We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We couldn't stop thinking "If only we could buy...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Neem Tree, Vipingo

A piece of Indian Ocean Paradise.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A piece of Indian Ocean Paradise.
Aerial View Usual crowded beach scene
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
A piece of Indian Ocean Paradise.
Aerial View
Usual crowded beach scene
Pool and Pool house
Snorkeling 20 mt off the beach in the Kuruwitu Marine Conservancy.
Sundowner deck off steps down to the beach
House and part of mature garden
Front of house
Sitting Room
Dining area in house
Master bedroom
Double Bedroom
Double bedroom view 2
Family bedroom
Ensuite bathroom family bedroom.  All are similar style and size.
Kitchen (this is quite small compared to rest of house)
Large rooftop chill out area
Our super staff - L - R, Reuben: cook, Pili: housekeeper, Emmanuel: groundsman
Typical guest book comments
House from pool
Pool 12 x 6 mt
Poolhouse
Pool from poolhouse
Sunbathing deck with water feature
Poolhouse at night
Sundowner deck from beach (sand comes and goes seasonally)
Steps to the beach are quite narrow and steep.  Beach access at low - mid tide.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Mombasa, Coast Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lotte_v_D
Utrecht, Utrecht, Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We couldn't stop thinking "If only we could buy this place...!"”
Reviewed 26 February 2017 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

It was just awesome. From the beginning, all went smooth. Lyndsey went the extra mile(s!) to make sure we had all information that we could possibly need during our stay. The people she has working for her are lovely. The house is amazing, it is spacious and every room has it's own bathroom, perfect for a getaway with friends. We spent almost all our time at the pool or on the very safe and deserted beach. Monkeys came to visit us sometimes in the morning, and we had fishermen bring us fresh lobster, prawns, squid, red snapper...... We really asked ourselves why it is again that we live in Uganda and not here..!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robdem67
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful house, pool and ocean view”
Reviewed 25 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

The house was just perfect for us. The pool area was amazing and the ocean view was spectacular. I think the best thing about our stay was staff. Reuben, Pili and Emmanuel made sure we were taken care of every day and they were always happy to answer any questions we had. The owner, Lyndsey, even called one day to be sure everything was going well. The whole family went and to my surprise mom and dad relaxed by the pool and even took some afternoon naps. An amazing stay in a quiet place overlooking the ocean. Thank you so much!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Feb 2017
I am so pleased that you had a good stay. You were a pleasure to host. Hope to welcome you back one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albertusb...
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
“Lovely family holiday home”
Reviewed 27 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

The house was exactly as advertised with a wonderful infinity pool and friendly staff. We spent our days being lazy around the pool and snorkeling in front of the house. Reuben, the cook, sourced fresh seafood from local fishermen and prepared wonderful meals for us. The detailed instruction provided before our arrival was also very helpful.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin M
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Kenyan Coast at it's Best”
Reviewed 24 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Lyndsey and Rob were a great help even before we set off introducing us to car hire companies, advising on best modes of travel and getting us into the New Years Eve party at the nearby Beach Club and helping stock the larder. The SafariLink flight into Vipingo Ridge is a game changer.

Once there we had one of the best holidays we've had for years where we immediately fell into a gentle pattern of Kenyan coastal life. Up early for a cup of tea before snorkelling in the marine conservation park after which we returned for partly Kenyan (fresh fruit) and partly English breakfast (bacon and eggs).

Lazy days were spent reading by the pool, wandering on the reef at low tide or a brief wander up the beach up to the fabulous Beach Bar for drinks or the occasional lunch. Every night we sat overlooking the ocean drinking cocktails and eating fresh fish or shellfish which had been caught earlier that day by the local fishermen. We spent the evenings chatting and playing cards.

The house itself is in the old colonial style which we love. Very relaxed and not at all prissy. This is a house that is lived in and loved. The monitor lizard visited the pool every day and the kingfisher took a daily bath in the infinity pool.

Reuben, Pilli and Emmanuel were wonderful and looked after us beautifully. On the first night of our arrival there was a problem with the cistern but it was fixed the next day.

If you want a five star hotel full of beautiful people and a power shower then this is not the place for you. If you want to be in an authentic coastal experience in a place of great natural beauty then look no further. We all had the most wonderful holiday and we shall definitely be back.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voyage502...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fifth time but the last given attitude after mishap”
Reviewed 14 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have stayed at the Neem tree a number of times but, alas, suffered when an anti algae agent was added to the pool staining us all yellow. Apologies were offered; it is easy to say sorry rather more difficult it appears to follow up and put meaning in these words. Our 7 year old was worried as her swimming costume turned yellow and she saw her dad dyed yellow. Protestations of this will clear were not backed by actuality.

Given we have been to Neem Tree 5 times, and seen the lack of investment as this beautiful property run on a daily basis by a great cook and host, then the nature of response from the owner was appalling. It seems no investment has been made in the property to support the team on the ground, plastic sheeting across the roof, stairs to upper deck rickety and even the dart board having seen better days. Rust on the metal work (well beyond expected amounts from sea water and air) and we even suffered with mould on the seats where little or no cleaning of significance had been undertaken. My Mother-in-Law, who first stayed at Neem Tree some 6 or 7 years ago was aghast at how the property had become run down.

A sad situation and one making us decide not to return given the owners seem to value short term monetary gain over the long term well being of their own team, the property and the well being of paying guests

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jan 2017
I am so sorry to see this very damaging review from a regular visitor. When our pool attendant put in anti algae one evening, we were shocked when the guest called to say that their costumes and one gentleman's hair and skin had turned slightly yellow. We immediately called the supplier of our pool chemicals who reassured us that there would be no long term harmful effects but could not say why the problem had occurred. I followed up with the company several times and always copied in the guest. I am not sure what he means when he says 'its easy to say sorry rather more difficult to follow up and put meaning in these words'. The pool did quickly clear (as did the guests skin and hair) and overall the guests had 1 day where the wife and child did not swim in the pool. I obviously apologised profusely and offered them an extra day free which they declined. What began as a mild and good natured grumble became more serious as time went on and the more I followed up with the chemical supplier. The guest complained that the container says you should avoid eye contact with the algaecide and later claimed that he had to buy medicine for his daughters eyes (he didn't tell me this until several weeks later) and at the same time mentioned that they later became ill, but would not elaborate on this at all. The container does state that the chemical is dangerous if ingested or in contact with skin or eyes in a concentrated state. The fact is we put in an algaecide for pools that mixed with 90,000 litres of water and we still don't know why the discolouration problem occurred. Obviously we will never use this chemical again when guests are staying.
Re. the other matters this guest complains about - we employ a maintenance person 3 - 4 times a week and use expensive rust convertor regularly on all the grill work in an effort to keep the degenerating effects of being so close to the sea under control. I have now re-covered all of the pool chairs which indeed were not looking good due to people sitting on them in wet costumes, but they were regularly cleaned and soaked in bleach.
The roof area is one of many chill out areas in a big house - it is an open area with a couple of sofa's. Monkeys play here, mess up cushions and chew up darts. Children play on the dart board and whilst it is another fun component to the house, we do not advertise it as a smart gaming area. The flat roof has proved difficult with regards to leaks inside the house which we are constantly re-painting and thus we have covered it with white PVC until such time as we can afford to properly re-roof this very large area. This roof is hidden by a wall and you can only see it as you climb the steps, it's not something that is spoiling a view. We love this house dearly and put all we can afford into keeping it in good shape. We do all we can to look after our guests and staff.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing