We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wilderness Camp
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Mara West Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Mara Siria Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Porini Mara Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
    Mara Leisure Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
    View Hotel
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels(Masai Mara National Reserve)
    View Hotel
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    Sarova Mara Game Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
    View Hotel
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    AA Lodge Masai Mara(Masai Mara National Reserve)
    View Hotel
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    Fairmont Mara Safari Club(Masai Mara National Reserve)
    View Hotel
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    Reviews (37)
    Filter reviews
    37 results
    Traveller rating
    35
    1
    1
    0
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    35
    1
    1
    0
    0
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewseagle viewtranstrek safarisflushing loohot showerperfect staymaasai guideswhole teamcomfortable bedsmanfredsingingsleepecobushnaturehyenastentslife
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    5 - 10 of 37 reviews
    Reviewed 18 August 2017

    We stayed at the Wilderness Camp organised by Transtrek Safaris and would thoroughly recommend staying there and doing your safari with Transtrek. I would call this 'Glamping" as opposed to camping. The beds were extremely comfortable, powerpoint for charging, ensuite bathroom with flushing loo. To top it off you have the wilderness right on your door step. With only 5 tents you are well looked after by Maasi Mari staff. Transtrek ensured we had a bespoke experience that was unforgettable, both our Maasi Guide (Moses) and Tony were incredible knowledgeable and wanted to ensure we saw all that we could see, so a big thank you to them and Daniel for organising our personalised tour.

    • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    1  Thank BCo118
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Basecamp K, Manager at Wilderness Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

    Dear Guest,

    Thank you for your positive comments and the time you took to share your review with us. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at Wilderness Camp. This camp is our nostalgic tribute to the safari of the early explorers, with ultimate privacy and clear views into the vast savannah, no light pollution, and close to nature. Our focus is to provide an authentic safari experience, with all modern comfort, whilst maintaining a strong focus on sustainable tourism. We will definitely recognize our staff for their great effort in making your safari in Kenya more memorable. We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

    Basecamp Team.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 16 May 2017

    Stayed at all three of the Basecamp Explorer camps in the Masai Mara on a great safari tour organised by Transtrek Safaris and out of all three I think this was my favourite.

    The camp is small with a mess tent and only five guest tents. The tents are nice with proper beds and even a flushing toilet and an ensuite bucket shower! Each tent has a couple of safari chairs and a table and you can literally sit in front of your tent with a cup of tea and a biscuit and watch the wildlife go past! - Fantastic!

    The camp is situated among trees at the bottom of a small ridge, it's eco-friendly - it is run on solar and you can re-charge camera batteries etc and all the waste is re-cycled. The mess tent is nice with comfortable lounge chairs and the food was good. All the staff were friendly and we were very well looked after.

    There really is nothing else to do here apart from enjoy the scenery and the wildlife and that is exactly what we did - we went out on game drives and a very early morning bush walk, which was the highlight as we were lucky enough to come across some lions chasing down a baby wildebeest! That was exciting and certainly got the adrenalin pumping as the lions were only 150 meters away!

    • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank VitruvianDan
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Basecamp K, Manager at Wilderness Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

    Dear Dan,

    Our entire team would like to thank you sincerely for finding time to write such positive remarks about Wilderness Camp. It gives us immense pleasure to know that our services met all your expectations. We are also glad to know that you loved our quiet location which is just how we like it too. This camp is our nostalgic tribute to the safari of the early explorers, with ultimate privacy and clear views into the vast Savannah, no light pollution, and close to nature. Our focus is to provide an authentic safari experience, with all modern comfort, whilst maintaining a strong focus on sustainable tourism. We will definitely recognize our staff for their great effort in making your safari in Kenya more memorable. Thank you again for giving us an opportunity to serve you and we look forward to welcoming you back for another picture perfect stay.

    Basecamp Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

    Really breathtaking, it is an experience to live in Kenya. The team was incredibly nice and helpful. I couldn't believe my eyes. The view on the fone and the flora was stunning and the tranquility of the place was amazing.

    A big thank you to our two guides (Mark & ​​Amos Soit) for their kindness and availability, always there to bring us to the best spot.





    Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    Thank Frederic V
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Basecamp K, Manager at Wilderness Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

    Dear Frederic,

    Thank you for your positive comments and the time you took to share your review with us. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at Wilderness Camp. This camp is our nostalgic tribute to the safari of the early explorers, with ultimate privacy and clear views into the vast Savannah, no light pollution, and close to nature. Our focus is to provide an authentic safari experience, with all modern comfort, whilst maintaining a strong focus on sustainable tourism. We will definitely recognize our staff for their great effort in making your safari in Kenya more memorable. We look forward to welcoming you again.

    Basecamp Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 2 January 2017

    This was my third visit to Naboisho and the experience was as amazing as the first time. I had a group of more than 20 friends with me, most had never been to Kenya before and it was fantastic to see it all through their eyes. As usual Shadrack, Steve, Manfred, Edward and the whole team took fantastic care of us and kept surprising us with bush breakfasts, bush dinners and even a traditional Maasai wedding!
    Trip of a lifetime, I can't wait to come back.
    Thank you for everything and see you soon.

    Room Tip: All the rooms are amazing, there's a limited number of tents so it never feels crowded.
    • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Audrey M
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    BasecampKenya, Manager at Wilderness Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2017

    Dear Guest,

    We thank you for staying with us at Wilderness Camp, and your feedback. We appreciate your compliments on our camp and comfort. Indeed, these valuable elements form a core part of our concept to provide an authentic safari experience, with all modern comfort. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at Wilderness Camp. It’s our nostalgic tribute to the safari of the early explorers, with ultimate privacy and clear views into the vast Savannah, zero light pollution, and close to nature. We will certainly recognize our staff for their great effort to make your safari more memorable. We hope that your future stay will be as satisfying as this one. Thank you and welcome back.

    Basecamp Team.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 7 December 2016

    This was my wife's and my first visit to Africa and it could not have been better. We particularly enjoyed the Wilderness Camp which is small (five tent cabins) with a great staff of Maasai. It was intimate, the food was delicious, and the campfire with Dorobo, a Maasai warrior, was entertaining. We were very fortunate to have Sampson as our guide while in the Mara Naboisho Conservancy and later in the Maasai Mara National Reserve. He knew the territory and made our daily game drives eventful. We saw lions and leopards from our perfect old style Land Cruiser (no windows). We also enjoyed our morning walking safari and evening game drive adventure seeing the giraffes "necking." by the river and hippos out of the river on their feeding walk. We also saw a hyena steal a gazelle from the jackals. The vultures waited nearby. We recommend the Wilderness Basecamp; the Basecamp Explorer organization does a wonderful job in Kenya. You will appreciate it.

    Room Tip: All the rooms look out at the Mara and giraffes grazing.
    • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Roger W
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    BasecampKenya, Manager at Wilderness Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2016

    Dear Guest,

    Thank you very much for taking your time to share your happy experience at Wilderness Camp. We are delighted to know that you and your wife had a wonderful time and that our team was able to cater to your needs during our stay. We are also glad to know that you enjoyed some of the activities that only Naboisho Conservancy guests are allowed to participate in since they are not permitted elsewhere. The team especially will surely be pleased with your warm commendations! Thank you again for giving us an opportunity to serve you and we look forward to welcoming you for another picture-perfect stay.

    Basecamp Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews