We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Genieten/Enjoy”

Review of Villa Bougenville

Front view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front view
Verandah Pool view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
28 reviews
Front view
Verandah
Pool view
Kitchen and verandah
Toilet and bath room
Toilet and bath room
Parking area
Aley from May Jend. Sutoyo Street
Parking area and Pendopo Limasan
Front view
The gate
Double room
Twin room
stone wall
Gazebo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Yogyakarta, Java

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Gijs v
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Genieten/Enjoy”
Reviewed 23 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The villa is located in the city. Close to Prawirotaman and Kraton, in walking distcance. But when you are in the villa or at the private pool you hear only birds. We enjoyed our lovley stay due clean rooms and the private garden with pool. Good breakfast, fast WiFi and great service made it a excellent stay.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2016
Dear Mr Gijs v,
Thank you for staying with us and send our greetings to your adorable kids and lovely family ^^
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EvaWbe
Leuven, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
“Best place in Jogja!”
Reviewed 29 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Just a 5 minute walk from the tourist area of Prawirotaman, but oh so peaceful. We stayed in a couple of other places before staying here, we wished we had stayed here from day 1. Everything is clean, personnel is very friendly, garden offers a nice getaway from the busy streets of Jogja. Slept very well. Breakfast was a bit on the small side, but since we had a fridge and a little kitchen, this was quickly solved. Personel is taking English classes, so service will only improve in our opinion. One downside: it's very hard to find, but if you call ahead, I'm sure they will send someone to meet you at the main road.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrVan2014
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Below expectations”
Reviewed 19 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

From the website description and reviews on tripadvisor this villa sounded like the ultimate destination in Yogyakarta. However, once we were there we noticed some shortcomings. It was not all bad though, here are some pros and cons:

Pros:
- located in a peaceful area of Yogya away from the traffic, but close to sights
- nicely designed villa with two ensuite bathrooms
- nice pool of decent size

Cons:
- this is not a private villa in an enclosed/walled area, the villa is part of a bigger complex with 5 guest/backpacker rooms, and a 'pondok'/restaurant area - the website does not make mention of this, so if you are looking for a private villa then this is not for you
- the pool is also not private, it is shared with the other guest rooms
- the staff is not very service minded - for example we had to ask for additional toilet paper on one night (it was not as standard available in the bathroom), it was not clear whether there would be daily cleaning (we asked and they did clean it, but when on vacation I don't want to ask...)
- there was building work going on next to the villa, and because the villa is not walled in the workers could (and did!) stand and stare at us while we were having breakfast causing us to feel very uncomfortable

Recommendations for the owner:
- put in 1 or 2 daybeds on the veranda of the villa, people come here to relax, and sitting at a dining table to read a book or relax with friends is not our idea of a relaxing evening
- daily cleaning of the villa and clean towels everyday - without having to ask for it
- extend the wall to enclose the complete villa
- invest in a realtime booking/availability site - it was very hard to make the reservation and we when we did we were told that somebody else had already booked one of the nights that we wanted to stay there...a decent availability tool would have saved us a lot of hassle

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: lack of privacy
Travelling group: Kleine kinderen
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Nee.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandertjj...
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic place!!!!!”
Reviewed 3 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We loved staying in villa bougenville. We stayed for three nights. We would love to stay longer. It is extremely suitable for a family with kids. The swimming pool is clean and big enough. The rooms are all en suite and the beds are lovely. Breakfast is poor. Just eggs (the way you want) some bread with condiments. The last morning we asked for fruit. The went to the market for us.

The area around the villa is lovely. Everybody is very friendly. Lots of restaurants. We travelled with a becak and horse and carriage to all the visitors sites. For 20.000 rph to malioboro street with a becak. They can arrange trip to borobudur and prambanan. We payed 500.000 rph (40 euros) for sunrise at borobudur. And after to prambanan. We were picked up at 3 am.

We would love to come back to yogya and villa bougenville!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ive_Been...
Darwin, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great spot in Yogya for a family vacation”
Reviewed 7 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

This is a great spot to stay in Yogya, near to some good restaurants and attractions, near a main road to make travelling easier and central to the city.

Beautiful and quiet, with a gorgeous garden to be enjoyed from the swimming pool, loungers or outdoor dinning tables.

There is a full kitchen (no oven), this is used by staff to make breakfast, we didn't use this at any other time as we were constantly out exploring.

The staff could use a little bit of training in the kitchen as scrambled eggs were made one plate at a time, rather than as a whole batch to be served. It's very important to be explicit as to what you want, fruit, (white/brown/chocolate!) bread, yogurt, coffee, tea ect. The more direction and the more clear you are the better the service, and if you want bacon and pancakes expect to be in the kitchen yourself.

This place was simply a wonderful place to stay with parents and grandparents visiting from overseas. Much more personal and private than a hotel and it was great to come back from a day out to place that felt a bit like a home.

Hot tip, turn your water heater up and don't have showers at the same time as anyone else as water pressure is an issue.

We would definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being able to be together in one place and in private
Liked least: Having to organise staff to organise breakfast
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing