We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (243)
Filter reviews
243 results
Traveller rating
26
103
80
16
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
103
80
16
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jokhang temple tibet vista tour companies simple english well appointed and comfortable tourist hotel high tech minute walk tibetan area china standards local standards comfortable stay reception staff location was perfect tibetan dishes other star hotels tibetan quarter
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 243 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2018

Hotel is close to center of town, but definitely not a 4 star hotel by western standard. The room has no heat, low water pressure, and spotty WIFI. The free breakfast is terrible. The staff hardly speak any English and is rude.

Room tip: Ask for heater instead of more blankets in a cold room
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2018 via mobile

Our tour company booked this for us. It wouldn't have been my choice. Definitely not 4 star by weatern standards. More 2 to 3 star.

Most postive thing was the location which was great. Most negative was the breakfast which wasn't bad but was just okay.

We stayed a couple of times and preferred the rooms to the back of the hotel which were sunnier with views of the old town. On returning we were given a room at the side (i think 352) - it was cold and the shower didn't drain and it had a lot of mould on the ceiling. The staff were very good at changing this room for us but it was not possible until the next day. I didn't need to expand on how uncomfortable it was as the reception staff seemed to know its issues. Why give it to someone if it is substandard.
The lobby is cold and drafty but does have a wee shop. Reception staff were okay and there was a 'return in one day' laundry service (but not underwear).
Overall it was okay and did the job but i wouldn't stay here again.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Jackie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2018 via mobile

I stayed here with my tour group for several nights. The hotel was a pleasant surprise as I was expecting basic accommodations in Tibet. However this seemed on par with other 3-4 star hotels I’ve stayed in in many other countries. Great location, steps away from Barkhor Street and Jokhang Temple. Rooftop offers nice view of Potala Palace. The main floor has a clinic for those experiencing altitude sickness. Beds were comfortable and warm. Breakfast had a good selection of Chinese food, but for those looking for western breakfast it’s mostly toast, jam, cheese - but I found this to me true everywhere in China. Room is clean and well maintained.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank j m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018

Nice location.
From there you can visit old Lhasa which is just behind.
Yet rooms are old and worn out. The should be refreshed.
Staff very friendly, like all Tibetains!
The area is quiet, even if it's near a main road.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank FromSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018

The hotel is big, the rooms are nice and there is a doctor on the premises to help those with high altitude sickness. It is close to the the Mandala Restaurant and the Third Eye restaurant (walking distance from hotel) both of which are good for those looking for Indian vegetarian food. There is also the Barkor supermarket within walking distance which is very large. You can find anything you want - from handmade Tibeten stuff like clothes to stone jewelry, to nick knacks that can be used as momentos. The only drawback was the breakfast (included) which was bad. There as hardly anything to eat for those who were vegetarians. The food presentation was not at all appealing and it was difficult to communicate as they barely spoke any english. Be careful of items kept in the room for sale. You could get charged for things you did not use. This happened to many of the friends that travelled with us.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank qoblvd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews