We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
First African Dream Tours & Safaris
Save
Review Highlights
A Truly amazing Safari-Best Decision I Made

The owner, Mike, helped us plan the perfect safari for our limited time. He was very timely and... read more

Reviewed 3 July 2015
kimberly k
,
Alaska
Excellent Tour Operator

We have booked a safari by internet with First African Dream Tours & Safaris. Our high expectations... read more

Reviewed 1 March 2015
Joachim N
,
Muelheim an der Ruhr, Germany
Read all 64 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Mombasa
from US$45,11
More Info
from US$50,00
More Info
from US$4 750,00
More Info
from US$79,00
More Info
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveller rating
52
7
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
7
3
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 64 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Very good team open and honest and succeeded in giving us a very good experience and very reasonable rates

Date of experience: October 2011
2  Thank SuzyQ2Bath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

I used FAD a few months back for my safari to Tsavo and Amboseli parks. I stayed at Ashnil Aruba in Tsavo East, Ngulia in Tsavo West and Kibo camp in Amboseli on a 3 night and 4 day trip.
I met Mike in resort and checked the brochures to detail my tour. We agreed on a price and that was it, very straight forward and easy. My accomodation was spot on and the drives were excellent with plenty of wildlife seen. I would use or recommend FAD for anyone looking for a safari whilst in Kenya.

Date of experience: March 2012
Thank mallamombasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We arrived for our 2 week stay at the all inclusive Voyager Hotel, Mumbasa.
Very good Hotel, entertaiment & food first class.
We had not pre-booked our safari but we were interested in visiting the Masai Mara, Mike contacted us from the beach as they are not permitted on the hotel grounds.
We were very hesitant wether to do business with him but he assured us that everything would be in order and not to worry, but he would required cash which we would have to be withdraw from the local Barclays bank, their computers were down so all moneys had to be taken from the cash machines debit / credit.
I have to be honest we did have some reservations about paying anything.
Mike organised the flights from Mombasa airport to a designated airstrip, and also the Fig Tree Lodge for two nights.
On our first trip out we did not many animals.
Day two we had a masa mari guide " what a difference ( reccomended ) we seen plenty of wild life all except the Rhino which are very rare.
We had breakfast in the bush which is amazing !.
All in all we had a superb time.
The Fig Tree Lodge, is highly reccomended. on our return flight back,Mike was waiting to take us back to the hotel.
It has to be said these guys cut out the middle men so can do it much cheaper !
I have read all the reviews reference Mike's past efforts, but I think he has learnt by his mistakes. Mike made every effort to ensure we were look after, ( A great guy )

Date of experience: March 2012
1  Thank Allan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

As others have already said in their reviews, Mike Musyoka was very efficient with e-mail replies offering his various safaris. We were unable to organise a deposit by bank transfer in time before leaving Scotland for Kenya but this was not a problem. Mike came to our hotel and discussed our requirements and we paid the whole cost of the safari then. We took a 4 day safari to Tsavo East, Amboseli and Tsavo West and it was no problem changing from the original booking for Tsavo East and West only. We paid a reasonable price for a very experienced driver called Salim to take us on our once in a lifetime safari where we had the van totally to ourselves. We saw, and took photos of, over 2,000 animals and birds of over 200 different species. Salim was very patient as my partner is a keen photographer and took over 2,000 photos! He pointed out lots of animals we hadn't even noticed and was able to name them for us. We are both really glad that we chose First African Dream Safaris and if we were ever fortunate enough to be able to take a safari again in the future we would contact Mike to see if we could visit the Masai Mara next time. Incidently. Salim arranged a visit to a local Masai village for us as he knew the chief's son. That was a real eyeopener! As a final note, the chosen accommodation at each park was excellent too and all very different and the 'tented' accommodation had the best shower and a spectacular view of Kilimanjiro at 6 am!

Date of experience: July 2011
8  Thank Yvonne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Unfortunately we had the same horrible problem as some other customers wrote here in tripadvisor too concerning the payment!

Mike, the agend was very communicative and smart at the beginning (inquiry process) during e-mail correspondence and booking process. After we arrived in Kenia he suddenly increased the price of the safari and demanded more money (+200 Euro for 2 person). We negotiated nearly one hour and paid finally +100 Euro more. Then we started our safari and wanted to relax the trip.
After the first day in a lodge in Tsavo when we wanted to start in the morning, the manager told us that Mike didn´t pay the accomendation. It was a nightmare. We had to pay cash to leave the lodge. After the 3 day safari trip, when we were back in Mombasa, we tried to get back our money from Mike. It was a complicated process. He worte that he wanted to give uis back the money and promised to come to our Diani Hotel to bring the money. But he never came and took more then one week. Each day we had many e-mail correspondence with him. Finally, thank you for the help of tourist police in Kenia, we got back our money.

Date of experience: January 2012
6  Thank 825Dmenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews