We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (610)
Filter reviews
610 results
Traveller rating
361
125
68
39
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
361
125
68
39
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews potala palace spg platinum two sinks main lobby beautiful property management team language barrier public spaces luxurious hotel in house view room local tibetan rooftop bar hotel lobby the hotel manager visit lhasa dinner buffet
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 610 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2018

The only reason I did not give this hotel five stars is that most of the staff does not speak any English at all. Apparently, about 40% of clients are Tibetan, 60% are Chinese and there is only a sprinkling of western tourists,However, all amenities are excellent, the breakfast is also very good, the wifi works well. Do not fail to ask for the service of blind masseurs - it is absolutely excellent. It is also conveniently located.

Room Tip: in the main building
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Viktor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018 via mobile

If you are staying in Lhasa, this hotel is the best location. It is within walking distance of many downtown sites, and a comfortable place to allow your body to adjust to the altitude. The breakfast buffet is quite good and the restaurant offers many tasty options. We had a very spacious suite that allowed us to spread out. The view of Portola palace is excellent.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank jeffinsearchoffun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018

Positives:
1) Love traditional Tibetan architecture of the hotel
2) Amazing views of snow-capped mountains and magnificent the Potala Palace from the hotel lobby
3) Walking distance to many main attractions, shops and cafes
4} Centrally located
5) Specious rooms with comfortable beds
6) Luxury gold layered Iridium Spa and Pool
7) Delicious food in Yan Ting Chinese Restaurant

I was reluctant to give 5 Star rating due to the following reasons.
1) St Regis brand is misleading!
2) Hotel maintenance: POOR
3) Staff interactions: certainly, this is due to lack of training to build confidence in staff or hard to find the right people to do the job?
4) Food quality in "Social" All Day Dinning restaurant is not up to standards (not sure if I expect too much coming to Tibet)

Room Tip: overlooking the water
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank KumarDaCritique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018

Echoing the sentiments of other reviews on tripadvisor, the St. Regis Lhasa is a potentially great hotel that is still a little rough around the edges. However, considering that this is Tibet, I think that this is the best hotel in Lhasa as far as location, value for money, and hard product.

I stayed in a Potala Palace view room and was generously upgraded by Jimmy Wang, the GM. He also went out of his way to help me when I was having some serious issues with my tour company guide not showing up. He spent a good hour on the phone with the tour company sorting the problem out and getting them to finally send a guide. His kindness and helpfulness is a huge asset to this property.

Another staff that stood out is Lisa Li, a hostess at ‘Social’, the restaurant where breakfast is served. She would bring coffee and made-to-order eggs to my table even though it is self-serve usually. She’d also go out of her way to check on me and seemed to genuinely wanted to provide guests with the best experience possible.

One of the head doorman, Sonrique, is also the BEST person to seek out if you are a native English speaker and need any help as an he seems to be the most fluent in English among the entire staff. He also seems to just get us Westerners (whereas some of the staff will just give you puzzled looks and confused eyes) when you request things in a quick time frame.
He ordered me a DiDi taxi on his own app when I needed a taxi during rush hour and would have been near impossible to flag one down on the street. I also would seem him dropping everything to help guests with their luggage where as some staff seemed they couldn’t have been bothered.

Location-wise it is great! About a ten minute walk from the bustle of Barkhor street. Also a very close taxi ride to Potala Palace. There is a supermarket less than 200 meters from the entrance.
Bathroom amenities are Remedie.

Among the weaknesses of the hotel, the wifi was spotty the entire time I was here. It was perfect the one night I stayed at the nearby Shangri-La hotel so its not a fault of the area, being in Tibet.
Second, everything you request will take a long, long time. Like longer than you can imagine. Room service can take as much time as it would to just go out eat and return. I requested an extra body wash that was delivered 50 minutes later. When I was having internet issues and called the reception, I finally decided to walk to the lobby an hour later and crossed paths with the IT staff making their way to my room.
Third, some of the staff at the reception (basically all the female staff) seem like they can’t be bothered to help and will literally give you dirty looks if you request anything. The male staff are perfectly pleasant and happy to help though!
No espresso machine even in suites. Minibar is very sparse. They do provide oxygen cans in room.
The room is beautiful but can use a bit of upkeep but nothing that is too serious. There was a slightly unpleasant smell coming from my bathroom.

There are some service issues but considering the standards are not as high in Tibet as they might be in big cities, it is to be expected. I stayed at the Shangri-la for one night and experienced similar issues there. I believe that the St. Regis is the best property in Lhasa and would definitely recommend it to my family and friends.

Room Tip: Reserve a Potala Palace view room. Seek out Sonrique for any help!
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Wanderlust868686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2018 via mobile

Great amenities and modern decorations at the lobby and in the room. Able to see Potala palace from afar at the hotel lobby which was nice. Extremely value for money considering the brand name. Breakfast quality can be improved but considered good given the location. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone going to Lhasa.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank chuatumtum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews