We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (490)
Filter reviews
490 results
Traveller rating
52
134
159
63
82
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
134
159
63
82
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water dispenser hot and cold water dhoby ghaut rooftop pool hotel staff walking distance excellent location mrt stations business trip buffet breakfast somerset eateries
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 490 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2018 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel mainly because of the location on Orchard Road. While the location was OK, everything else was not. The carpet in our room was dirty and looked like it had never been vacuumed. The bed was dusty and again looked like they had never cleaned the place. The room was tiny, especially the bath room and our room keys hardly ever worked in the lift or to get into our room. After politely asking the staff for a new room key because ours weren’t working they gave us some and sent us back up. This happened 4 times going up and down the lift because none of them were working. By the end of our trip we had 5 cards because of this issue and staff weren’t helpful at all. On our 2nd night we had to change rooms because our air con stopped working. We were told someone would call us when our new room was ready. After an hour of no one calling us we phoned the front desk at 10.30PM and finally got a new room. Not that they helped us with our luggage or anything though. I definitely won’t be coming back to stay at this hotel. Do yourself a favour and stay near Marina Bay instead.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 853annaliesew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

This is exactly what we needed. Modest price for Singapore ($150 Aud). Facilities straightforward. Clean. Well serviced room. No frills. 9th floor had skyline view.
Pool looked good but did not use

Desk staff helpful. Usually a small wait as they have a lot of people to serve.
Did not try the breakfast because of advisor reviews.
Good location. Easy access to MRT.
Food stall eateries over the road.

Strongly recommend visit to Singapore Tourist office to identify what you might want to do and the tourist MRT card as cheap effective way to get around.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ian1406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

The only good thing about this hotel is location. And they do not have any customer service. All they want is money for everything.

Even with rooms available for early check in, they make you wait and say it's company policy and the duty manager said that company wants him to make more money.

Zero client satisfaction and service

Breakfast WAS REALLY BAD. No variety and the service standard was zero

Do not stay here ever.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Nitishsuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

This hotel is impressive on the outside. But inside is an other story. They have the porter trolles but you take your own luggage out if the taxi and to your room. Upon arrival at room there were no toiletries, House keeping gcaming and they made me feel like I was wrong for asking. Then the TV did not work. But they fixed . But for what. They had no channels for English speaking people. Not even HBO or movie chanel. There was no cold water supplied only a water dispenser that only gave hit or warm. The shower entry would have to be the most dangerous to people I have ever come across and I have traveled to many countries and I am in the building industry. This is very unsafe. Also the water in the shower goes from cold to extremely hot no matter what setting you have it on.
They don't give you swimming towels and you have to use bath towels and when you ask to replace these for your night shower (or scalding) they seem reluctant to do so.
Room cleaning each day is of a basic nature as toiletries seem to be only supplied on arrival as I had to ask for everything every day.
I would not recommend you to stay here as I do not think this hotel lives up to its star rating and customer service does not exist.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank traveleasy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

The Hotel Chancellor is in a great location , close to the bus station, shopping, and eateries. The Hotel room was clean and roomy enough for two people. Breakfast is an additional charge of $20 . The hotel lobby is small and crowded at times.

Date of stay: April 2018
Thank Carol N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews