We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (343)
Filter reviews
343 results
Traveller rating
230
85
12
7
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
230
85
12
7
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews secret door private access courtyard suite chinese restaurant private cinema private door special entrance western grill chinese palace no request was too older chinese unique property the general manager hotel grounds spa treatments chinese music traditional style
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 343 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2016 via mobile

What a great spot to have afternoon tea. Not cheap mind you, 268rmb per head, but that includes a lovely pot of properly prepared tea and a large selection of small cake and sandwiches on a tea cake display. You're paying for the experience but getting something nice for your money.

The tea setting round a small pond and terrace is best in a sunny day. Perfect to imagine the feckless indulgence of the imperial days. Take your blank poetry book and allow yourself an extra hour to slowly enjoy several refills of your tea pot and scribe a tea poem.

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank 888hamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard Y, General Manager at Aman Summer Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2016

Dear Ham M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experiences. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed our afternoon tea and the pond-side setting. We share all feedback with our management and staff, and such feedback helps with staff motivation and recognition.

We hope to welcome you at Aman Summer Palace again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Richard Yap
General Manager, Aman Summer Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2016

This high end hotel is actually "IN" the Summer Palace in terms of the location and territory. The entire hotel was designed to be very royal and ancient to reflect the sense of the old empire. But the service as well as the in-house restaurants are very fusion.
I've been here couple times to dinners and events. But I seriously doubt whether it'd be comfortable and relaxed to sleep overnight.

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank richyding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard Y, General Manager at Aman Summer Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2016

Dear richyding,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences at Aman Summer Palace. We share all feedback with our management and staff, and such feedback helps with staff motivation and recognition.

We hope to welcome you at Aman Summer Palace in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Richard Yap
General Manager, Aman Summer Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2016 via mobile

Today we went for an afternoon tea at Aman. You would normally get 9 different pastry/savory/salty things and a cup of coffe/tea/juice, however today we got 13 different sweets and it was super good but really too much. You have the option to sit outside in the sun and it just super nice and beautiful.

In 2014 and 2015 I got a chance to stay at Aman and the hotel is just one of a kind.

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank iristaletta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2016 via mobile

This is a special place. The resort is in the summer palace. The rooms are traditional and the common areas are fantastic. I enjoyed the restaurant. In the morning I went for an early visit of the summer palace from the inner gate. No people around. It was amazing.

Date of stay: February 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Paoloc0211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2016 via mobile

Beautiful old China feel. Service and staff exceptional. The Summer Palace can be very crowded and a bit touristy, and it's a bit of a haul from the city center, but if you are looking for a quiet get-away, it's perfect.

Also staying here gives you early/late access to the summer palace via a private gate. Worth it to beat the crowds.

Date of stay: February 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank LoveTravel597649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews