We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Miguel Illescas Art Gallery
Save
Review Highlights
Unique artist

It is hard to convey the beauty and uniqueness of this artist’s creations. Awesome colors and... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
johnfoote
,
Cuenca, Ecuador
Creatividad al máximo

While walking to a local museum located on Calle Larga in Cuenca, we ran on this amazing art... read more

Reviewed 5 weeks ago
JuanchitoP1
,
Ambato, Ecuador
Read all 16 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Cuenca
from US$75,00
More Info
from US$79,99
More Info
from US$89,34
More Info
Reviews (16)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveller rating
15
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
1
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 16 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2018

I LOVE his work. I am not a huge art fan, but his stuff is really top notch. My wife fell in love with several of his sculptures, three of which now are in our home. I keep eyeing some of his wall hangings (kind of like "wall sculptures") and think we may add one to our walls before too long.

If I were a musician or bicyclist, there are numerous in each of those series that I would have on my desk at home too!

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank MindStorm00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIllescas, Propietario at Miguel Illescas Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2018

Thank you very much!, Is always a pleasure to receive you at our Gallery, I'm so glad you enjoy my art pieces... come back any time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017

I loved the great and intriguing art in this gallery -- some whimsical, other intellectually challenging.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank HopShallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

Great gallery space with fantastic interpretations of the charcaters - fish, sharks, turtles, iguanas and people. Beautiful colour development using some unique techniques. We met the artist for a conversation, and we were offered coffee and a rest of our weary feet after visiting the ethnic museum almost next door.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Lindsay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017

Migual Illescas is a world famous wood/metal sculpture. The vivid colors and his artistic talents are the best. I bought 2 large pieces (with a musical theme) plus amazing 4 art wear pieces. The gallery is incredible. Make sure to visit with Migual and the entire family.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank trudynew2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIllescas, Propietario at Miguel Illescas Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

Thank you very much Trudy, it was a pleasure to serve you, comeback soon.

Miguel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017

Miguel creates some of the most whimsical pieces from recycles metal and then adds colour - vivid enough to stop you and demand you take a look at the magical pieces. We are now proud owners of a number of his pieces and with he new gallery, he now can be displayed as he deserves!

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank ADragonFlyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIllescas, Propietario at Miguel Illescas Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

Thank you so much, we wil be glad to receive you any time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews