We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (98)
Filter reviews
98 results
Traveller rating
28
38
15
5
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
38
15
5
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews laundry done western food rooms are comfortable potala palace artifacts yuan lobby decoration
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 98 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2018

Hotel is not for westerners!!!
We stayed for three nights and had a horrible experience. Hotel is dirty. Breakfast is terrible. The hotel itself is like a museum and it's beautiful but I do not recommend anyone to stay there!!!

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Resort827439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

If you do not want to read the whole story, here the short version: Basically the staff is unfriendly, not polite and in some cases even rude. Hotel does not have or provide any services like other 4-5 star level hotels. Rooms are not clean(ed) and hotel restaurant does not have many of the dishes which are on the menu card.

Long version:
We arrived before diner time at the hotel, as we were tired we thought to eat in the hotel restaurant. When we arrived at the restaurant, they told us that we could not have diner as there will be a big group eating there and all tables are reserved. We past several times the restaurant but there where only a few tables being used. When we complaint, they provided us a table for 2 persons but we could only get soup with noodles as they were too busy (we still do not know with what). Next morning, we expected some great breakfast, but they had only Chinese breakfast, no bread, yogurt, or any other European/continental food. We both do not like to eat Chinese “diner” at breakfast. Also we were not allowed to sit at some of the empty tables, seems they like to put us far away from the Chinese/ Tibetan guests. We eat only bananas. After a long day, we came back to our room around 15:30 and the room was not cleaned at all. When we politely requested if they can clean it now, the reaction was that they were too busy, which is strange as there were not a lot of guests in the hotel. When I requested that I want to talk to the duty manager, they started to provide many excuses that he is not around or was in a meeting. When I insisted to speak with the duty manager, they suddenly told me that he/she does not speak any English so they will inform him/her and they apologized and started to clean the room directly. Cleaning the room seems not there speciality. It was done in 5 minutes, bed was made up, coffee cups where put back in the cabinet but they where not cleaned, room was not hovered as the sand from previous guest was still visible on the carpet, toilet/ bathroom was also not cleaned etc.. etc.. In the evening we were going back to the hotel restaurant as many of the restaurants outside are not on walking distance from this hotel. We choose something from the menu but they did not had the ingredients, we went through 11 dishes and finally I asked them what they had in the kitchen. they told us what they could only prepare 3 dishes of the whole menu card of 40 dishes. Seems even making one of these 3 dishes was very difficult. They also did not had any bottle or can drinks. Hot water or black tea was the only option. Also we need to pay with cash as they will not put it on the hotel bill.

Next morning, we requested an extra blanket at the reception as the room was cold. They did not understood us ( or thy did not want to understand us). When the guide arrived, we asked him for help. When he requested for an extra blanket, the reception start shouting to him and the whole situation started to be unpleasant. The guide told us later that we should inform our travel agent that they should not use this hotel anymore as he received many complaints from other guests.

Hotel itself has great potential, although from outside it looks very simple but from inside it is more a museum with great artifacts. It is only pity that the staff and management are not able to run a hotel. They are unfriendly and have no idea how to provide services. They are in some cases even rude. I expected at least for a 5 star hotel that the basics are in place and that customers are not been treated as garbage.

Anyway, we will not comeback to this hotel and restaurant and we will inform our travel agent.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 271frankk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

Definitely a 2 star hotel. Filthy brown water out of taps, air con wasn't even turned on at source so obviously didn't work in rooms. Latch on window broken had to prop open with a plastic water bottle. Room small, Q's bed shoved hard up against side wall, carpet filthy, not all lights worked and those that did were so poor we had BB to use torches. Food poor and highly spiced with chilli, curry etc. Would not recommend. Evidently built by a man who made money out of owning supermarkets and wanted BB to diversify. Perhaps he could attend to some necessary repairs and a big refurbishment. Even towels had holes in them. Avoid.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank judithmjohnston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

Our group stay to this hotel only 1 night.
- Air condition is not work
- We call to reception about air con, they suggest "Why not open the window"
- The cold water in bathroom is red with silt. After 5 min flow, nothing better. We have to open the hot water and waiting 1H before it's cool enough for bathing.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArtMonsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2018 via mobile

This is a 2* hotel. It is very poorly managed and really does not cater for western or European tourist. It target market is mass Chinese tourist market.
Issue with this hotel include:

Breakfast is very poor Chinese style breakfast - it doesn’t provide any western style breakfast at all. The best you will get is a 10 minute boiled egg and it will be cold. There was no fresh fruits or yoghurts.

The hotel has a very nice foyer but the rooms are in very poor condition. Carpet is worn, no hot water, very poor water pressure, the air conditioning didn’t work, the room needed maintenance - the bathroom cabinet door should have been replaced 5 years ago, even with the windows closed the curtains swayed in the breeze blowing through the gaps. The room lighting was so poor it was necessary to use a torch to read, unpack your bags and generally find things in the room.

The laundry slip said same day service. Laundry put in at 8;30am was not returned for 2 days. The laundry had to be left at reception because the laundry service was closed. They actually had to go looking for it when it still had not been returned by 6 pm the following evening. At first they bought someone else’s laundry suggesting it was mine.

Please consider carefully as this place is likely to disappoint.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 11Ariki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews