We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Rooms”
Review of Creekside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Creekside Hotel
Ranked #14 of 60 Hotels in Mombasa
Reviewed 13 November 2017

I stayed in this hotel for 4 days, I had a creek facing room which was one of the best hotel rooms I have ever stayed in, spacious room and bathroom, large balcony and good Air Con,the mini bar was quite cheap by hotel standards the only problem is they do not trust you to have a bottle opener in your room, and it tells you in their information folder you must call reception for someone to come and open the bottle for you.
Being thirsty after a shower and the cheap price I thought I would have a cold drink, and yes had to call reception for someone to come,after waiting African time I took the bottle down to reception where the receptionist was none to happy, why they do this is beyond me.
The food is just ok, all the staff apart from a couple were extremely friendly and helpful,the WiFi is pretty non existent in the room but not to bad in reception area.
Overall its an extremely nice hotel with good facilities and nice pool area, great price,I would have given 5 stars if it wasn't for the WiFi and the crazy bottle opener rule

Room Tip: Rooms on the Creek facing side offer a more pleasant view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2017

We only spent one night here in transit. The room was well set up including coffee/tea supplies. Bathroom was large with good hot water. Fantastic balcony overlooking the ocean across to Mombasa Island. What a view to wake up to in the morning! Pool looked great with lots of loungers though we didn't have time to use. Buffet breakfast was average. Lovely Arabic style decor throughout.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank banditoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanambisi, General Manager at Creekside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Dear Banditoo,

Thank you for your objective review and how I wish you had stayed longer to experience the entire range of our facilities including the gym, swimming pool and beautiful grounds sea views by the pool bar.
Our hotel rooms are indeed the best on this coast and we appreciate that you noticed and your positive feedback is valid. Thank you.

Our commitment is to exceed guest expectations and anything short of this remains urgent work to do. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

I enjoyed my brief stay at Creekside Hotel, amazing sea views from the rooms, spacious and well furnished rooms & amazing personnel. I liked the buffet breakfast too. Good eye appeal and tasty foods. Variety was good too Location is also perfect for business travel as it just right in town.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank beengugi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanambisi, General Manager at Creekside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Dear Beengugi,

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and your candid review is much appreciated.

As Creekside Hotel family we wish you well and we look forward to your next visit. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

The rooms are spacious (at least the one I got), if you are lucky enough to get the sea view room that also faces the pool side, the experience is breathtaking.

However, the access road is really bad, pool side service is pathetic, slow and waay too casual.

Overall, its a nice place for a weekend of chilling and relaxing with friends

Room Tip: First floor facing the pool side / sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Harrison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

Hotel design is very simple and authentic east african/colonial style (though it is not real historical i guess) with in-premises ground parking spaces, nicely designed garden between old and new buildings. Staff in reception are all extremely friendly and helpfull. Staff in restaurant are mixed between careless, robotic, non customer interested and few are just as friendly as minimum. Food in breakfast is medium taste at most. I had to change room middle of the night because A/C just stopped working in the first room after being "hot" then again the A/C in the new room felt half-filled of gas (half operational) which is dreadful in Mombasa heat those days. However, I had to give up trying to change room because although the only night shift staff at reception and the maintenance technician were both friendly but they don't seem to really understand what a proper air conditioner is. Bathrooms are spacious but very dull and some of them dark, they have sort of eighties style but clean and functional. Hotel is direct on the creek but what they don't tell you in descriptions is that it doesn't have sandy beach (only a narrow platform) nor you can swim there. Access road to hotel is almost destroyed by rains therefore difficult with each going out and in by car or taxi. There seem no plans to repair it by roads authority there. Overall the hotel could be easily brought to 4 star status by enhancing A/C, services and some staff training because as a building and location it is very good. I would say reason i reserve it the value for the money and being the only decent, international brand close to old town Mombasa island.

Room Tip: Try to request room in new tower although i am not sure if it is any better than old tower rooms whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank availablll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mombasa hotels
4,1 km away
PrideInn Express Nyali
PrideInn Express Nyali
#13 of 60 in Mombasa
240 reviews
3,6 km away
Nyali Sun Africa Beach Hotel & Spa
2 km away
Hotel EnglishPoint & Spa
Hotel EnglishPoint & Spa
#19 of 60 in Mombasa
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8,9 km away
Ziwa Beach Resort
Ziwa Beach Resort
#9 of 14 in Bamburi
132 reviews
9,2 km away
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in Bamburi
379 reviews
5,4 km away
Reef Hotel
Reef Hotel
#24 of 60 in Mombasa
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creekside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creekside Hotel

Address: | Tudor Creek, next to Nyali Bridge, Mombasa, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 60 Hotels in Mombasa
Price Range: R708 - R1 342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Creekside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have the following rom types: Deluxe Creek View Rooms, Deluxe Garden View Rooms & Superior Suites. Deluxe rooms are furnished with Double bed & Twin beds. The Superior Suites have Kingsize beds with garden views. WELCOME to Creekside Hotel in Mombasa – a designate 4 star hotel with fresh hospitality. Whether you’re travelling on business or leisure, Creekside Hotel is a great choice. It is located along the Nyali Bridge with a beautiful sea view, only 1.5 km from the city center and close to the airport. Creekside Hotel Room types: 58 - Deluxe Creek view rooms 36 - Deluxe Garden view rooms 6 - Superior Suites Total 100 rooms The hotel has the following features: • Newly built rooms with ultra-modern design and amenities to suit all needs, spacious balconies, Creek and Garden view rooms. • Free high speed WIFI • 43” flat screen TV with a wide range of channels • GYM • Swimming pool • Creekside view bar • 24 hour backup generator • Ample free car parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Creekside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing