We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lusongyuan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lusongyuan Hotel
Ranked #121 of 6 427 Hotels in Beijing
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2016

I took a solo trip to Beijing in off-season November. I stumbled upon Lusongyuan Hotel during one of my many visits to Tripadvisor as I planned my trip. I could not have been more pleased with my hotel selection. Here are my Pros and Cons: Pros first:
>As many reviewers have stated, the location is outstanding, and is the property's best attribute. Easy access to the metro, buses, shopping and restaurants. Easy to navigate to most of the “tourist” spots. Some are within walking distance (Bell and Drum Tower, Lama Temple). The historic nature of the Hutong makes for a pleasant experience. You do not feel like you are in the middle of huge metropolitan area.
>Excellent front desk staff that adequately communicate in English. They went above and beyond in helping me communicate with my tour company.
>Breakfast was included in my rate and I enjoyed the Chinese offerings each day. Although they offered western breakfast options, I can’t imagine why one wouldn’t partake in the local favorites.
>The room was small, but comfortable and the bathroom was clean. Housekeeping did a nice job each day. I did get to see other rooms, which appeared to be spacious. However, for a single traveler who only used the room to sleep and bathe, it was perfect. Nice touches included a bathrobe, slippers and bottled water. Note: I did see other rooms which were significantly larger than mine, and those would be very comfortable for a couple.
Cons: Not many to mention. The smallish bathroom is what some refer to as a “wet” bathroom. The shower had a curtain, but is not separated from the rest of the bathroom. Thus, the floor tends to get wet.

Tips: I had the most fabulous Peking Duck at Siji Minfu Roasted Duck restaurant (Dongsi 10th Alley location), which is a short bus ride away from the hotel. Also, had great Jian Bing close by the hotel on the east side of Jiaodaokou Street.

Bottom Line: I would certainly return to Lusongyuan Hotel, and am happy to recommend it to my fellow travelers.

Stayed November 2016
Helpful?
3 Thank rlbintegrity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    93
    31
    7
    4
See reviews for
31
45
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2016

It was my second time staying in this hotel, though there's a bit of walking to the nearest subway station (approx. 10mins), but it make up for everything in the room. The LCD television have more hundreds over channels, the bed is cosy, the toilet is clean, every design in the hotel has a historical touch. You can find food easily around the place, and after nanluoguxiang complete its renovation in December, I am sure it will certainly make the hotel even more attractive! :)

Room Tip: Every room is unique, you can have a room on a 2-storey block or a courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2016, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wilsonsihan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2016

Located in the old hutong area of Beijing helps you imagine what it used to be although just down the lane is a very modern night market with food and shops. The room was snug with 4 post bed and light screen curtains and comfortable fold up bed for our teenage daughter. Loved the wooden phone and porcelain kettle - wish I could have brought both home! Breakfast better if you can appreciate the Chinese style of breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2016, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MapleDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norcross, Georgia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2016

My room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. If you are from the west, this is an Asian style bed so it's a stiff board with a thin silk pad, so if you are looking for a full fluffy pillow-top mattress this isn't for you. The courtyard is really nice and we met some other interesting people visiting Beijing. The location is great if you like to walk to places. There were plenty of restaurants and such within a pleasant walk.

  • Stayed June 2016, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjdavisiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2016

I stayed 4 days at the Lusongyuan Hotel. I loved the convenient location. My room was comfortable and clean. The breakfast was good and I enjoyed eating in the lovely courtyard. The nearby shopping area was great--fair prices without haggling. The subway is just around the corner and is very easy to navigate. Note-taxis cannot access the alleyway that the hotel is on. They will drop you at the end and there is a short walk to the hotel. The hotel staff arranged for my taxi pick up to the airport at the same corner.

  • Stayed April 2016, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
#87 of 6 427 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Houhai
Hutongren Courtyard Hotel
Hutongren Courtyard Hotel
#130 of 6 427 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Houhai
Han's Royal Garden Hotel
Han's Royal Garden Hotel
#118 of 6 427 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
The HuLu Hotel
The HuLu Hotel
#67 of 6 427 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Houhai
Jingshan Garden Hotel
Jingshan Garden Hotel
#107 of 6 427 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Peking Yard Hostel
Peking Yard Hostel
#112 of 6 427 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lusongyuan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lusongyuan Hotel

Property: Lusongyuan Hotel
Address: No.22 Banchang Hutong, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100009, China
Region: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price range (per night): R545 - R1 492
Hotel Class:2,5 star — Lusongyuan Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beijing Lu Song Yuan Hotel is a traditional compound of quadrangle composing of 5 courtyards. It lies at the centre of the ancient city, in an old styled "hutong" (Mongolian for water well) in the eastern part of the city. The hotel building is famous for its imperial living taste of the Qing Dynasty with a history of nearly 170 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Lusongyuan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lusongyuan Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing