We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Safe, peaceful and perfect”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Neem Tree, No 38

A little piece of Indian Ocean paradise
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A little piece of Indian Ocean paradise
Aerial view of house Usual crowded beach scene Kuruwitu!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
A little piece of Indian Ocean paradise
Aerial view of house
Usual crowded beach scene Kuruwitu!
Pool and poolhouse
Sundowner deck
Snorkeling just off the beach in the marine reserve
Front of the house
Sitting Room
Dining area in house
Master bedroom
Double bedroom
Middle bedroom view 2
Family bedroom view 1
Family bedroom view 2
Family bedroom ensuite bathroom.  All bathrooms are similar.
Kitchen
Rooftop - another chill out spot
Resident staff - L - R - Cook: Reuben, Housekeeper: Pili and groundsman: Emmanuel
Pool with house in background
Poolhouse
Pool and poolhouse
Dining area poolhouse
Sunbathing deck
Pool and poolhouse at night
Sundowner deck from beach
Typical comments from guest book
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Mombasa, Coast Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Boomjet
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Safe, peaceful and perfect”
Reviewed 24 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is not my first time at Neem Tree, I stayed for two weeks over the Christmas period and couldn't wait to get back there for a 3 day break. The house is built on the top of a cliff with its own private stairs and a locked gate leading to the beach, it couldn't be safer. Even though I was there on my own I felt completely relaxed. The staff are helpful and friendly. Fresh fish is delivered to your door on request, I ate lobster and prawns expertly cooked by Reuben. You can snorkel in the marine park which is also at your front door, walk on the white stretch of beach with absolutely nobody hassling you, there are no sellers or people trying to persuade you to go on boat trips. Or you can just float in the pool on a bean bag and read your book. Bliss!

Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014 for a stay in July 2012

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ledyard, Connecticut
Reviewed 10 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool & the pool house
Liked least: Jacuzzi not working
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
27 Jan 2014
Am delighted you had such a good time. However, there seems to be some misunderstanding with regards to a 'jacuzzi'. We have never advertised that we have a jacuzzi - we have never installed one. Quite some time ago the plunge 'overflow' pool was advertised as heated and perhaps if you had read about the house several months before your booking, that is where the misunderstanding arose. We put in solar panels with the intention of heating this small pool, but it has not really worked unfortunately. Anyway, I do apologise for the disappointment and will make sure that it is clear that there is no jacuzzi to all future guests. We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hilde V
Dendermonde, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Location, Fabulous staff”
Reviewed 25 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

We have just returned from a fantastic stay in Neem Tree House.
The pool and pool house are superb and the views are fantastic. We even could see some whales. It was a pity that the jaccuzzi was defect.
Reuben, Pili and Emmanuel are dedicated staff and cannot do enough to please.
Reuben is an excellent cook, he made a special cake for our our wedding anniversary. Emmanuel brought us to his village to meet his family.
We went 2 times snorkling in the conservancy under the guidance of John.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The view and the staff
Liked least: Distance to shops
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveling...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous relaxing long weekend”
Reviewed 8 May 2012 for a stay in April 2012

This place is fantastic. It's easily reached from Mombasa airport, the house is spacious and nicely decorated, the pool and poolside lounge area are really well designed, the staff in the house are great.

If you're looking for a relaxed getaway on the Mombasa coast, I'd definitely recommend staying here for several wonderful days lounging by the pool.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Poolside area
Liked least: Distance to shops
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing