We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (144)
Filter reviews
144 results
Traveller rating
85
44
11
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
85
44
11
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tibetan style old town modern comforts hot water boutique hotel tibetan hotel muesli shambala palace jokhang temple tibetan guide fixtures and fittings unique decor rooms are beautifully decorated highly recommend this beautiful hotel fellow guests beautiful roof garden great boutique
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 144 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2018

Really friendly staff and probably has the best restaurant in Lhasa. A little rough - if you need a modern-type hotel, you probably won't like this one. The whole place seems to be authentic Lhasa - stone floors, old Tibetan furniture, wooden push latch on door with a padlock. The old Lhasa alleys and markets are right outside the front door. Again, this is not a modern hotel - the shower (no bath), toilet and lavatory are all inside the same concrete block small room. Lighting is sparse (a lamp on one side of the bed). Beds are comfortable and there is plenty of electrical outlets. No elevator. No safe. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bahjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2018

We booked a tour with Tibetan Guide (which we can also highly recommend) and part of the tour was staying in this hotel. Upon arrival the owner of the hotel welcomed us with a cup of tea and we immediately felt at home. The owner speaks English very well and we had some nice conversations. We stayed in two different rooms (the first three nights of our tour, and the last night when we got back to Lhasa before taking our flight back home) and both rooms were beautifully decorated in traditional Tibetan style. Also, the rooftop terrace is amazing!

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Liesbeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

We spent about 10 nights at House of Shambhala in July and were totally pleased. Fantastic location; wonderful, friendly, helpful staff; the best restaurant we encountered on our trip! Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018

Well located in Lhasa old city, the rooms are superbly decorated, each with a unique decor. The bathrooms are immaculate. The restaurant ambiance is just as good as that of the rooms. Wifi throughout. The reception staff are cordial, polite, pleasant, kind, and very helpful. Thanks for making our two stays in Lhasa such a pleasure.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LMilich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

If you're looking for something different and authentically Tibetan, this is the place! It is a small, really cool hotel, boutique in size and fully Tibetan in design and style. Staff are very accommodating, very pleasant and friendly, rooms are interesting and attractive in style. Great wifi, a nice little comfortable restaurant in the main entrance and walking distance to the Old City. The beds and pillows are a bit hard by western standards so if a very hard mattress isn't your thing, you can ask the staff to put an extra layer of padding on the bed for greater comfort. Breakfast is simple, but nice. They offer the same thing every day....eggs, tsampa (local barley porridge), rice porridge, toast, and muesli and fresh fruit. They also offer traditional butter tea, black and green teas, orange juice and coffee. For lunch and dinner, the menu offers a variety of Tibetan, Nepali, Indian and Chinese foods. Very good food! All in all a really cool Tibetan hotel in the heart of the Lhasa and the Old City! Loved the place!

Room Tip: I think all rooms are unique. Enjoy!
Stayed: July 2018, travelled solo
1  Thank Jeffrey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews