We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old China” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lusongyuan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lusongyuan Hotel
Ranked #113 of 6 442 Hotels in Beijing
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Old China”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2016

Located in the old hutong area of Beijing helps you imagine what it used to be although just down the lane is a very modern night market with food and shops. The room was snug with 4 post bed and light screen curtains and comfortable fold up bed for our teenage daughter. Loved the wooden phone and porcelain kettle - wish I could have brought both home! Breakfast better if you can appreciate the Chinese style of breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2016, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MapleDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    93
    31
    7
    4
See reviews for
31
47
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norcross, Georgia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2016

My room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. If you are from the west, this is an Asian style bed so it's a stiff board with a thin silk pad, so if you are looking for a full fluffy pillow-top mattress this isn't for you. The courtyard is really nice and we met some other interesting people visiting Beijing. The location is great if you like to walk to places. There were plenty of restaurants and such within a pleasant walk.

  • Stayed June 2016, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjdavisiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2016

I stayed 4 days at the Lusongyuan Hotel. I loved the convenient location. My room was comfortable and clean. The breakfast was good and I enjoyed eating in the lovely courtyard. The nearby shopping area was great--fair prices without haggling. The subway is just around the corner and is very easy to navigate. Note-taxis cannot access the alleyway that the hotel is on. They will drop you at the end and there is a short walk to the hotel. The hotel staff arranged for my taxi pick up to the airport at the same corner.

  • Stayed April 2016, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2016

Stayed in room 501 for two nights. Got here from Trader's Hotel via a huffy taxi driver who basically drove with GPS instructions and we missed a turn. As noted by other reviewers, this is hard to find as its in very narrow residential area, so print a map. about 30 mins from the nearest MTR -nanluoguxiang. Room was fine for 1 person, double bed surrounded by wall on 3 sides. bathroom was bit dismal but clean, its a wet shower with an uneven floor so whole bathroom floor floods. Towels, bathrobe, slippers, toothbrush and toiletries provided, but water pressure is low so loo isn't mentally comfortable. Had cold showers both days, despite the sign saying the water will turn hot after a few minutes. Appreciate the cheap beer, and quaint surroundings and Chinese 'antiques'. Breakfast looked poor value and I found better fare just turning left and walking for 5 mins. Checkin was straightforward, no lifts but the stairs are quite wide. Wifi worked very well and bed was nice and firm for me. Slightly miffed that the room-clean was poor, bed wasn't made, robe wasn't hung up and empty beer bottle wasn't taken away. won't stay again as I do like a hot shower, plus the price was just RMB100 more than Trader's hotel on a room + breakfast deal, so feel this was bit poor value. I can imagine it very cold in the winter, in fact it was 25 degrees outside, and I didn't even feel need to switch on the airconditioning owing to the stone walls being very cool.

  • Stayed May 2016, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adit3005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
335 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2016

Not sure why this isn't higher on the rankings.

The location is great - in a historic hutong, close to the subway, right near a major tourist street, but secluded enough to be quite.

Price was pretty incredible, and they sold cold drinks for cheap and included breakfast.

Breakfast was varied every morning slightly, with both Chinese and Western options. And the food was pretty tasty.

The room was not large but was comfortable.

The only downsides we noticed were that the carpets in the halls looked a little worn (the room was fine). And as someone else noted the pressure in the bathtub was a little low. Shower was fine/good, but tub took a long time to fill up. That's the only bad, and not really that bad when considering the upsides.

Stayed May 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank astaplet82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
#92 of 6 442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Houhai
CU National Youth Hostel
CU National Youth Hostel
#131 of 6 442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Houhai
Han's Royal Garden Hotel
Han's Royal Garden Hotel
#122 of 6 442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Houhai
Jingshan Garden Hotel
Jingshan Garden Hotel
#112 of 6 442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Peking Yard Hostel
Peking Yard Hostel
#111 of 6 442 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
The HuLu Hotel
The HuLu Hotel
#68 of 6 442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lusongyuan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lusongyuan Hotel

Property: Lusongyuan Hotel
Address: No.22 Banchang Hutong, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100009, China
Region: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price range (per night): R519 - R1 454
Hotel Class:2,5 star — Lusongyuan Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beijing Lu Song Yuan Hotel is a traditional compound of quadrangle composing of 5 courtyards. It lies at the centre of the ancient city, in an old styled "hutong" (Mongolian for water well) in the eastern part of the city. The hotel building is famous for its imperial living taste of the Qing Dynasty with a history of nearly 170 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Lusongyuan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lusongyuan Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing