, but there were three in the room along with a nice sitting area and a love seat. I agree with the other reviews; this hotel has two indoor courtyards and there was no exterior window for my room. With that being said, it was a bit loud at times when other guests were coming and going, but the hotel was beautiful.
The service is what made this hotel stand out in my mind. We needed more towels and help turning off the heater (no air conditioning unit), and each time we called, someone came to our room immediately. Also, when we arrived we ordered some drinks and they also arrived quickly. In addition, we went up to the rooftop to take in the spectacular views, and still were able to receive service. This was above and beyond what was expected since there was no bar upstairs, just a table and chairs.
Breakfast was some bread, meat, fruit, and cheese as another reviewer explained. It was served buffet style. There was plenty of food to keep you full before heading out to explore Cusco or journey on to Machu Picchu.
I gave this hotel a very good rating because the service was above and beyond, the rooms were nice, and the hotel is only a 5 minute walk to the historic square in Cusco.

Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Reesh15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CuscoJim, Director General at San Francisco Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017
Google Translation

Estimado Huésped,

Gracias por tomarse el tiempo de escribir este comentario, para nosotros es un placer servirle y nos sentimos felices de saber que tuvo una grandiosa estadía en San Francisco Plaza Hotel, hacerlo sentir en casa es nuestra tarea principal.

Estaremos atentos a su próxima visita.

Saludos cordiales.
Jimmy Cruz Pérez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2015 via mobile

I've stayed 3 nights at the San Francisco plaza.. At first, hotel is nice but when at the details, there's a lot of thing that needed to be fixed. I've been lucky because they upgrade me and give me a suite: large bathroom with an Italian shower and a jacuzzi ( you'll have to spend 40$ if you want to enjoy the jacuzzi), big bed and nice salon. The room was clean. Breakfast is very poor, so skip the hotel breakfast and go in the old city to taste the local food! Situation is perfect, you're only 10min walking from the old city and main square!

Date of stay: October 2015
Thank Accrosstheglobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CuscoJim, Director General at San Francisco Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017
Google Translation

Estimado huésped,

Permítame expresarle mi más sincero agradecimiento por tomarse el tiempo de escribir en el sitio web de Trip Advisor .

Agradezco que usted haya compartido su comentario con nosotros ya que su opinión es una herramienta valiosa para nosotros para la retroalimentación y nos animan a mejorar día a día.

He tomado nota con respecto a sus observaciones para ser corregidas a la brevedad posible.


Cordialmente
Jimmy Cruz Pérez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2015

So we stayed at 5 hotels in Peru (and 1 Airbnb). 4 of the 5 had windows looking out into the interior of the hotel. Either to an inside courtyard area or the lobby. Gazing out over the heads of tourists eating breakfast from the comfort of your bed must be a luxury for some people, but it was totally lost on me. What makes it especially annoying (being a light sleeper), is that the tour groups who hit breakfast at 6am combine for a caccaphanous clanking of forks, knives, and tea cups.

We stayed 2 nights, and experienced 2 rooms. The first night, our bathtub had a fuera de servicio sign (out of order), and the shower leaked water across the bathroom floor. The second night after we switched rooms was better. The shower only leaked a little water and I assume the bathtub was working, though never tried it.

There is a rooftop area with great views of Cusco. Check it out. We went up a few times during our two night stay, and never saw anyone else up there. 5th floor or so, and nice views at day and night.

Breakfast was 100% average. All the hotels we stayed at served totally mediocre breakfasts. It was food, but if you want good food, leave the hotel. Some breads, meat slices, cheese, fruit, etc. Peru has tons of delicious food options; however, this fact has apparently not made its way to hotel breakfast spreads.

Location is okay. A little further than our previous Cusco hotel. The oxygen challenges at Cusco's altitude makes the hill longer and steeper than it first appears. Service average too. If you're hungry, there was a great pollo a la brasa joint on the way to the plaza. If you're thirsty, there is a mini-shop up the hill for beer/water. Out the front of the hotel, turn left, walk up the hill to the next corner, and turn left. It will be on your right. The lady said they are open from about 7:30 a.m. to 11 p.m.

Room tip: If you want to watch people eating breakfast, ask for a room with that view.
Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnsdca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CuscoJim, Director General at San Francisco Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017
Google Translation

Estimado huésped,

Permítame expresarle mi más sincero agradecimiento por tomarse el tiempo de escribir en el sitio web de Trip Advisor .

Agradezco que usted haya compartido su comentario con nosotros ya que su opinión es una herramienta valiosa para nosotros para la retroalimentación y nos animan a mejorar día a día.

He tomado nota con respecto a sus observaciones para ser corregidas a la brevedad posible.


Cordialmente
Jimmy Cruz Pérez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2015 via mobile

Although at relative good location, it's several blocks away from restaurants, with an uphill walk back to hotel which can be tiring at altitude. Room was marginal with very poor lighting and noisy. I could hear person in next room going to bathroom!
Restaurant was also marginal it was so cold I had to go to my room to get a coat, waiter tried to start heater, but it was out of gas. You had to eat quickly before food got cold. I ate two dinners there because I didn't want to take hike uphill to the hotel after eating. Both meals including breakfast were truly uninspiring.

Date of stay: May 2015
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CuscoJim, Director General at San Francisco Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017
Google Translation

Estimado huésped,

Permítame expresarle mi más sincero agradecimiento por tomarse el tiempo de escribir en el sitio web de Trip Advisor .

Agradezco que usted haya compartido su comentario con nosotros ya que su opinión es una herramienta valiosa para nosotros para la retroalimentación y nos animan a mejorar día a día.

He tomado nota con respecto a sus observaciones para ser corregidas a la brevedad posible.


Cordialmente
Jimmy Cruz Pérez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2015

We spent three nights at this hotel and the overall experience is at best average.
Pluses:
Location is pretty good, approx. 15 minutes walk to Plaza de Armas
Nice covered courtyard for the restaurant and seating area
Staff was helpful when somebody in our group had health problems
Breakfast was OK with fresh fruit juices and a reasonable selection of dishes
Free good quality WiFi

Minuses:
Rooms do not have windows to the outside, just to the internal covered courtyards (maybe some rooms in the building in front have windows looking outside but all our group had inside windows). This is both claustrophobic and very noisy
Bathroom windows open on an internal ventilation duct which means smells and noises come in easily
There is no elevator, going up to the third floor can be quite tiring at 3,400 m above sea level
Single rooms were really small, difficult to find room for luggage by the bed
Furniture is old and minimal

Overall, would not recommend the place unless you get a really good price and plan to spend as little time as possible in the room

Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Vacanta_mare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CuscoJim, Director General at San Francisco Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2015
Google Translation

Estimado Huésped,

Muchas gracias por compartir su experiencia con nosotros, yo aprecio mucho sus comentarios ya que nos da la oportunidad de conocer su opinión sobre nuestros servicios. Yo creo que los comentarios de nuestros huéspedes son una herramienta poderosa para mejorar el servicio.
Me gustaría informarle de que tomamos nota de todas las cuestiones que usted ha mencionado. Había tomado acción sobre las cuestiones que menciono, las cuales ya fueron corregidas.
Gracias por mencionar el excelente servicio brindado por el personal, siempre dispuesto a ayudarlo en todo momento, también por destacar las características de nuestro hotel y por recomendarnos.

Cordialmente,

Saludos Cordiales
Jimmy Cruz Perez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews