We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (368)
Filter reviews
368 results
Traveller rating
203
97
42
10
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
203
97
42
10
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews oxygen lounge beautiful hotel horizon club potala palace high altitude the executive lounge free oxygen altitude sickness horizon room every amenity concierge desk open hours excellent facilities mountain view dinner buffet restaurant staff speak english
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 368 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2018

Excellent hotel with some minor problems. The room lights are pretty, but not placed well for either reading or seeing yourself in a mirror. (The best place to read was siting on the bathroom floor.) This problem seems to be common to Shangri-La hotels who must share the same decorator. Difficult to drag our wheeled suitcases over the contoured carpets between the elevators and the room. During checkout we found that the restaurants do not efficiently communicate charges to the front desk. We spent a lot of time getting the payment right.

Room Tip: Stay near the elevators if possible. The carpets make it hard to drag your suitcases.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Concord_MABill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
communicationsslls, commmunication at Shangri-La Hotel, Lhasa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest,
Warm greetings from Shangri-La Lhasa!
Thank you for providing survey feedback on your recent stay. If on one side I truly appreciate the overall excellent rating you have given us. On the other, I am sorry to read that you have experienced regarding during checkout you spent a lot of time getting the payment right.and I would like to extend a sincere apology for all the inconvenience you went through.
Dear guest, should there be any requirement for your future visit in Lhasa, please do not hesitate to contact us as we would be more than happy to make arrangement for you and welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely
Shangri-La Hotel Lhasa Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

We booked a Potala View room which wasn't as spacious as I expected for the grade but it did indeed have a view of the Potala Palace and had everything we needed, apart from a bath, only a shower. It included access to the club lounge which is the largest I have ever seen though we only used it for breakfast rather than trailing downstairs. Very good buffet for a lounge and eggs cooked to order. We ate dinner in all the restaurants in the hotel and they were all good. The lobby lounge is very elegant and a comfortable place to sit to have tea and a delicious cake from the cake counter. The location is not really walkable to anywhere, we tried walking to the Potala Palace just for some exercise but it was too hot, too far and a boring walk so we gave up! The man at the gate got us a taxi on another occasion but it took a while as it is a busy main road, not really an area where taxis cruise.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank MyrtleWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
communicationsslls, communicationsslls at Shangri-La Hotel, Lhasa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest,
Warm greetings from Shangri-La Lhasa!
Thank you for providing the survey feedback on your recent stay. I was very delighted to read that our team was able to deliver to your expectations. You have been so generous in extending such nice words on our hotel both in terms of our services and products, which we truly value and appreciate very much as it is no doubt a great encouragement to each of us in our continuous efforts to improve and maintain our standards. We will be sharing your favorable comments with our colleagues which come as a result of their hard work.
Dear guest, should there be any requirement for your future visit in Lhasa, please do not hesitate to contact me directly as I would be more than happy to make arrangement for you personally and welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely
Shangri-La Hotel Lhasa Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

Similar to the Shangrila we have been staying before: bedding, pillows, amenities etc...
We stayed in Potala view suite. Beautiful rising sun in the morning.
Food nice, evening buffet is offering everything you need.
Breakfast at horizon lounge is quiet and good.
To improve house keeping...
And better if you speak Chinese, English is limited.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
Thank mykim c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
communicationsslls, communicationsslls at Shangri-La Hotel, Lhasa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest,
Warm greetings from Shangri-La Hotel, Lhasa!

Thank you for providing your stay experience with us and we greatly appreciate you describing the hotel and the oxygen bar!
On the other side, I would like to extend a sincere apology for the inconvenience you have experienced regarding the staff English skill during your stay. We are a company that believes in quality and feedback like yours will certainly help us in improving in our service commitment to guests! Your comment been shared addressed with the whole team here. Rest assured we have been proceeding English training to all our staffs, ensuring their effectiveness and professional performance!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Shangri-La hotel Lhasa.
Sincerely
Shangri-La Hotel Lhasa Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018

The Lhasa Shangri-la hotel is a part of the International Shangri-la hotel chain.it is located at the Nprbulinka road in Lhasa ,the hotel about 10minute walk to the Potala palce and 5minute walk to Norbulinka and Tibet museum.it is super standard and comfortable accommodation hotel in Tibet.

Stayed: May 2018
Thank tibetanstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
communicationsslls, communicationsslls at Shangri-La Hotel, Lhasa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest,
Warm greetings from Shangri-La Lhasa!
Thank you for providing the survey feedback on your recent stay. I was very delighted to read that our team was able to deliver to your expectations. You have been so generous in extending such nice words on our hotel both in terms of our services and products, which we truly value and appreciate very much as it is no doubt a great encouragement to each of us in our continuous efforts to improve and maintain our standards. We will be sharing your favorable comments with our colleagues which come as a result of their hard work.
Dear guest, should there be any requirement for your future visit in Lhasa, please do not hesitate to contact me directly as I would be more than happy to make arrangement for you personally and welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely
Shangri-La Hotel Lhasa Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018 via mobile

While in Lahasa and on pilgrimage to Kailash, this hotel is outstanding, even for business stay I would recommend it. Although the front road was under construction the staff took all the precautions to make our stay very comfortable. First time in my life I saw oxygen room

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank HrideshSharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
communicationsslls, communicationsslls at Shangri-La Hotel, Lhasa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest,
Warm greetings from Shangri-La Lhasa!

Thank you very much for providing the feedback on your recent stay and we were delighted to know that our hotel and service was able to deliver to you and your friends expectations! I have shared your excellent comment with our team here and this will definitely encourage us to deliver the Shangri-La experience consistently each and every time!

Should there be any requirement for your future visit in Lhasa, please do not hesitate to contact me directly as I would be more than happy to make arrangement for you personally and welcome you back in the nearest future!

Sincerely
Shangri-La Hotel Lhasa Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews