We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$176
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$169
US$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$273
US$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Atton Vitacura(Santiago)
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$234
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Happy House Hostel(Santiago)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$41
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$189
US$172
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lastarria 43-61(Santiago)
US$95
US$79
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (328)
Filter reviews
328 results
Traveller rating
196
95
23
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
196
95
23
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshostel offersfree towelsaffordable place to stayrecommend hostalfantastic hostelkitchen facilitiesstaff were super helpfullarge lockersgood vibesother guestscommon areas arechilliprivate roombed dormperfect locationhome away from homebreakfast included
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 328 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Ended up back in Santiago unexpectedly and found a private room at Forestal. It was really comfortable, warm and perfectly located for sights and great eating / drinking spots. I’d highly recommend this friendly hostel.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
Thank keensontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostalsSantiago, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hostal Forestal, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Nice review keensontour!

Always the unexpected is better. We are glad to know that you had a very good experience and that you will recommend us to your friends.
And keep expecting the unexpected.
Hugs,
STAFF Hostal Forestal <3

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

This is a Hostal in the middle of the historic center and next to the Cathedral. Rooms are very old fashioned and in need of redecoration. I had a very small and shabby room with a shower in the corner. The wc was across the hall. The area is very noisy so you have to expect some noise from the outside even with a room at the back of the building. Also a lot of noise from the hall and the stairs. There is a bar on the ground floor. Wi-fi was very slow.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
Thank Masol1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostalsSantiago, Director de Recepción at Hostal Forestal, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Masol1,

Thank you for the review, but we think you got confused about Hostels. We are not next to the Catedral, neither in the middle of the historic center. And we don`t have a bar here :(
Be welcome to visit us anytime!
Big hug from the Staff HF :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018 via mobile

An amazing hostel, one of the best in all of Chile. I stayed here for a long time while waiting for a package to be delivered and the staff couldn't be friendlier, more helpful or any kinder if they tried. A great atmosphere in the hostel which is cosy, fun, friendly and very clean. Everyone that works there is amazing and I would just like to say thank you to Kass, Juan, Angel, Ben, Erica, and everyone else. Thanks for all the fun and I'll be back very soon

Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostalsSantiago, Director de Recepción at Hostal Forestal, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

James!
Thank you so much for the lovely review!
It was a pleasure having you around. We miss you already, and we hope you can get back to visit us soon <3
Be safe!
Big hug from each of us from the Staff HF :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for a few nights and are so happy we chose this hostel! The Brazilian lady at the front desk (can’t remember her name!) was outstanding, she goes above and beyond to help and is super friendly. The hostel location is perfect and in walking distance to everything you need. Rooms are big and clean, we even had a TV! Cooking facilities and BBQ are also great.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank rochelle2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostalsSantiago, Director de Recepción at Hostal Forestal, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

rochelle2468
Great review! Thank you so much <3
It feels great reading that, it was a pleasure!
The Brazilian lady name is Erica :)
We hope to see you again on another occasion.
Big hug from the Staff HF

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2018

We stayed a night in Hostal Forestal and decided to book it again on our return to Santiago. We liked everything -- the room, the social vibe, the location, the breakfast; but the main thing that stood out to us was the staff service at the front desk. The staff were super helpful for anything and everything -- booking really early taxis to the airport, getting bus and subway directions to a temple on the outskirts of the city, making homemade hot chocolate when the machine went down, etc. They also gifted us a free bottle of wine to thank us for re-booking with them, and we enjoyed the wine while relaxing in the lobby and chatting with other guests from around the world. It didn't matter who was at the front desk -- each staff member was friendly and helpful and went out of their way to make sure that we had everything we needed to give us the best possible experience. We would definitely stay here again if ever going back to Santiago! :)

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are a little quieter, if you want more distance for the social hub on the first floor.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndreaMariePerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostalsSantiago, Director de Recepción at Hostal Forestal, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2018

Amazing review AndreaMariePerry!

We are so glad to read that! Thank you so much :)
You should come back to have a good time with us at the hostel again <3
Hugs from the Staff HF

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews