We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$215
US$183
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$122/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$277
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$158
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$168/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$148
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$158/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Kowloon Hotel(Hong Kong)
US$146
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$170/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Cordis, Hong Kong(Hong Kong)
US$292
US$240
Cordis Official
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$179
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Royal View Hotel(Hong Kong)(Great Value!)
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (3 730)
Filter reviews
3 730 results
Traveller rating
1 126
2 008
485
76
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 126
2 008
485
76
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ground floormacau ferry terminalstarbucks downstairsdried seafoodairport expressharbour viewtram stopcentral stationminute walkfree shuttlehollywood roadsmall fridgewalking distanceconvenience storeclean hotelrooms are smalloctopus card
Filter
Updating list...
863 - 868 of 3 730 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2016

We liked this hotel, which is in a non-touristy neighborhood not far from central Hong Kong. The room was in good shape and the housekeeping was excellent - my compliments to the cleaning staff.

Given the high-tech nature of Hong Kong, however, we were surprised to find that the room had no USB ports, necessitating a late-night trip to a local electronics store. The room safe is just barely large enough for an 11-inch laptop wedged in diagonally.

After a long and tiring day of sightseeing, we made the mistake of eating in the hotel restaurant. The food was not just mediocre, but expensive - as a matter of fact, it was our most expensive meal in Hong Kong. There's a great 'diner' with noodles and Dim Sum down the street that's open 7am-11pm - I recommend going there instead. There's also a Starbucks downstairs at the hotel, but it is messy and seems to be out of stock of a lot of items.

Tips for arrival: take the Airport Express to Hong Kong Central and then a cab to this hotel, particularly if you have luggage. The cab will be around HK50, depending on traffic. We tried to save cash by dragging our luggage on the MTR metro and then walking to the hotel, which was difficult to find from the Sheung Wan stop. After you know the location and your luggage is dropped off, you can use mass transit to get everywhere. We loved the old wooden trams that stop right outside the front door.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank KayDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBIS H, General Manager at Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2016

Dear KayDenmark,

I am thrilled to know you liked our hotel and thank you so much for your compliment about our housekeeper. I will pass your kind words to their supervisor which will encourage the team to strive for excellent service.

I am sorry we do not have the USB ports in room and will pass your concern to our engineering department for further consideration.

The 20% off Food and Beverage within the hotel is an exclusive offer for our Le Club members who booked our hotel through our official website. I would encourage you to join the free membership program when next staying with us.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind Regards,
Simone Hansen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2016 via mobile

Having stayed in many hotels, my wife and I were very pleasantly surprised by the value of this hotel. The staff are very professional and well trained, the facilities are all there....simple dining, bar, free brilliant wifi, tea and coffee making in room, modern hotel, large screen TV, fridge, safe, bathroom close to bed, etc. in short, most of the facilities of a five star hotel without the extra charges and expense driven departments. Walking distance to Central, star ferries....best hotel choice we have made in a long time.....also, if you get a harbour view room, download the app to get the accompanying music for the light and laser show as you have the best view in town.....a real bonus! We will definitely return.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank funlover77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBIS H, General Manager at Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2016

Dear learner1000,

I was happy to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and satisfied with all the facilities we provided. Our harbour view room has the best angle to watch the lighting show at ICC which is right opposite to us across the Harbour.

Your support is much appreciated and we cannot wait to welcome you back next time.

Kind Regards,
Simone Hansen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2016 via mobile

You go on a holiday alone its good but the hotel is too ordinary for the price they charge.Not that it's bad but nothing to rate it better either.
A good thing is the location is excellent. It is in close proximity to the ferry terminal & people arriving by ferry may just walk to the hotel. It is also close to the hong Kong MTR for any local transit. Walk down the street below & you will get any thing you require in a jiffy.
Good but nothing exceptional.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
Thank Mahesh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBIS H, General Manager at Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2016

Dear Mahesh T,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and I am happy to lean that you enjoyed so much about our location.

We are in great location and well connected to the major transportation in town which can bring you to the tourist spots. You can see the spectacular view of Victoria Harbour from our harbour view room. Free Wi-Fi is well equipped throughout the hotel.

I do hope that we have the chance to welcome you back to try our harbour view room. Hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Simone Hansen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2016

This is a modern, efficient three star hotel located not very far from the Hong Kong International Airport.
Be prepared to walk a bit if you are to take the airport bus number A11 to Ibis, especially if you miss the bus stop like me. Many local are not aware of this hotel. Luckily if you are to show them the hotel address or mention the road name in local dialect(duck fol touw sai), they can give you some guidance. If you alight at the correct bus stop, which is outside Zhongshan Park, the hotel is just a street away.
Room size is okay while bathroom is a bit cramp. Toiletries limited. They provide shower gel in a hanging tube which is not refilled the subsequent days. The gel doesn’t come off easily and I have to press hard to squeeze out a little at a time. There is no body lotion, shower cap etc provided, so prepare your own toiletries. Water pressure is excellent. The bathroom well equipped with hanging racks which make it convenient to do some laundry work inside. (smile)
Bed is thin and hard which I find it unacceptable.
Reception is efficient and courteous but can only give minimal travel guides. Housekeeping overzealous by being active as early as 8.30am.
Love the carpet of the corridor, footsteps noise fully absorbed. The design of the elevator is frustrating as only two direct lift to reach the ground floor. Most of the time you will have to transit at the 5th level, which is the Lobby area.
Harbour view is fantastic. It is very relaxing and carefree just to laze about admiring the peaceful and gorgeous scenery.
The fact that the hotel being surrounded by many dried sea products stall may be a delight for most Chinese/Asian tourist. Plentiful of shark fins, dried shrimps, dried mushrooms, dried scallops etc to shop about. There are also local stalls that sells vegetables, fruits and even fresh pork nearby. It is a joy to see the locals plus numerous Philippino maids do their daily marketing there. Things are not cheap though, eg 46 Hong Kong dollar for a plate of stirred fried beef keow tiao(noodle) and the bank charge HK $100 for service charge, so make sure you bring enough cash.
To summarize this hotel is up to my expectations and it is good for a one time experience in the Xi Men Pun area of Hong Kong Island.



Stayed: November 2015
Thank leisurelad118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2016

The place is clean which is a plus but not comfortable. Staff were very friendly and helpful though. The hotel has both smoking and non-smoking floors for those sensitive about smoke this is not a place to stay. Our non-smoking studio room smelled of stale cigarettes and this coupled with a distinct damp smell made this stay very unpleasant. Beds are hard and rooms are pretty basic-no frills. Also linens are very worn out our white towels were actually grey and thread-worn. Also, yes no face-cloths. There is free wifi, location is ok but I think central Hong Kong is better if you are there for a short trip. Good link to the airport train with the free shuttle to the station.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LostSojourner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBIS H, General Manager at Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2016

Dear LostSojourner,

Thank you for your appreciation on our friendly staff, cleanliness and the easy access to the Hong Kong Station of Airport Express.

We do have air-purifier for guests who are sensitive to air conditions and you may approach to Duty Manager for assistance. I am sorry to let you down in this occasion.

Our Executive Housekeeper has noted your concern regarding to the towels and while we continue to purchase new linen and towels on a regular basis he will look into this issue.

Thank you again for sharing your feedback, it is with great pleasure that we will welcome you again for your next trip to Hong Kong.

Kind Regards,
Simone Hansen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews