We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (461)
Filter reviews
461 results
Traveller rating
114
160
100
56
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
114
160
100
56
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop terrace the ground floor old town party bus travel agency downstairs private rooms are social hostel bed dorm other travelers common areas laundry service cotopaxi wifi carpedm taxi altitude valuables
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 461 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

This hostel came highly recommended in a travel blog I read were the author stated it was the best hostel she'd stayed in during her south america trip. In hindsight I should of have realised she's probably been paid to say that, either that or she'd been staying in dumps.
I stayed in a private room which had one tiny window the size of a smart phone that didn't open. The room smelt weird and just had an all together dingy feel to it.
Its also very loud at night, with annoying americans chanting PARTYY and just being all together unbearable. I think this hostel is more for you kids who cant handle their alcohol.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank zowbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018

To kick off our travels to Ecuador, we stayed the first set of nights at the secret garden Quito. Looking back at our stay, I cannot say it was impressive, great, or superb as is mentioned in other reviews.

We were not impressed by;
- sleeping quality. be aware; the place is VERY NOISY. If you are not really tired, do NOT expect to catch sleep before 12:00pm. There are walls, but these seem to be made of thin air
- the friendliness or professionalism of the staff; we learned that most of the (english speaking) staff are just fellow travelers who stick around for a few weeks/months. This clearly showed in terms of quality of the service
- the prices; it's not a cheap place to sleep, eat, or drink. Top tip: walk down the street to the T junction; there will be a 'cafe' on your right selling cheap breakfasts for less than 2$.
- the guests; most seemed to be extremely young doing their thing
- the cleanliness of our double room; it looked run down and not clean
- the night guard; the guy barely spoke English and was not really willing to help out in any way

Of course there are upsides to the hostel too:
- the view is great
- the staff speaks English
- you can arrange tours downstairs
- it's not difficult to get in touch with other travelers
- they work together with some local taxi drivers, thereby (trying to) assure that you are not being scammed (massively) in terms of pricing. We did note that we were still overpriced compared to using the meter
- There is a pickup service (for 28$) from the airport, although the hostel will take 3$. You can also ask local taxi drivers at the arrivals terminal to take you to the city center for 25$ - they will accept this too (as they will be making the same amount of money)

Summing it all up, we would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Arbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018 via mobile

I was there in november i slept 4 night and when i went to secret garden cotopaxi i realised i have been totally eaten by beds bugs. When i told the people there they didnt care and when i let a comment on hostelworld about this bedsbugs situation they suceed to erase this comment!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018

Fantastic rooms with extra blankets, beautiful decorative ambiance, free city tours with great guides, exceptional breakfasts, international clientel of all ages. We traveled from Vancouver Canada for a 5 week trip through Peru, Ecuador and Galapgos. This was by far our most favourite hotel. On the edge of old town on the hill and close to new town. If in Quito again will definately stay here. Amazing city view of old Quito from the upper floor roof top restaurant/bar.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helenI12ZT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

As a first time "hosteller" the apprehension
of what to expect what obviously anticipating.
Upon arrival it was immediately easy to see that thus was a clean, friendly and warm welcoming environment.
Started off in the lovely roof top terrace, where there is a bar that serves a variety of cocktails and is the hub for meet new people and sharing travelling stories. Here there is also a beautiful view of the city of Quito. You really do feel in the clouds.
Facilities- There are ample showing and bathroom facilities everywhere meaning I've never had to wait to use it.
The rooms are spacious, clean and pleasant with lockers inside.
Overall this place is impressive and a good hub to start your adventures around Quito.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews