We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gracious central haven”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Gladys Garden

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Beijing

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tour73128...
1 review
“Gracious central haven”
Reviewed 20 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We thoroughly enjoyed our time in Beijing thanks to David and YangZhi. They advised us on the city's offerings and their beautiful home in houtons was a delightful retreat.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Feb 2018
Thank you Stephanie! You are most kind.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seungjink...
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
“Something you never can buy 5 star hotel”
Reviewed 11 December 2017 for a stay in March 2016

Best experience among entire my trips. I was experiencing very comfort lodge as well as real communication and warm-hearted family environment. Westernized family living style at the heart of Beijing. You can find nice westernized lodges and good services in Beijing's modernized district. However that kind of service and tour experiences are everywhere and just money matter. In Gladys Garden, there are real lifetime stories and lessons you can hear from David and Yangzhi. If you are looking for something special on top of nice comfortable lodge, I highly recommend this place.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Dec 2017
Thank you Seungjin! We missed you this year. When will the winds bring you back to Beijing again?
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaiRuiNa
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
“Don’t miss Gladys Garden!”
Reviewed 29 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

In the midst of a buzzling restaurant and shopping area in central Beijing you’ll find this very quiet oasis in a hutong. Yummy homemade breakfasts, inspiring talks, helpful advice. You like so much to be with your hosts that you might miss out on the evening events! If once in Beijing stay there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Nov 2017
Thank you so much Dai Ruina! You got the same family name as my mother :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mesianger...
Espoo, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The most idyllic and cosy stay outright in the center of Beijing”
Reviewed 15 November 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We have come to stay with Yangzhi and David now for the fifth time, and this should say enough in itself! Their Hutong house is situated a few minutes away from the lake side of Houhai, which is a perfect location for long walks by the water, and 20 minutes by bike from the forbidden city, or - in case you would like that - the commercial centers of the capital. But also the next subway stop is 5 minutes away, so practically all of Beijing is in close reach to you.
David and Yangzhi are the perfect hosts! While providing you with a quiet and cosy room to relax from the hazzle of the city, they offer a familiarity and friendlyness that make you feel at home and forget that you even wanted to go out to explore. In addition they bake excellent bread and banana cake. The rooftop terrace invites to sit and gaze over to the drum and bell towers, sipping tea and listen to the sounds of the other hutong dwellers nearby, like the cats and the neighbors¨ doves.
All in all I would whole heartedly recommend Glady¨s Garden anytime and look much forward to come there for visit number 6! Thanks, Gladys and David, for your hospitality!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Nov 2017
Thanks Stefan! Come in summer and swim with me.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Citizen-R...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A superlative stay in every way”
Reviewed 15 November 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Staying at Gladys Garden enriched my Beijing stay no end - and remains one of my top experiences in the city. It's located in the ancient (and quiet... which is a REAL plus point in Beijing!) hutong area, but is less than 5 minutes from the fun, beauty, and transport links of Houhai. David and Yang Zhi are a delight to live alongside, and they provide everything you need when in a strange place - friendship, warmth, advice, and... fresh, home-made banana bread. Another big plus is the amazing view from the roof terrace, which is a great place to sip tea and leaf through a novel. The rooms are comfortable and quiet (it's worth reiterating the 'quiet' part), with a number of traditional Chinese touches. If/when I return to Beijing, I will be sure to book another stay here.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2017
Thank you Rob, our cookies are waiting for you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing