We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great hospitality”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Bura Akay

Outdoor dining area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Outdoor dining area
White Beach Station 1 Porch
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
4 reviews
Outdoor dining area
White Beach Station 1
Porch
Cottage bedroom
Island boat
Kitchen
White Beach Station 2
Native cottage veranda
Fire dancers in white beach
New year fireworks in white beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Boracay, Malay, Aklan Province, Panay Island, Visayas

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

ig11201
Moscow, Russia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not a good option!”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
5
people found this review helpful

Located on the territory of three houses, two intended for rent. If you will live in the house next door the other tourists it is not comfortable. House of bamboo grim list of nutri, no furniture, no place to put things, very dirty and dusty! Air conditioning is very noisy old, in need of repair.
The second house had a stone at check-wipe cupboard, bed tables (very dusty, the impression that the house is not cleaned or when!). Hot water was not (broken electric!), We were offered to wash in the other house - it's ridiculous!. From the road to the house is very steep climb of 150 meters long!
Owner must think about cosmetic emonte!! Near and far better new home for the same money. Last year I lived in the DIWA house cost the same, but the quality of living is much higher! On the shore near the beach for the same Cost of hotel you can live, such as Microtel.
Sleep at night do not give roosters and dogs! If the cost was $ 50 per night, it would be understandable.
And yet, for such money could be organized free shuttle service from and to the airport, as many others do!

Date of stay: April 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2014
We are sorry that you are not happy with your stay with us. Our place is meant for guests who are prepared to live the local experience of living in a nature setting. Our cottage is not like a room in a building type accommodation where you wont hear the sound of nature from the outside. But we offer more privacy than a room next to each other in a building type hotel where you can even hear the TV in the other room or other noises the guests next door will make. Some people appreciate that we are far from the road, so they wont hear sounds of tricycles and other vehicles or be bothered by street vendors selling stuff to them. You just have to walk uphill which we always make our guests aware before making their reservation with us. By the way,walking promotes a healthy heart :)

We try to be more earth-friendly and sustainable and we expect our guests to do the same using resources like hot water and electricity in a responsible way. Our aircon have timers and shuts off based on the number of hours you set it to. Boracay island is in a tropical environment so we guarantee that even without hot water you will never freeze unlike in places where it is much colder. If you had requested to be transferred to a cottage with a working hot shower, that would be ok with us because at the time of your stay it was vacant.

Your comment regarding the price of accommodation is not something we can control because if you stayed on a peak season like summer and major holidays the price is not the same if you could have stayed in slow months of June to November. As an example, a room in Vegas can cost $500 a night if you happened to stay there for New Year. The market dictates the pricing and whatever profit we make allows us to invest in the maintenance of our place.

Anyways, we could have helped you address your concerns if you have made us aware of it during your stay. Just e-mail us next time and we might be able to give you a discount in your next visit to Boracay island.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kmcoyle
Westford, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
414 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff -- but the location was not for us...”
Reviewed 3 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013
5
people found this review helpful

The good:
- The staff at Bura Akay was outstanding. It started with our 6:30AM airport pickup and continued until we checked out a day earlier than planned. They could not do enough for us and always with a smile. When we told them we wanted to check out early, there was no hassle, no argument, just gentle agreement and help to get us relocated to the different location. We were not even charged for cancelling.
- The cottage was spacious and nicely decorated.
- TV had a TON of channels.
- Outside veranda had a nice little sitting area with a view of the garden and lots of greenery,
- Shower pressure was great.
- They gave us a cold bottled water every morning to bring to the beach. Very sweet!

The not so good:
- Shower ran out of hot water quickly. There were 3 of us: The last person always ended up with the cold shower.
- Breakfast was very nice with a lot of variety. Fruit & juice was great. Yummy bread for toast. great pancakes, but eggs were always served cold. Eggs were prepared ahead then placed n the table wrapped in plastic.
- Air conditioner was erratic and would turn off during the night.

The reason we checked out earlier than planned:
- Bura Akay is just not convenient to the beach: and that's why we came to Boracay. Not their fault: it says it clearly in the property description, But it was more remote than we expected. The beach and area restaurants were in waking distance, but a bit of a long walk, especially in the heat. This would be a good spot for someone who needs some "alone" time: maybe to write a book or just read. We were able to locate a property right on the White Beach that had availability.
- Local "wild life": Every night was an adventure. In the room we found frogs and BIG spiders. My husband killed the spiders but we could not find the frog. Darned frog was so loud at one point we had to turn up the TV. LOL...and outside noise was constant. Dogs barked constantly up until midnight. That's when the roosters would take over. My husband and our friend both had a hard time sleeping through the racquet! Guess we are just city people. Again, not the fault of Bura Akay, but just not workable for us.

Date of stay: February 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The staff was AWESOME: Could not do enough for us. Early checkin, served us yummy breakfast the day we arrived, airport pickup at 6:30AM!
Liked least: Dogs barking until midnight, then the roosters crowed ALL NIGHT. Noisier than New York city!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Mar 2013
Thanks for the good and bad review. We could have addressed some of it if you have told us your concerns. Anyway, we aim to please so we made some changes to the things that we can improve on.

Just to let you know that our A/C has a timer so it will turn off based on the number of hours you set it to. We are not aware of your concerns early so we are not able to address it when you were here and helped you out on this issue. We will post a note so the next guest will know how our A/C operates.

Hot water is something we do provide but our system is not for heavy duty usage. If there are a lot of you in the room, you can take turns and have a 10 minutes break for each person. Our water heater does not have a tank to store hot water but we can always heat up extra water for you if you had requested.

We made changes to cooking eggs, we will only cook them when ordered. Thanks for pointing that to us.

As in any island, we do have insects. Frogs are not common in the island so i have a feeling the sound you heard was from a cricket. Crickets do make a sound at nightfall but we could have taken it out for you if you had pointed that out to us. Roosters do crow at dawn and common in the islands, but we don't have roosters in our neighborhood so it must be very far away from us. Dogs do bark but only when bothered but i don't think that's near our neighborhood also. We are way up in the hills and not close to other residents so we don't know why you heard dogs barking when you were here.

Most of the time, people stay with us because they want to be away from the crowd, noise and want more privacy. We are sorry that were not able to meet all your expectations but we can always make improvements.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Reviewed 9 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

Date of stay: December 2012
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Jun 2014
It's good to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We love to have you back in the future and the kids who don't mind the trek going up the hill. You were right, they are stronger for their age. We compensate our remote location by giving our guests a very personalize service based on their needs. It's just a matter of planning and letting us aware in advance. Thanks for your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CA
Reviewed 11 August 2012 for a stay in May 2010
2
people found this review helpful

Date of stay: May 2010
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.