We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Mombasa, Coast Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Lulu M
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed 7 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Slept for one day the place is well located well furnished apartment but still room for improvement slot can be done to make this place more lovely

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Dec 2016
Dear Lulu

Thank you for you review. Please feel free to message us at admin@theplanetapartments.com to let us know how we can improve to make your next stay more enjoyable.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Planet Apartments in the future.

Regards

Management
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lothar S
Achern, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“not recomended”
Reviewed 30 May 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

The location is very good in a safe area and just next door to the largest shopping mall of Mombasa. The security guards are very friendly and always helpful.The apartments are very worn down. There is no generator for backup and electricity black outs are often. The air condioning is poor and when there is a blackout one completely feels like in a sauna - I experienced this during my stay quite often: In daytime it was almost impossible to stay in the appartment and at night it was hardly possible to sleep.Also there is no sound isolation. You hear every noise from neighbouring apartments.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: all the rest as discribed
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Dec 2016
Dear Lothar

Thank you for your review and we are surprised to hear of your disappointing stay as you had not mentioned any issues while you stayed with us for over 6 weeks. We have taken your comments on board and are pleased to advise that we have taken steps to make stays for future guests more comfortable.

The apartments have been recently refurbished with bathrooms and kitchens re-tiled and repainted, so we are not sure what you mean when you say they are very worn down. The apartment building is one of the first in the popular New Nyali area but we have endeavoured to maintain a good standard of fixtures and fittings.

During your stay, there were frequent blackouts and this problem was resolved by the power company a few months ago and we are happy for uninterrupted power currently. We have also changed the air conditioning units in all apartments this year and installed more powerful units to cool the large apartments adequately.

With regards to sound, the apartments are all separated by thick walls and we do have sound insulation on the balcony side windows. There was previously more noise due to many new bars in the vicinity, but this issue has been tackled by the council authorities and there are no longer establishments playing loud music in the area for the past few months.

Thank you again for your comments and we appreciate the feedback.

Regards

Management
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albert M
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed 28 May 2016 for a stay in March 2016

A very unique apartment with lots of room in a good location. will return to this nice again. I have been there about 6 times.

Travelling group: Solo
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Dec 2016
Dear Albert

Thank you for your kind review. We will always have your apartment available for you and we continually look forward to your annual visit.

Till next time.

Regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arshad K
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Convenient and economic apartment”
Reviewed 27 May 2016 for a stay in January 2016

It is extremely spacious and convenient and secure location but needs some renovation. Also the kitchen items supplied were rather bare.

Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JEWELMAN2...
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
“Memorable Stay”
Reviewed 24 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Positives
- pleasant staff
- the room was neat and clean
- location is terrific in terms of accessibility and centrality to other amenities for fun
- security is good as well as the internet connectivity
For improvement
- tap water was too hard and did not lather easily with soap

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Strategic location and traditional structures and ambiance of the room
Liked least: The salty water in the taps
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$50
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing