We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveller rating
73
44
11
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
44
11
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspomegranate treesfamily suitewalking distanceshopping streetforbidden cityhotel is locatedliving areaexcellent locationhotel experiencesubway stationhutongpedestrianenglishtaxichinafurnituredrum
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 135 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

We didn't actually choose this hotel, but due to our hotel being double booked, this is where we ended up. At first I was disappointed but actually the hotel grew on me during our 2 night stay. It is a massive building, somewhat out of place in the narrow hutong. We took a taxi from the airport, which dropped us at the main road at the end of the hutong. It was very close to the metro (line 6 and 8) and walking distance to the bell and drum towers. If there were a Chinese version of the film Grand Hotel Budapest, then this is where it should be filmed. It's a vast place, with fading grandeur. Reception is at the very back, through various courtyards of pomegranate trees and fish ponds. There is carved woodwork, faded red carpets and traditional Chinese furniture in the communal areas. Our room had western furniture and was in need of refurbishment but the double bed was comfy and we had plenty of space for three in our family suite. There was a small second bedroom off the living area. Breakfast is served in the underground restaurant for Y98 (half price for children). It wasn't great but the coffee was good. Would we stay here again? I'm not sure, but we wouldn't rule it out.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank HappyFamily0f3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

I honestly do not know where to start on this hotel. So, in typical trip advisor fashion, I will 'start with the good bits'. the buildings from the outside look excellent, really striking with a great Hutong feel to them. the room which I had, the Mediterranean suite, was well furnished, with a lovely living area and an excellent bathroom (all at first glance). However, this is where the positives come to an abrupt end. The pictures on the website are fantastic and offer a detailed insight into what you could have experienced, like a game show host mocking a contestant for what they could have won. I will start from when we arrived. It had been a long days travelling with delays in our flight from Hong Kong, and my family and I arrived around 10pm. The first thing you will notice is the damp smell and dusty feel to the place. I understand that the hotel is situated right in the Hutongs of Beijing but it also claims to be a luxury boutique hotel, and the dampness to the place is unacceptable. We were escorted to the reception where we were given our room keys and told politely that the kitchen was closed, so no dinner for us. great start. As noted, the rooms were well furnished etc, but the more eager eyed visitors may have noticed a few things. firstly, the wifi only worked between the peak hours of 3 and 4 in the morning which proved very useful for those who couldn't sleep on the wooden blocks disguised skilfully as beds. secondly, the minibar was a wonder of incredible choices, bound to test the tastebuds, as long as the taste buds enjoyed a single can of 'cold' coca-cola and two bottles of water. there was complimentary tea of course, however no milk, which ironically was a blessing since the 'mini-fridge' wasn't cold. naturally, one could walk to reception or the restaurant, or the bar to get some milk in no time, but if you manage to find such a restaurant or bar, I commend you, and if you instead try reception, you will face the everyday Beijing struggle of the language barrier. black tea it was. the bathroom was amazing to look at, yet of course, there were flaws here too. the shower took a brief 45 minutes to heat up, and although there was a tv in the bath, it was behind a glass panel, so even with the volume on its highest setting, there was no way of hearing it properly. not to mention the technological marvel which was the remote control water protection system. (a plastic bag). the next morning we arose bright and early for our day trip to the Great Wall, and nothing could be more welcoming than a hearty breakfast. here lies possibly the most comical part of our stay in the luxury boutique hotel. breakfast was downstairs in the basement, theres no other way of putting it. the selection of foods was laid out by what can only be described as the worlds most unhappy and unfriendly waitress. not one smile, barely a word; she really did want us in and out as fast as possible. this, interestingly enough, worked perfectly, not only because of her warm and welcoming demeanour which could have given a hyperactive puppy clinical depression, but because the array of foods was so abysmal. stale bread, rotten eggs, the food had clearly been reused for roughly 75 years. thus, it must be noted to ignore the picture on the website of a man enjoying his breakfast in the courtyard while being served by a friendly waiter, as this really isn't the case. but, I digress. upon return from the awe inspiring Great Wall, my family (6 people) and I fancied a nice cold drink in the bar, or in the courtyard. however, once again, our old friend the language barrier struck again, and trying to find out where the bar was became impossible. this task was made even more impossible when we found someone to translate for us, and we learned that, in fact, there wasn't a bar. once again, those reading must therefore ignore the picture on the website of a warm and friendly, authentic asian bar. what there is, however, is a courtyard with a table and chairs set from B&Q's 'basic' range, (only 4 chairs in the entire courtyard) and a waiter who completely ignores your order, and instead brings a different drink of his choice. I must say, the whole stay was a complete disaster, and I beg those families who fancy a change from the glitzy hotels such as the shangri-la, not to venture to this awful hotel.

Room Tip: book the shangri-la
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jozza M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017

Han's Royal Garden was my first hotel experience in China and the most beautiful introduction to this fascinating country.

The hotel is gorgeous! An old style complex of courtyards with koi ponds and beautiful buildings. The room we had was on the 2nd floor looking down over one of these gorgeous courtyards. It was beautifully outfitted with a living room area and bedroom with a bed that was very comfy. All the staff we interacted with were very nice and helpful with great english skills as well.

Not only is this hotel beautiful but it is also located in a hutong with a popular pedestrian (pedestrian in the evenings on the weekend at least) shopping street that was super fun to walk along. Loved being in this traditional looking place in a traditional feeling neighbourhood. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ambJax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017

This hotel is simply amazing.
First, it is located in the middle in the famous hutongs (old part of the city) -- which is the most interesting area in Beijing, and the most interesting thing to visit.
Second, this is the only hotel left in Beijing built in the ancient style -- like the Forbidden city architecture.

The room facilities are high end. The staff can "wing it" in English.

This hotel, smack in the hutongs, is more interesting than most of what Beijing has left to offer.

This is the last great hotel in Beijing,

I highlight recommend. And you may wish to pick a "suite", so you have ample room.

Room Tip: Pick a large suite room; they experience is amazing; and still affordable.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ScubaDiver-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

Not having been to Beijing before, this was an excellent location being a short walk to a great shopping, cafe, restaurant area and still without walking distance to the forbidden city.
The beds were very comfortable but the shower was not good and the breakfast was ok but not great.
The service staff were excellent and very helpful as they organized taxis and our trip to the Great Wall without any hassles.

Stayed: April 2017
Thank DaveandLib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews