We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A superlative stay in every way”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Gladys Garden

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Beijing

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Citizen-R...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A superlative stay in every way”
Reviewed 15 November 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Staying at Gladys Garden enriched my Beijing stay no end - and remains one of my top experiences in the city. It's located in the ancient (and quiet... which is a REAL plus point in Beijing!) hutong area, but is less than 5 minutes from the fun, beauty, and transport links of Houhai. David and Yang Zhi are a delight to live alongside, and they provide everything you need when in a strange place - friendship, warmth, advice, and... fresh, home-made banana bread. Another big plus is the amazing view from the roof terrace, which is a great place to sip tea and leaf through a novel. The rooms are comfortable and quiet (it's worth reiterating the 'quiet' part), with a number of traditional Chinese touches. If/when I return to Beijing, I will be sure to book another stay here.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2017
Thank you Rob, our cookies are waiting for you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamesinal...
Little Rock, Arkansas
2 reviews
“Our new home away from home”
Reviewed 13 November 2017 for a stay in January 2016

Our hosts were amazing! They helped book tours, gave us maps to the best restaurants, and made suggestions for interesting "off the beaten path" places to visit. Their home is clean and nice, the location is right on bus and metro routes, and they have great stories to tell about life in China over the last 50 years. Both hosts speak English and Mandarin, and are always ready to help! The home is in the middle of a renewed hutong area, adjacent to a beautiful lake with tons of restaurants, coffee shops and crafts. It is the perfect location for anyone wanting to explore Beijing. It is definitely our new home away from home in Beijing!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Nov 2017
Thank you James! Looking forward to your next trip to Beijing.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Max W
1 review
“Between the front and back lakes and by the Drum and Bell towers in Beijing”
Reviewed 13 November 2017 for a stay in May 2016

David and YangZhi are nice people, kind and very generous. I had a pleasant and relaxing time and meet some interesting people also staying there. Their B&B's location is central and convenient, I can recommend you stay at Gladys Garden when in Beijing, you won't be disappointed.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2017
Thank you Max! and thank you for sending us Jody!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M
1 review
“A most excellent residence with superb hosts in a classic Beijing hutong house.”
Reviewed 13 November 2017 for a stay in October 2015

Gladys Garden is by far my favourite place to stay in Beijing. The hosts Yang Zhi and David are exceptionally hospitable and their house is spacious. It is very close to metro and bus transport, scenic sights and restaurants. The district is full of history and character and the alleys nearby are fascinating to explore for a sample of new and old Beijing. I have enjoyed their hospitality three times and heartily recommend them for the discerning visitor.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2017
Thank you so much Andrew! Hope to see you again some time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jodyyawa
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“Right in the heart of it, and a quiet hideaway.”
Reviewed 13 November 2017 for a stay in September 2017

I had a fantastic time staying with Zhi and David. To start with they are located in an amazing part of Beijing, just wondering the surrounding streets and lake was brilliant. And if you want to go further the subway and bike hires are close by.
Staying with them in their home added to my experience. Zhi had all the information and local knowledge I needed and I enjoyed getting to know them in the short time I stayed.
Also, they have a wonderfully friendly cat!
I hope to come visit again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2017
Thank you Jody! That's very kind of you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing