We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delicious soup and food”

Song Fa Bak Kut Teh, Chinatown Point
Get food delivered
Ranked #232 of 15 060 Restaurants in Singapore
Price range: R 55 - R 184
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Central Area/City Area
Description: Established in 1969 from a pushcart along Johor Road, Song Fa Bak Kut Teh is a Singaporean restaurant chain that sells Teochew-style pork rib soup, or bak kut teh. Its mission is to preserve the dining experience of this heritage dish, ad it aspires to cultivate generations of people who will enjoy it. Today, Song Fa is favoured by old and young, locals and tourists, and it received its biggest endorsement in 2016 when it was awarded the Michelin Bib Gourmand. At Song Fa, the heritage of Bak Kut Teh lives on in its truest sense.
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

serves soup with various pig organs. the soup serves hot! and also refillable!
I tried lean meat soup, tried pig stomach, tried various the green leafy vegetables, groundnuts, dough fritters (a must to order!!), beancurd skin & braised pig intestines.

Date of visit: February 2016
3  Thank kprec
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1 032)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

215 - 219 of 1 032 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

Bakut teh is always fond by pork lovers, multi generation recipee but withstand their quality through out ages.

This resto runs by family, never runs out of queues, space were very tight but I'm not afraid of being wet.. Huge fans hanging on every corners, decoration still uses old schools, maybe it was just like that from their forefathers.

Serves pork as main dish, fishes and vegies are available but not alot. Ribs and loins are best for both standard or premium one. Uses only salt, garlic, and pepper as spices.

Service system were good, they part themselves into roles, greets & orders, spices & ketchups, cooks, deliveries, bills, and cleans.

They communicate eachother without difficulties, they uses comms instead of yelling in traditional chinesse dialect, and tablets and mini portable printers instead of papers with unclear writings.

I'm on 10m long queue, no more than 5 mins already being served with all our orders at the table.. Great job guys..

Date of visit: August 2016
3  Thank si_masbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

Just stay for 4 days in Singapore but i try here 3 breakfast! It open at 10 a.m. The staffs here very friendly. Especial they refill the soup in bak kut teh during your meal. Good food, nice service, acceptable prices.

Date of visit: July 2016
4  Thank MikeHorwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 August 2016

The bak kut teh here is actually good. Because the place is generally so busy eating here can be a very transactional affair - you come in, you order, food will be served promptly, you eat and you get out. I don't know about the hygiene levels though - some patrons actually leave the pork rib bones on the table itself! I don't know whether the cafe sanitises the tables after each customer

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank manspins
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 August 2016

The Bak Kut Teh that doesn't disappoints. Love the soup & big portion of pork ribs. Their sliced fish in bak kut teh soup was awesome too!

Date of visit: February 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Janelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Song Fa Bak Kut Teh, Chinatown Point also viewed

 

Been to Song Fa Bak Kut Teh, Chinatown Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.